We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not favourite location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Pedregal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Pedregal
Ranked #128 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not favourite location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Hotel has good service, large rooms. Front desk always helpful. The pool and gym is reasonable and there is someone there to support. Classes are held in the studio if you fancy yoga or other activities.

A western style mall is close by, but lots of traffic usually in the area. Note the area around the hotel is totally dead. Not really a fun tourist area!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzyYazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    88
    54
    23
    21
See reviews for
26
25
9
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel from Jan 28th - Feb 4th and our experience was awful!
Starting with the check in, we didn't get the room that we booked plus the front desk staff was very rude. The bed sheets had holes, the towels were ripped, the shower was clogged and the phone in the room was not working. The table cloth in the restaurant was dirty and old. After speaking with the manager, we got upgraded to a "better" room, which was bigger but with a lot of maintenance issues. the service recovery from the manager was very poor and not genuine at all. Poor quality food. We left very disappointed with the hotel and with the staff. Look for another options and I would not stay in the hotel ever again.

Room Tip: All rooms are old and with maintenance issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've traveled to Mexico on business on many occasions, but never stayed this far south. It was recommended by my customer for a good corporate rate, but there is many and much better alternatives. Bedrooms are large, but everything about them is OLD. My linens and specially towels were very old and had seen better days. Although WiFi is free, it is too slow.
Personnel at front desk with NO personality; the only time I order room service, only coffee, it took well over 50 minutes. When I asked for an umbrella, the answer was "we don't have any"
Never again.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I was in Royal Pedregal during my first business trip in Mexico city and since it was my first time on FD I asked my local contact to book the hotel for me... I'll never do it again!

The hotel is globally good.. room was big enough and clean, good tv set (32" flat lcd sony HD), bathroom big and clean... the WiFi in free, the signal was quite poor in my room but was enough for stable connection.
Very useful was also the iron and ironing board included... I definitively need it when travel for business because my luggage are always too full and shirts too pressed :-)
The AC is quite efficient but very noisy... I cannot sleep when activated so I just tried to refresh the room and switching off during night to sleep better... At the end was ok but in summer time should be a nightmare!!

The breakfast is just good, nothing special but I enjoyed fresh fruits, good yogurt and very good pancakes with nuts... I eat these topped with strawberry jam ..... really yummy!!
There are also a lot of cooked dishes likes scrambled eggs, beams, pork, beef, cheese, tacos, and others...
The price for breakfast buffet is reasonable: 179 $pesos (around 11€).

The guests also have 2 hours free in the meeting room (really useful to receive your customers) but the projector is not included and the rent is quite expensive: 2.200$pesos for 2 hours.... Actually you could buy a new one for this price!!

I also tried the internal restaurant for the lunch; I had a good salmon carpaccio, a tasty deep fried balls with ham and cheese and a glass of Spanish white wine.... I really enjoyed this simple lunch with good service and reasonable price (sorry I don't remember the cost).

The real problem for this hotel is the location!!!!!
Periferico Sur is really far from the downtown, the expo, the airport, everything is too far.... and considering the mega traffic jam in DF, the hotel is really OUT OF THE WORLD!!
I spent more time traveling by cars, then sleeping on my bed!!

So I suggest to choose this hotel just in case you have some specific interest in that area... or just move to downtown that is very exiting place... I had the opportunity to spend some hours walking around the downtown and I really liked it...
Next time for sure I'll try to live in Zona Rosa to be closer to business area, downtown and to enjoy the positive energy that you can feel walking around that area.

BTW even if the location caused me a lot of troubles, I really spent a pleasure time in Pedregal Royal hotel and for sure I will never forget that moments.

Good luck to everybody!
Stefano.

Room Tip: Try to ask for new AC system... this will help you to sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bardano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Royal Pedregal looks better on the website from what actually is but it delivers. It seems it had better years in the past but it has mostly renewed. Rooms are very big and comfortable. It is far from downtown, so convenience of location will depend on your business. Restaurant is not good but there is nothing else nearby. Food service at the main restaurant is slow, try to avoid rush hour as they usually have group bookings. Room service, on the other hand, proved to be very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillerm0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I have stayed at the Royal many times, 11 years ago I practically lived there for 6 months. The rooms are large and clean, and the service is excellent from the bellboys to room service and the lobby staff, too bad they don't have a rewards program otherwise I would have plenty of free nights. The hotel is old now, but they made a big renovation changing all the carpets and TV's, however they took out the movies system which I used to like. The only con I found this last time is that the undersheets for the beds are still super old, they need to change this ASAP, and also the A/C was making strange noises during the night. But is by far the best option in the south of the city, way better than camino real or radisson

Room Tip: Ask for a view to Jardines en la Montana, and if you can get a junior suite is worth every extra pes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I stay at Royal Pedregal every November for a conference. I'm not a big fan of this hotel. While it is definitely clean and comfortable, it could use some major updates. The hotel appears to have been decorated and furnished in the 1980s without many major updates since then.

Giving credit where it is due - the front desk staff is almost entirely bilingual which is a big help for international travelers. The hotel restaurant is also pretty good.

If you are staying in this part of the city and you have a choice, I recommend looking at all of your options before staying here.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cuerno82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Tlalpan
Radisson Paraiso Hotel Mexico City
Coyoacan
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
#56 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Camino Real Pedregal
#236 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pedregal Palace Hotel
#205 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Coyoacan
One Ciudad de Mexico Periferico Sur
Tlalpan
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexic...
#163 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Pedregal

Property: Royal Pedregal
Address: Periferico Sur 4363, Mexico City 14210, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Tlalpan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Pedregal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Pedregal Hotel Mexico City
Royal Pedregal Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing