We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Reforma
Ranked #113 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Ambergris Caye, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My cousin and I went to the hotel blindly with recommendations of a taxi driver, not expecting anything but a clean room. Upon reaching, Delfino, a doorbell boy, took our luggage in and took us to the front desk. We checked in with Carmen, who we found to be very pleasant, with just checking us in and answering all of our questions during our stay. She placed us in the penthouse 1 which was super clean and basic. The beds were comfortable, clean bathrooms with hot and cold water, great Wi-Fi, stunning view of the city, quick access to: rooftop bar, gym, pool and upper deck. The room was cozy and spacious and therefore was perfect since we found the climate to be icy; I would worry for those who choose stay in the hotter months. I do believe we paid for the most basic of the hotel and yet we were entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet which included: fresh juice, coffee, eggs, ham, sausage, chile aquiles, yogurt, fruit...and a few other things, all the basic. Now, we (my cousin and I) both work in the tourism industry and never fail to note good service and quality of people in the industry, we observed throughout our entire time in the country that people like Delfino and Carmen are very rare and valuable. These two employee's in particular not only provided us with great service but made us feel at home and cared for. It is one of the most rewarding qualities to possess as oppose to being all "business" which is often translated into a hostile type of attitude in this industry. People working in the tourism industry must never forget their kindness/ smile at home as you are often dealing with people who are from a foreign country and perhaps a little shocked with local culture and environment. Eye contact is a very important habit too. Nevertheless, the next time we visit the beautiful city we will stay there again. Whoever is reading this on the other side then please give Carmen and Delfino our warm regards from Belize. Thank you again for making our stay a wonderful one.

Extra tip: Use the underground metro if you need to move around the place, it'll save you some major bucks. When using taxi's, use hotel associated one's as they have a higher guarantee towards your safety.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tris1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    197
    149
    46
    37
See reviews for
109
145
39
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is quite bad with the management of the hotel very unplesant. Moreover they charged me twice for the same room and now I am calling them since 2 months and they are always saying ahorrita.. I understand that i WILL NEVER SEE BACK MY 200 $. IN THE END I QUALIFIED THIS HOTEL LIKE LADRONES!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed here twice over the last year and a half. The hotel is in a great location in Zona Rosa, close to the Paseo de La Reforma. The Zona Rosa colonia is very safe. Service at the hotel was very friendly, from front-of-house staff to cleaners. Our rooms were clean and spacious but stuffy. The air-conditioning was not the best and the WIFI (which is free for hotel guests), like many places in Mexico, was very weak. The hotel breakfast is very basic....we found a far superior breakfast with first class service at the Marriott on the La Reforma. There are plenty of sitio taxis outside the Royal and we always felt safe with the hotel affiliated taxi drivers. Tip - don't use the in-house laundry service, which is very expensive...instead there is a laundromat within walking distance of the hotel. Gay boys will have a great time at the many gay bars, which are within easy walking distance of the hotel. We would happily stay at the Royal again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonNeuendorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 31 July to 8 August 2013.
It is cheap and clean and good location, but it is not a four star hotel. At best it is a two and a half inn. There are absolutely no facilities and no room service.It advertised for free internet. I tried to log in and in fact introduced a bug into my computer (being fixed by IT expert currently). So beware when you want to log in.
There was only one lift functioning the whole time while we were there. So everyday it was a struggle to go up and down with at least 200 other people.
The staff was not helpful at all most of the time, especially those in the dining room.
But you get what you pay for right.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Sydney717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is in the heart of the Zona Rosa. It is an excellent value for the price. Room was large with a small sofa and desk. The security safe was broken and the air conditioner was quite noisy. The staff were courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Not bad 3 star hotel. Room was large and beds were ok. Pool and sauna did not work while we were there. Middling breakfast buffet. Probably good Mexican fare. Good location,(we walked to the Mexico Park with the Museum of Anthropology and right beside a Metro Station which gets you everywhere quickly and efficiently. Part of a tour package so don't know price value.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were a bit disappointed that they did not have things such as towels for us when needed. They promised to bring them because when cleaning the room, they did not have any towels to leave in the room. Then, when we called, we had to wait for several houses. We had an appointment, so we took a bath without a wash cloth. The television reception was poor and the choice of channels was not good. The message red button was left on for two days after I called to see if I had any messages. The answer was no and they promise to correct it. It took three days to correct this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Century Zona Rosa Mexico
Hotel Century Zona Rosa Mexico
#126 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#56 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#40 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#45 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
PF Suites
PF Suites
#143 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Reforma

Property: Hotel Royal Reforma
Address: Calle Amberes - Zona Rosa 78 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Zona Rosa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Reforma 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Reforma Hotel is conveniently located, surrounded by shopping centers, shopping and entertainment. The property is 1 block from Chapultepec Avenue, 2 blocks from Insurgentes Avenue and within walking distance of the "Paseo de la Reforma". All rooms feature amenities such as alarm clock, cable TV with movie channel, hair dryer, desk, free WiFi and minibar (with deposit). Smoking is not allowed in the rooms. The property features a meeting room for 130 people and offers special prices for parking. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel. Tezka serves Basque cuisine and Primavera proposed Mexican and international dishes. There are also 2 bars. One is in the lobby and the other is on the terrace, which offers a spectacular view of the city. The Angel of Independence, the US Embassy, ​​the Insurgentes roundabout and Plaza Reforma 222 complex is located 5 minutes from the hotel. The Museum of Anthropology in Chapultepec is located 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Zona Rosa
Best Western Mexico City
Hotel Royal Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing