We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had rooms issues but fixed after protesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #285 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Niagara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“had rooms issues but fixed after protesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here december 29, 2012-1st room had dirty bathroom, second room not much better. Location is terrific. Many rooms recently renovated -could be cleaned better. After complaining, the hotel made everything right. Also only one of the 2 elevators are in use- they both work but one seems to be on a long term break.
this place could be great with a little TLC
New linens, towels and beds--looks like they are trying

Room Tip: ask for rooms that have been renovated, close bathroom door before sleeping to cut down on noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    39
    25
    46
See reviews for
21
29
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the start of a tour. The location was fantastic - right in the Historical District. The lane this hotel is located in is not overly safe, however it is close to the main road (approx 100m) which I would consider safe.

The first drawback of this hotel was noise. I think the walls may have been out of cardboard. We could hear nearly everything that happened on every floor of the hotel. Sleep was hard to come by.

The towels desperately needed replacing. They were tiny and had been washed so many times that they were threadbare.

Maintenance is lacking. We had only one light bulb working in our room. The staff appeared to think we were being unreasonable by asking them to replace the bulbs which were not working. The staff did their job but were generally unhelpful and not friendly.

The elevator was "hit and miss". Once again, maintenance is needed.

If you're looking for a decently priced base for your explorations of Mexico City, I would recommend this hotel for it's location alone. If you are hoping to spend some time relaxing in your hotel room, consider another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikaila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Great Location very close tov Reforma Av. with acces to public transportation and stores.
My room was located on one side of the building with viewing to the back of other constructions....They have old TVs with no cables and no remote controls very inconvinient these days especially that tv are so cheap now days.My first nite could not sleep because of the noise from a bar that is located in the same block..after that it was fine.The Cafeteria is good, excellent service and good food for little money. They should be using the sliding cards to acces the rooms is safer..locks at the doors were not too safe..the simple round locks....Overall good hotel for the price.Inex

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank LUIS Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slovakia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My first touch of Mexico, I spent there 2 nights. Very quiet place, very close to Latino Tower, Zocalo, Templo Mayor, just 20 minutes by walk. On the pavement to main street you can bay very fresh "jugo da narancha" and price is insuperable in whole Mexico, 20 pesos only. Very close are shops, OXXO and restaurants. Comfortable rooms, in that price level.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milankov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent three nights here as a start to our Gecko's tour of Mexico. It is a fantastic location, just off Juárez Street and within easy walking distance of the Zocalo (main square) and Centro Antico (old centre). It is also just a short bus ride from the Bosques de Chapultepec, which is West along Reform Street and has many attractions including the AWESOME Muséo de Anthropologie. It is relatively cheap. It is close to a Sanborns restaurant, 24 hour Oxxo convenience store. etc. The staff are helpful. Wireless internet works but only from reception. That is the good news.

On the downside, the rooms are worn and only just clean enough. The in-room safes are a disaster. Do not use them. Lock your valuables in the safe deposit boxes at reception. Our room was hot, even in early May, and the fan was minimal and had to be jury rigged from a bathroom socket at night. Also we had a lot of trouble with mosquitos and midges in our room. I strongly suggest you take a spray can of insecticide and use it before leaving your room and do not leave your windows open, especially at night. Only when we did this could we get a decent night's sleep. The restaurant is quaint - and does not necessarily open on time and the creaky lift always stops on level four. We assume that a ghost lives there ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We came to Mexico city only for one night to catch the flight back home.
We pre-booked it using an agency and hoped for a good place for our last day.

We were quite disappointed.

We booked a double room, with private bathroom, TV and AC, but we got ...
A TV without any single English speaking channel (though we scanned).
The AC was a standing movable one which was more of a fan then AC.
The internet didn't work (one of the crew helped us and call to confirm the flight details).

We ate lunch in the restaurant, it was a 3 course meal but it was served a bit cold. The quality was ok, but not suitable for an hotel. The breakfast wasn't that good either.

The better sides are a helpful and kind crew and a very good location, just a walk away from the main historical zone.

All in all, we expected a much better place (and didnt mind paying). The place itself is an old hotel and its standards are low.
We wouldn't have stayed there more then a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsraeliCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Rooms looked ok, but closer inspection showed, dirty bedspreads, antique towels, plug ins that did not work., switches missing for lights, No hot water during the day,and sometimes just tepid in the evening.The breakfast was palatable but inconsistent. There was one awesome waiter who did whatever he could for us and it was a pleasure to leave him a big tip.He deserved it after running the restaurant single handed.and providing good service.
Rude front desk people in the evening. The location was amazing right in the centro. In otherwords spend a little more and get a nicer place and do not book this place sight unseen like we did. The rooms are listed at 90 dollars a night but we paid 50 and glad we did.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roperanna7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#77 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Alameda
San Francisco Hotel
San Francisco Hotel
#259 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#31 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Hotel Fontan Reforma
#92 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#59 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
New York Hotel
#206 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Humbolt 38, Centro Historico, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Ambassador Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing