We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the middle of Mexico City”
Review of Suites Amberes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suites Amberes
Ranked #60 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the middle of Mexico City”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

On a recent trip to Mexico City we stayed at Suites Amberes and had a great stay!!!! The staff was courteous and friendly (the doorman even let us borrow his umbrella on a rainy day!!) The rooms were large and clean! If you are looking for a stuffy snobby hotel this isnt it but if you are looking for a great value in the center of the action this is it!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mateo790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    89
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
74
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I agree with the other reviewers who state this is like staying in the center city flat of a wealthy relative. Though the suites weren't super modern they made up for it in space and appointment. I was a solo traveler and I had a spacious 2 bedroom suite that could have easily slept 4 in comfort. There was also a full kitchen and the other needed items. There were 2 tv's in total a dining room table; pretty much anything you could imagine you'd need on your hotel stay. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning powerful. I was on the main level and noise wasn't a problem at all for me. The doormen were very cordial and efficient and I found the hotel to be very gay friendly I didn't receive any negative scowls when entering the hotel with my companion. Immediately when you step out of the hotel the surrounding neighborhood is almost a Times Square vibe of activity, commotion, traffic, and nightlife. There are also numerous restaurants around. I felt very safe walking the streets of the neighborhood by day and night due to the sheer volume of people in the streets tourists and locals. I was approached by numerous people for club entry or flyers but a firm no and steady gait kept them at bay (think how you're pestered in Vegas). I did try two of the local gay clubs and found them to my liking. They weren't megaclubs but were fun and the patrons easily engaged. I would certainly return here in the future especially for a group of people. The complimentary airport transportation was AMAZING. Free, private, door to door transfer. Found me in the arrivals lobby with a paper with my name on it. Saved $25 no complaints. Limited hours though for that service. Take Sitio Cabs for local jaunts and request them by that name. Very fair rates.

Room Tip: I was on the main level and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank White2tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Suites Amberes was an ideal place to stay during a hectic week in Mexico City. The suite I occupied was vast and comfortable and sufficiently high up (6th floor) to avoid noisy disturbance from the very animated street below. As many otrher reviewers have pointed out, the hotel is located in the middle of the Zona Rosa, an almost too lively district of the city with all sorts of goings on and happenings at all times of the day and night. There are lots of good eating places nearby as well as a metro station (Insurgentes) and the Paseo de Reforma (main drag). The staff at the reception desk of the hotel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in a somewhat austere, Spanish style restaurant with large blaring TVs, by somewhat severe waiters. But, the food was fine. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

These are nice large suites with King size bed, a small kitchen, a vanity sink and mirror area separate from the bathroom, a reading room and (2) big wall TV's... EXCEPT for the bed pillows. It doesn't seem like a big deal until you find that they are impossible to sleep on. Big, beautiful pillows that are so big and so hard that I couldn't sleep on them and my wife went sleepless. A maid found some smaller and slightly softer ones, but they weren't great either. Otherwise, the bed is OK and the other furnishings are acceptable.

Noise from the street and a mechanical unit outside the bedroom was bearable. Bath sink
was almost stopped up and it wasn't fixed in (4) days. Soap dispensers weren't filled and a container of liquid soap was provided to carry from (1) bathroom sink around the corner to
the other.

The airport pickup and delivery was a great service, most of the administrative staff were
good, very nice, and very helpful, the maids were great and the breakfast food and service
was very good.

The most prevalent (2) tone brown taxis that you will see are not safe, but if you ask the
hotel to call one you will get a private taxi that will cost 2 - 21/2 times what you need to pay. Get the phone number of a reliable company and call them yourself.

All together, this hotel is a good value and is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racnron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Located in the heart of Zona Rosa, where you can find a lot of restaurants, dancing clubs but also prostitutes and touts- so consider it when traveling with children.

The suite is very spacious with a large living room; however it is quite basic and was not renovated for years.

The hotel provides excellent good value for money. Just note that if your quote is in US dollars, the conversion rate that the hotel uses is 5-9 percent higher than what you get, so you actually pay that percentage higher to what you expect.

Breakfast is good, but mostly with Mexican dishes.

The hotel is ranked here #4 of 258 hotels in Mexico City. A little bit surprising….

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avihub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Our stay at the Amberes Suites was satisfactory as far as the room went.

A living room and little kitchen, and a separate bedroom, overlooking the little street, and the parking madness, which went on daily and never failed to amuse.

But the shuttle driver failed to find us, and we arrived at the hotel, around the same time as him, after having to take an airport taxi. And of course he was demanding his 350 pesos, for not doing his job.

The shuttle is not free after 5pm, and it is best to take an airport taxi at 210 pesos, if you can work out how to get one. Bureaucracy is rife in Mexico City.

Apart from the room, the hotel had little to offer. No bar, it was under renovation. Poor breakfasts, at least for Europeans. Though there seemed to be plenty choice for Mexicans, and difficult to deal with receptionists. But that seems a trait in Zona Rosa hotels, the receptionists are all difficult to deal with, and non committal.

And for Zona Rosa itself, it seemed a relatively safe place, among the poofs, prostitutes and lesbians. But beware of the street hustlers, who promise you the earth, at an overpriced dancing club, just down the road. It is more likely to be in another county.

Room Tip: A room at the front, overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalapa, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

On a recent trip I needed to visit the US Embassy, so I decided to stay in the Zona Rosa. The hotel is about three blocks from the Insurgentes Metro station and less than a ten-minute walk from El Angel Independence monument and the embassy. I was by myself but landed a huge suite with sitting area, kitchen, dining area, large desk, reading nook with couch, and two bedrooms with double beds. The suite could easily accommodate five guests. It was nicely decorated with Mexican artesania and reproductions of pre-columbian artifacts.
Maybe the best part was the free breakfast, served in the hotel's classy restaurant. There were about twelve full-breakfast choices, and the molletes I chose (with bacon) were the best I've ever had.
The staff was very helpful. I was able to use the laptop in the Business Center to check my e-mail. (The hotel has wifi throughout, but I didn't bring my computer along.)
At $89 US I think I got a real bargain.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Eurostars Zona Rosa Suites
Eurostars Zona Rosa Suites
#134 of 309 in Mexico City
282 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#50 of 309 in Mexico City
426 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#32 of 309 in Mexico City
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Condesa
Hotel Block Suites
Hotel Block Suites
#95 of 309 in Mexico City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites Amberes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites Amberes

Property: Suites Amberes
Address: Calle Amberes 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#35 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites Amberes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Suites Amberes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amberes Hotel Mexico City
Suites Amberes Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing