We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent except for one bad apple...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporio Reforma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Emporio Reforma
Ranked #32 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent except for one bad apple...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My family stayed here for one week, and we occupied three rooms on different floors. The rooms were small but very clean, and very comfortable. I was impressed at how quiet the rooms were. There were times that I experienced a lot of noise in the hallway walking to my room, but once my door was shut, it was blissfully silent. The hotel has very nice safes in each room, and the restaurant serves a killer breakfast buffet.

The hotel has taxi drivers available to help you to your destination. We used both Horatio and Romualdo Pedroxa. Both were excellent drives, but Romulaldo has a superior knowledge of Mexico City history, and he drives a very large vehicle, capable of ferrying around our large group.

The hotel is located near Zona Rosa. It is in a safe area, but more than a 1/2 mile walk to nice restaurants. The hotel restaurant is good, as is the Argentinian restaurant across the street.

Our only bad experience came after we left. My mother paid for all three rooms with a credit card - and that credit card was used only that one time on this trip. The bank reports that within hours, it was being used at ATMs in attempts at obtaining (STEALING) money. This is a lovely hotel, and I truly wish they would listen to our reports of this crime. There were only two people working the desk at checkout, and it should be easy for management to find the culprit.

Room Tip: Double rooms feel more than twice as big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Queezle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    273
    88
    29
    21
See reviews for
116
205
49
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Rude staff, needs refurbishing, towels old. Will not be back at any price.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are taking immediate action in order to prevent this from happening again.
We assure you this kind of error is very rare in our hotel and our company, and we will do everything we can to earn the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great smaller hotel, with exceptional personal service. I stay here every time I come to Mexico city. This hotel is way better than some of the monster 5 star hotels impersonal hotels. Ths friendly, helpful staff really make the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for the double rooms if you are traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Place is in a good spot, people are friendly, rooms are clean and nice. So what's the big deal?? I guess for me it's just the little things when compared to the other hotel I've stayed at in DF. Bed was unusually hard and pillows weren't comfy; woke up sore and tired every day I was here. Don't have ice machines, so had to ask for room service every time I needed it. If you're contemplating whether or not to get the breakfast package, just do it. It's a better value than if you pay separately. Came here with kids, TV channels weren't to their liking, but didn't stay here long enough for them to complain. Wifi is pretty good. All in all it's a good hotel, but I guess the biggest downer is the bed. When you spend the whole day walking and come back tired, you want to have a nice, pleasant sleep.

Room Tip: Don't ask for rooms in second floor, they have a view of a wall. Room was 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miettes_de_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

110% satisfied. Nothing ghetto about this hotel. Everything just as nice as in pics shown here w/ no surprises. Lobby wonderful--décor, furniture, cleanliness. Staff professional and accommodating. Room AWESOME. Mattress on bed soft (not hard as case tends to be in Mexico) w/ lots off fluff from sheets and pillows. Had flat panel TV, adding to sleek, clean design. Bathroom clean & modern w/ all the amenities we are used to in the US--such as toilet seat on top of toilet. Shampoo smelled good w/ apple-y scent. Water pressure from shower not consistently strong, but didn't ruin my stay. WiFi fast, although spotty at night. However, business center in lobby w/ computers, printer, scanner. Yes, room didn't have a lot of walking space, but I was alone. Plus, everything was nice and clean in it, and my bed was queen sized. (C'mon now, that's what counts.) The safe in closet worked. Location EXCELLENT!! Very close to TuriBus stops. Close to metro station Cuatémoc. Very close to amazing, upscale mall .5mi to the left when you exit front lobby. Along a very clean, modern avenue (Paseo de la Reforma) that is a joy to walk down. 2 minutes away from Zona Rosa (which is not as fabulously gay and lavender as you would think it is by descriptions; but still lots of ppl. and buzzing w/ life well through the night). Zero buyer's remorse. Will stay again here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netcalix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The location was nice. The hotel staff and service were good. However, the rooms were very small. Overall, the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Good 4 star hotel, clean bathroom, nice amenities.

Free Wi-fi only available in the reception area.

Friendly staff and very helpfull to find a way around Mexico.

Good location, aprox. 40 pesos taxi ride to Zocalo or central garden. Near from animated areas for bars and food.

On drawback, no real breakfast buffet in the morning just the cafeteria with limited selection.

In room breakfast possible though

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingBSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Fiesta Americana Reforma
#56 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#29 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sevilla Palace
#60 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#25 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#38 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Reforma

Property: Emporio Reforma
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 124, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Juárez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#43 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Reforma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Emporio Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Reforma Mexico City
Emporio Reforma Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing