We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific little gem - I'll be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emporio Reforma

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Emporio Reforma
Ranked #32 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Terrific little gem - I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

From check in at 1:30 am to my check out two days later I had nothing but positive experiences with the Emporio. The staff were all friendly and very professional. I'm fluent in Spanish so I had no language difficulties at all but a friend who lives in DF and stayed with me doesn't speak Spanish and even the desk clerk that checked us in spoke some English.

I had a room with two matrimonial beds - both of which were comfortable. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. The flat screen TV was modern and provided a nice break to sit and watch a movie while chilling between excursions. Where the room really stood out was the bathroom. Everything in the bathroom looked brand new. The soaker tub with jets that work and the pull out lighted magnifying mirror were great touches but it was the double headed shower with excellent water pressure that really stood out. I lived in Mexico for 14 years and visit often and I must say, I had the best showers ever in Mexico at the Emporio.

The room service menu is varied and very reasonably priced as is the mini bar. Two bottles of water are provided in the room for no charge and there is also more water that will be billed if you use it.

The location so close to the intersections of Reforma and Insurgentes is excellent. It was a 200 peso taxi ride from the airport, a 200 peso taxi ride to Mexico Norte bus station, a block to the Insurgentes Metro Bus and a short (say 10 - 15 minute for me) walk down Refoma to Belles Artes. From there another short stroll took us through the centro historico to the Zocalo to see the Christmas lights and skating rink. Another much shorter walk on Reforma in the other direction will take you to El Ángel de la Independencia for a photo op if you're visiting for the first time.

This will be my go to place when travelling through DF in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Director General at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide your comments; it is helpful for us to know your experience in the Hotel.

I hope you come back soon at Mexico City in your home Hotel Emporio Reforma

Happy New Year¡¡¡¡¡¡
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    273
    88
    29
    21
See reviews for
116
206
49
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampico, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Emporio is so very nice, I will recommend it to all my friends and family, very clean, Food was wonderful, and not expensive, and everyone is so very nice and professional. If you go to Mexico City don't stay any place else!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor N Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, General Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure for us to know your stay was comfortable and nice. Everytime, we try to continue with the same service and quality. One more time thank you very much.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I really wonder how many stars this hotel has, as it was one of the recommended hotels i got from a list of 5. It said 5 stars but i dont believe it. It is clean but the hotel seems to be a bit old. The rooms are small but comfortable. One thing that really pissed me off was the fact that the staff didnt speak any english at all, so if you're not familiar with spanish, i would suggest you pick another hotel. But to compensate that, they were very friendly, although i found they service bad (but it could be because of the language gap). Breakfast was good, buffet with a huge variety of mexican food, and it also had a la carte international especialities. Didnt try the restaurant. It is very well located and in a safe area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Makuanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, General Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
We sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide your comments; it is helpful for us to know your experience in the Hotel. Your feedback is very important, because the staff need to speak English all the time, sorry for the inconvenience.

We hope you come back soon at Mexico City in your home Hotel Emporio Reforma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stay here for 5 days. The hotel its well located on reforma ave. Our room was in the 3th floor with view to the street, the room was nice and big, the bathroom was really nice with separated shower and huge tube (which my daughter enjoy some nights). Every day they put 2 bottles of water in our room without cost. The staff was really helpful and try to do the best. The restaurant was nice, we ate breakfast almost every day in there, if you don't like the buffet they have a la cart menu.
It was our first time in this hotel and we have a nice expirence.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MBeatrizG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, General Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments it´s very important for all staff to know your stay has been pleasant and comfortable.

I hope you come back soon at Mexico City in your home Hotel Emporio Reforma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford, nh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Café free the first day in room then you pay. Restaurant is mediocre. Suggest going to another restaurant if time permits. Room was very small and difficult to move around due to its size. You receive one free bottle of water per day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, General Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Unfortunately your experience sounds bad. Thanks for your feedback, everyone will try to service and offers the best that we can. The Hotel has different kind of rooms and views. The Restaurant is Mexican food a buffet, if you could send me more information please write email to mexico.gerentereserv@hotelesemporio.com

Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, the room was clean, comfortable and quiet - despite the hotel having a 10 lane thoroughfare outside. The staff were also v helpful and friendly. Organising taxis for us etc.
We enjoyed the breakfast buffet too - once we had got used to it. One morning there was a large corporate breakfast event going on - which was quite entertaining. The downstairs cafe was nice too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmondCroissant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, General Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
We sincerely appreciate your taking time to provide your comments, it is helpful for us than know your experience in the Hotel.
We hope you come back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Nice cozy hotel in the tgrand Reforma avenue. Well located. You can move around as tourist or business man.

Single room was small, but with all necesities. Nice bathtub with hidromassage.

Servixe always kind, but reservation through their webpage not recommended, as they don't recognize the number, although they respext the room rate.

Cafe well located for morning coffe and biscuits on your out. Safe taxi service at your disposal at the back entrance.

WIFI notsuited for work. You need to be connected through ethwrnet to get a good signal.

If you want a nice view, ask for the rooms facing Reforma street.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimitours360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, General Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We really really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure for us to know your stay was comfortable and nice. Everytime, we try to continue with the same service and quality. One more time thank you very much.

We hope that you will visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Fiesta Americana Reforma
#54 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#23 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Sevilla Palace
#62 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#38 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Reforma

Property: Emporio Reforma
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 124, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Juárez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#43 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Reforma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Emporio Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Reforma Mexico City
Emporio Reforma Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing