We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrific surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emporio Reforma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Emporio Reforma
Ranked #34 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A terrific surprise!”
Reviewed 28 July 2010

It's been a year since I stayed at this hotel, but wanted to write a review even this late, as I had such a pleasant surprise while staying there. This hotel is definitely best suited for business travelers and conferees, given its ambience and decor. My room was pretty small and dark, so I would specifically ask for one that is not so dark. The hotel has an excellent service and the breakfast served at the restaurant is amazing. But the best part was when I forgot a wad of cash in a pocket and sent the lot to the laundrette. My colleagues and I took a vote whether it would be returned and the consensus was an overwhelming "no." But as I came back, I found on my bed my laundry and all the money neatly folded on top of the laundry. Who would have guessed? What a terrific surprise!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allforservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
We are pleased to know you could feel "the Emporio Experience" and you have had a great stay with us.
Thank you for all your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    279
    91
    29
    21
See reviews for
125
209
51
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Pros: very comfortable beds, nice bathroom amenities, efficient housekeeping staff, excellent breakfast buffet. Cons: very noisy air conditioning in the room, old bathtub. Check-out was an unpleasant experience as the hotel staff took 30 minutes to finally agree that they should use the total price in our confirmation of reservation in USD, and not try to charge us 15% more using a new MXN-USD exchange rate. I would recommend the hotel to people who would like to visit the historical center of the City. Next time, I will stay in Condesa or Coyoacan, where there are more restaurants and cafés open in the evening, rather than on the Paseo de la Reforma.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
We are glad to know that our hotel and staff exceed your expectations about comfort and service.
We appreciate your comments and we will consider those to offer you the best in a near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Good location in a safe business district. The hotel is well turned out and so are the staff. It is mainly used for business but we used this as a base for a bit of sightseeing. There is a bus stop for the sightseeing tour 5 mins walk away. Good value and very clean, would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you, we are really excited that your stay with us was great and we hope to see you in Emporio reforma soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2010

In a hectic city like Mexico City absolutely is- one needs a little safe heaven to rest. Emporio Reforma serves this role very well. Safe, clean and reliable and with a lots of personeel everywhere at your service 24 hours a day. The cleaning service cleaned my room just perfect. Great hotel! Will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veki155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear guest, your comments are very important for us, was a pleasure to serve you and we are waiting your visit again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I booked Emporio Reforma for a recent trip to Mexico City mostly due to the strong TA reviews and thought it represented good value. Well it was certainly cheap enough, but stick this place in the 'you get what you pay for' category. I arrived late at night, walked into the lobby, which I found dark and seedy. I got very suspicious so before checking in and asked to see a room, which was only marginally better than the lobby, but certainly not four star calibre. Room was small and it stank of mildew. Needless to say, i didn't stay. Don't be fooled into thinking this is a luxury four star property - it isn't even close.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Manager at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
First, thank you very much for your comments, we try to offer our best service since we were remodeled.
The hotel was decorated with an European-Contemporary style. Tranquility, warmth and courtesy are some of the main characteristics you will find in our property. We hope that very soon you know our service..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opus73
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

After staying here previously and enjoying it, my partner and I returned in Dec. '09 for two nights. We booked our room online. When we arrived at the hotel, we were informed that we had no reservation in their systems and the front desk clerks urged us to make another one at their counter. We were assured that we would not be double-charged if the original reservation were to surface. Several hours later in the room, the front desk clerk called, informing us that the original reservation popped up and that we were indeed being charged for two rooms. I reminded her that we were told this wouldn't happen; also, as it was early in the day, they could still book the other room for someone else anyway. I was told since the reservation was made through a partner website of theirs (alien to us, as the site we booked from, right in front of them at the counter, appeared as their official site), there was nothing they could do, etc. We had no intention of using a second room and spoke to each person up their ladder including the hotel manager, sending numerous e-mails to solve the situation but to no avail. Though we were assured many times by each member of staff, nothing was done and in fact mysterious additional charges showed up on our account on top of the extra room from things we did not use or purchase. After the runaround for two weeks from the hotel, I notified my bank in detail of the problem. The bank reversed all charges from my card, having investigated the claim and determining fraud on the part of the hotel. It's unfortunate that though the hotel itself is a pleasant place to stay, the incompetent (and possibly criminal) staff ruined it for us. We will not come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Opus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporio_Mexico_Hotel, Owner at Emporio Reforma, responded to this review, 6 May 2010
“Dear Guest,

We are taking immediate action in order to prevent this from happening again

As general Manager, I can assure you our error was not committed in bad faith. When you first arrived with us, we could not find your reservation at the check in (which is very rare in this hotel), we looked for it in our system and couldn´t' find it. Because of that, you made a second reservation at the web site, using a different name and credit card. Later that day both reservations showed and the charges were made to both reservations by mistake.

We assure you this kind of error is very rare in our hotel and our company, and we will do everything we can to earn the opportunity to serve you again.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

This is a small little hotel located right at the intersection of Avenida Reforma and Avenida Insurgentes, two of the most important arteries in Mexico City. I would say it is equidistant from the Zocalo area (Palacio Nacional, Catedral Metropoliana, Bellas Artes) and Chapultepec Park (Anthropology Museum, Art museums, theme park). We walked back from the Zocalo to the Emporio and it took about 20 minutes. Other than a great location, the staff was helpful and friendly, even gave us a late check out with no problems. The restaurant was really good and economical and had a pretty solid buffet. There are 2 computers in good condition in the Business Center with fast internet. Our room was pretty small but was very clean and had a flat screen TV with a DVD player. The bathroom came with a tub with jacuzzi jets and all the bathroom amenities you could need. Everything was clean, modern, and the hotel was very quiet, as it is mostly business travelers. We paid +/- $230.00 USD for 3 nights, which I found surprisingly cheap considering how nice the hotel is and how strategic it is located. Every cab driver we had knew exactly where it was, which minimized confusion. The only negative I would say is the hotels taxi service. It an unmarked car with a driver employed by the hotel which the door man arranged for us. It is expensive and unnecessary, as he charged us 100 pesos from the hotel to the Zocalo, which a city cab would have charged about 30 pesos. So, the only thing I would say is beware of paying too much for a ride and use city taxis if you are on a budget (they are ridiculously easy to hail in front of the hotel). After our late check out, a ride to the airport in the hotel taxi (in a very nice unmarked sedan) was 190 pesos. I will no doubt stay here again if I am ever in Mexico City.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMU99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
872 reviews
Fiesta Americana Reforma
#39 of 306 in Mexico City
1,495 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#27 of 306 in Mexico City
806 reviews
Sevilla Palace
#63 of 306 in Mexico City
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emporio Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emporio Reforma

Property: Emporio Reforma
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 124, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Juárez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#36 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#43 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emporio Reforma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emporio Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporio Reforma Mexico City
Emporio Reforma Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing