We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for its price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Ranked #88 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice hotel for its price.”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

It is a super cheap hotel and It is okay for what you pay. Service ia good and the staff is friendly. It is clean and the breakfasts are good too. Rooms are kind of old but they are okay. The hot tub on the top was broken and they probably wont fix it. IF you dont have a reservation and arrive before 9 am in the morning they wont open the door for security reasons. It is locates in Reforma and the subway station is in front of hotel, so the location is great if you want to be close to Zocalo and Dowtown. Overall a nice and cheap hotel if your expectations are not too high.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank diegoah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    317
    197
    65
    82
See reviews for
191
189
92
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I like this place... great location, nice room, comfortable bed. The included breakfast buffet had considerable choices but looked nicer than it was as it seemed to lack flavor. Still fine though plus there was an omelet chef there for your custom order. The room was quite spacious, had a huge bed, desk, remote tv and A/C. The windows looked like they were installed in the 50's but there was a nice view of Reforma from it and with the A/C there was no desperate need to open them anyway. Was very cool watching helicopters land on the roof across the street at least a few times a day. The bathroom worked but I was curious why a hotel that was so complete in so many ways would have a cheap, under-sized wrap around shower curtain around the tub. I would and will stay there again but I will ensure I manage my own specific details, such as airport shuttle, because from my experience they may say yes and smile a lot but fair warning, you are on your own to get things right. There is a nice roof top terrace with a bar and food service with great views. This is where the hot tub is but please be advised, no heater, no hot water, no use. Room had wired internet but worked very well.

Room Tip: Facing Reforma Avenue may be a little noisy, especially in the morning, but if you can handle that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I was in Mexico city from 0ct.4 to oct.15 and stayed at hotel fontan. I liked it very much.
Great security. great service. GREAT housekeeping.
clean and neat hotel.
great breakfast with cooks that makes your omelet in the restaurant while you are standing there.
a/c in the room. good bed. safe in the room. very good location for shopping, sightseeing etc
perfect for young people on the move :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolai s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
403 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel for about 3 nights. Every room in the hotel is very clean. Unfortunately the window in my room didn't close that well and the streets aren't that quiet during the evening, so that resulted in a bad night's rest (see room tip). Breakfast was very good. Different sorts of food, fruits, eggs, cerial, everything. Staff was very kind and helpfull. Don't expect anything from the pool or pool area on the topfloor. It is as big as a jacuzzi. Pool area contains a bar and some seats. View from the topfloor is just a bunch of concrete.
The hotel is well situated though. You are able to walk to several sights in the city. I can recommand this hotel when you are sightseeing during the day and only need to sleep/eat in this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the street side. The streets are very busy, already early in the morning. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very large central hotel partly refurbished. My room on 6th floor had a view of two 9 story concrete walls. Room was clean and door staff friendly. Breakfast buffet didn't include eggs which seems odd for Mexico. WiFi available but reception poor unless in lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel has very good location in Zona Rosa. Hoever the hotel is quite old, the rooms were quite spacious but old-fashioned and dummy. It was quite clean, but it definitely needs some renovation. The breakfast was extremely simple just some fruits and a toast.

The staff was not speaking english very well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neshto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

as you can see it is my second stay in that hotel. i stayed there in march where it actually was nearly fabulous .now everything became worse. internet never ever working, noisy guests everywhere without any manners at all. tv s so old they might deserve a place in a museum.room service either bothering you at 7 in the morning (even with dont disturb tag on door) or never ever cleaning. filthy carpets and absolutely idsappointing staff at reception without any notion of treating foreign guests. door banging guests any time and high prices. permanent noise from the street (reforma boulevard is a dense traffic avenue,like 5th avenue in nyc) and old not soundproof windows. just a joke ! awfully smelling filthy rooms. ac only working every second day.
no water in the morning followed by no electricity in the afternoon ! perfect third-world ambiente !
dont even ask for directions, they send you the opposite way.not sure because of being evil or just ignorant, i saw guests breaking out into tears at check out because this awful place wanted to charge them for things they never used,they never had in their rooms or calls they never ever made. i speak spanish perfectly and even like this i made a scandal at check out !i wanted to call the police because the hotel invented charges for things i never used.but then of course it is mexico...what do you expect? believe me. this hotel is one of the worst in mexico city and at 55 us per night you can get definitely better ones than this shabby outdated brothel-like (reallyno place for kids!)
establishment. please avoid it. i am so angry,as you can see, because i booked it for 10 days and could not get out.believe me i will never ever come back to that place.
anything positive? yes .breakfast is very good and the waiters are polite. thats more or less it.
if you need any hotel in mexico city ... go into the ejecutivo by reforma(thats where i fled after this concentration camp ambiente hotel.),same price but better 1000x times or get the melia just in front which is slightly more money but it is well worth it,because this hotel ,fontan,will certainly leave a bad taste for any holiday makers. i have sent a report to the mexican ministry of tourism. this place is full of muggers and thieves. oh yes, some guests told me of bed bugs, but my room was free of them.i want to be more or less objective.anyway beware !!!!!!!!!!
it is an awful declining really c r a p p y (no other word!!!) and filthy place where all your bad stereotypes of mexico fully revindicate.believe me. this place is a shame for the beautiful city of mexico ! avoid it when you can. i will !

Room Tip: get another hotel.really !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
With great sadness we have read your criticism and I much appreciate that it take the time of writing it has no idea how helps us to identify our opportunities for improvement. Unlike in some months ago now all our rooms have wired internet, is worth mentioning that this service was modified because of the lack of signal is had in some rooms, has served us pretty well and complaints from our customers have disappeared, the rooms are newly remodeled and they have the same services that a few months ago. As you mentioned well are located in one of the avenues more major of the city of Mexico and the transit of vehicles as well as people too much however have many places of interest close to our guests, Center conventions, museums, monuments, etc.
You mention some details about the service we will no doubt improve since at no time can we allow that our clients are a bad impression about the care provided by our staff, with all security let me tell you is never a charge for a service that is not used, calls to local numbers are free of charge our guests can be made from your room and as in any hotel that has cost they are calls long distance perhaps there comes confusion, however there are charges for damages in rooms (clean shoes with towels and stain them) that are certainly covered by customers which does not generate discomfort when they are aware of the damage caused.
Our hotel welcomes all types of foreign and national tourists, we have an ISO 9001 2008 certification obtained for the services that we offer by what you regret that we have not had an approach on your part to give any solution with regard to the situations which relates in his commentary that perhaps for being annoying us degraded in this way, since in your last comment all seemed you well. I am waiting for your comments, since for us if it is very important to learn in detail this whole situation that you spent in our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#30 of 305 in Mexico City
578 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#79 of 305 in Mexico City
365 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#65 of 305 in Mexico City
378 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 305 in Mexico City
1,402 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#25 of 305 in Mexico City
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontan Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Reforma

Property: Hotel Fontan Reforma
Address: Paseo de la Reforma 24, Mexico City 06040, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Reforma 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fontan Reforma, ideal for travelers looking for new experiences, a hotel located in the heart of Mexico City, just a few steps from the Palacio de Bellas Artes, 800 mts from the Zocalo Capitalino and one block from the subway station Hidalgo. With its 240 Rooms this hotel is suitable for Tourists from all over the world as well as for Executives in search of rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fontan Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Mexico City
Hotel Fontan Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing