We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not very Impressed....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Ranked #88 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not very Impressed....”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I went to Mexico city for a soccer game and I decided to get a room to rest after the game, I arrived at the Hotel early about 9-10AM to try check in and guess what?...... big surprise the hotel staff was not able to find my reservation on their system, it took the staff about 3 hours to finally confirm my reservation(systems issues was the only explanation by the staff). The rooms are decent for the price but I really didn't enjoy their customer service. I will try something different next time... Good Luck!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elrazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPCIONFM, Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Google Translation
Srita: Portillo

Gracias por su opinion, ya que es muy valiosa para nosotros, esperamos contar su presencia cuando usted decida y poder seguir atendiendola como solo usted se merece.

Quedo a sus ordenes

Lic. Jacqueline Roman
Gte. de Serv. al Huesped
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    320
    198
    68
    82
See reviews for
196
190
92
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were four adults who went to Mexico City for a Fey Concert, we stayed on the 5´th floor of this very good and modestly priced hotel. We found the staff very accomodating, the breakfasts, which are included in the price of the room, were always excellent. One night we took advantage of the roof top bar, we each had a good drink and admired the view. Will definetly return to this moderately priced, but centrally located hotel.

Room Tip: Book in advance because this hotel is popular with tour groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsorcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were a family group that stayed from March 26th to March 31st and we were located on the 2nd floor, rooms 1216 to 1219 and the noise was really a problem in room 1219. The hotel should improve this with special windows or something else. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the staff was also very helpful. Mexico has excellent people everywhere. I was assigned room 1216 and the matresses were terrible, but I did not complain (my mistake) this is also something they need to improve. The TV sets in rooms are a joke but I don't care too much on this. The wi-fi should be in every floor but only works in the lobby and restaurant. The location of the hotel is very convenient to walk to Zocalo, Centro Historico and by bus, taxi or metro to Basilica de Guadalupe and practically everywhere. Transportation is also excellent from/to the hotel. Great stay

Room Tip: Choose high floors if you are sleep sensitive, too much noise from the street on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catrachosps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

At the side of a subway station and bus lines. Walking distance to Zocalo. Good service and typical mexican breakfast. Hotel being remodeled. Close to restaurants at Juarez and Hidalgo Av. Staff very kind. Touristic taxis available with drivers that are also touristic guides. Group tours can also be purchased at the hotel.
;

Room Tip: Rooms with windows to the bottom have no wiew but are very quiet. Front rooms will have the noise of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugustoScorza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I spent my vacation with my family,for 3 days, and the experiences was terrible, at first the room didnt have a one windows so in the night all the cold air enter even the bad smell from outside.
The bathroom didn't have a hot atter, and all the watter stock, so the bathroom became in a big pool. the toile didn't work.
My terrible sorprise was when I order the room service, a chicken soup for my baby, it was a cockroach in my soup. imagin that!!! so I talk to back my money and the didn't return my money.
the rooms are really dirty, i was worry because my baby was playing in a very dirty carpet.
the good think is the breakfast it was delicious and the waitres very kind

Room Tip: The breakfast is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigichancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPCIONFM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Google Translation
Como empresa de servicios esta situacion es intolerable motivo por el cual el colaborador responsable así como jefes inmediatos fueron separados de su cargo, le comento esto ya que despues de 8 meses que se sucito el hecho, nuestra administracion en el restaurante es totalmente nueva, de antemano se que esta situacion provoca cierta desconfianza pero les aseguro que aprendemos de nuestros errores y siempre nuestra prioridad son nuestros Clientes.
Espero nos brinden una segunda oportunidad y sorprenderlos con nuestras mejoras, y sobretodo cambiar este mal sabor de boca que se llevaron.
Saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Uppsala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is nothing special, it's a place to sleep. The advantage is a very central location which makes it a good choice if you are not looking for luxury but a place for exploring the central parts of Mexico City.
+ Clean. Pretty large rooms. Nice and helpful staff.
- Noisy from traffic, shops and bars in the area. Cold rooms (when cold outside).

Room Tip: If possible, select room on top floors which will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas_in_Uppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPCIONFM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su estancia con nosotros, sin duda la ubicacion de nuestro hotel siempre es un plus para nuestros huespedes ya que estamos en una de las Avenidas mas grandes del Distrifo Federal, cerca de Museos, Teatros, y sobre todo del Centro Historico.
Somos un Hotel interesado en conocer los distintos puntos de vista de nuestros Clientes, por lo que nos agrada tener contacto a traves de esta pagina.
Sin duda ya estamos trabajando en mejorar, nuevamente gracias por tomarse el tiempo de comentar su experiencia en nuestro hotel.
Saludos Cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The Hotel Fontan Paseo de la Reforma gets pretty good reviews and we were looking forward to staying there for our recent trip to Mexico City. We arrived about 10 PM during the period when the new president was being inaugurated. The city was busy. We were greeted in a friendly fashion and given our key. The room was on the second floor. It was very noisy, worn, cold and the safe didn't work. We did our best to get a better room, but were told that no room was available. This was probably baloney as the manager allocated us a better room on the 11th floor at 0845 the next morning.
Following that first night, our stay was pretty good. The people at the desk and bell service were friendly and spoke a little English. On two mornings the dining room was overwhelmed by large groups of intinerant students. On the other days the food was good and the service genteel. Omelets and a buffet.
The room was clean if somewhat outdated. The metro was very close. The room was still noisy and cold...there was no heater. But the view was great.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RECEPCIONFM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fontan Reforma, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
we are pleased to know that your stay in our hotel was nice, however will improve some details, although we have no heating but tien scheduled incorporate into our rooms.
no more thank you for your comments as it helps us to identify our opportunities for improvement.
Best Regards
Alma D. Perez Zamora
Serv. the Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#30 of 310 in Mexico City
586 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#81 of 310 in Mexico City
374 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#35 of 310 in Mexico City
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#65 of 310 in Mexico City
378 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 310 in Mexico City
1,422 reviews
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
#112 of 310 in Mexico City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fontan Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontan Reforma

Property: Hotel Fontan Reforma
Address: Paseo de la Reforma 24, Mexico City 06040, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontan Reforma 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fontan Reforma, ideal for travelers looking for new experiences, a hotel located in the heart of Mexico City, just a few steps from the Palacio de Bellas Artes, 800 mts from the Zocalo Capitalino and one block from the subway station Hidalgo. With its 240 Rooms this hotel is suitable for Tourists from all over the world as well as for Executives in search of rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fontan Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontan Mexico City
Hotel Fontan Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing