We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An aging dowager is well worth the price of admission”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Reforma
Ranked #185 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Though the self-bestowed 5 stars are a little on the generous side, nevertheless the Hotel Imperial is a great place to stay. The lobby, upstairs restaurant and friendly and accommodating staff rate full marks. The bedrooms have been modified from their original colonial decor and are a bit of a mixed bag. The first time we stayed, the coat rack bar and hangers were missing as were the little luxuries (such as Kleenex tissues). The second time, everything was in order. Noise from the street (if you want to have the window open) is fairly intrusive as is to be expected from the location in the heart of the commercial district.

Museums, the cathedral, the 'zocalo' are all a short distance away and the rates on both of our previous visits (booked in advance over the internet) were at least half of the rack rate. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tacklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

A friend and I stayed at this lovely historic hotel in September 2011. It was walking distance to the MONUMENTO A LA REVOLUCIÓN and Mercado Artesanal de la Ciudadela. There's a Sanborn's across the street and a few good restaurants (including the hotel restaurant) in the vicinity. What struck us was how helpful the staff were. I left my cell phone in a cab on the way to the airport. The phone was returned to the hotel and then they held on to it until I could send for it once I arrived home. Room service is prompt and courteous as was bell staff. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. I highly recommend a stay here while you explore this gorgeous city.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that does not face Paseo de la Reforma to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirandasyndrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

the 1st room was small - the AC the refrigerator a couple lamps did not function.
i arrived t 2 AM and the ride up the elevator was nice - on the floor is no light? at night.
so finding the room is tough. there are lights, but they turn them off early.
in the day the sky light is great, but at night the only light is reflected up from the lobby -
four floors below - so it is very dark upstairs.
I told the desk about the broken items, but two days later - nothing was repaired?
i fixed the lamp and opened the windows for air, but the shower too had problems.
at 6AM the road noise starts - the third floor was being renovated - and the hammering started Early!
and went all day long - no rest for the weary. lol

they did move me to another room the third day. only 1 lamp did not work. the shower had problems. not clean and the sliding door did not glide. you lifted and drug it as many had done in the past. you could see the damages from previous guests dragging the door.
the AC worked. the window was higher so the road noise was suppressed. the room service was good, but room cleaning was sporadic and done by request - multiple requests and most days the beds were not done until after 3 PM - one night they did not come until after 6 PM - So i told them
not tonight. But Please clean the room in the morning. Please.
about 1PM the room was done the next day -

the restaurants are very nice, the food was ok.
the lobby was very nice and a classic eye pleasing place to stay.
the Land mark style of the hotel Imperial was easy to find. so i did not get lost - all the taxi knew how to find the place. :D
the staff at the desk were very very helpful. it is an impressive building and i would stay there again.
as i like the location and the classic look - my girlfriend will not stay there - she say "yuck"
my sisters would not stay there either - but i liked the old style and a few roaches dont bother me.
but the price was too high for a roach hotel - - - - -

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toknowlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I returned to Mexico City - and I returned to the Imperial. The four years gone by were kind to the hotel. Not much has changed - either way:

The Hotel Imperial is a beautiful hotel, that still has kept its charm from the turn of the century - the 19th that is. The luxury has somewhat faded from the days it housed presidents and diplomats. The hotel's location on Reforma boulevard at the Cristobal Colon traffic circle puts it in the middle between the historic district/Alameda and Zona Rosa/Chapultepec Park. Metro stations for line 1 and 2 and 3 are within 10 minutes walking distance.

I made the walk fromn the hotel all the way to the Zocalo via Bellas Artes and to Chapultepec Park along the monuments, statues, and various art pieces to be done in 30 minutes each -or less, and quite pleasant.

A friendly staff is helpful and most speak English. The lobby, bar, restaurant and cafe areas are pleasant and appointed with taste. You have entered a 3 to 4 star hotel (on a 1-5 scale). I had booked a king room (for one person). I had requested a room on an upper floor to escape traffic noise (especially on the Morelos Blvd side), which was obliged. To receive a functioning A/C and refrigerator presented a challenge and 1.5 hour waiting.

The room's furniture resembled more 2 star accommodations. The room was clean, the furniture functional. A hard mattress (the aztecs didn't sleep on anything softer either!), dresser, desk, round table, a couple of chairs and a few pictures. Ample closet space with a built-in safe (get lock from receptionist). You will find hotel branded accoutrements everywhere. The stationary, toiletries - all had the Imperial Hotel's logo. The A/C produced about 65-70 degrees on high fan speed. It was October and 75-80 degrees outside - so I am not complaining about lack of A/C. I just don't know if it would work when it's hotter. The bathroom: stone counter and tiles everywhere, plenty of towels, 2 bottles of water every day, plenty of toiletries, a shower enclosure over the tub. Though shall not walk on that carpet with light colored socks - enough said!

I go to Mexico City to enjoy art, history and cutlure, not to spend too much time in my hotel room. But - it would have been nice to have more than one or two English speaking channels on the TV (get remote control from receptionist), but then - you have not lived until you watched the Simpson in Mexish. A reliable wake up call got me going at 4:00 am to catch the return flight and the bell man had a taxi cab waiting for the airport ride (180 pesos = $15).

Numerous restaurants and shops are in the immediate vicinity. Sanborn's accross the street is a small department store with a "quite ok" restaurant - open until 1 am. A convenience store is next door to the hotel, (they have your cold beer, cappucino, snacks), bakeries, cantinas, more restaurants, Banks/ATMs, etc are very close. I did eat once in the hotel's Cafe (afternoon buffet, 165 pesos) the food was "pretty good" - but repeated itself day after day as I observed. Waiters were somewhat inattentive. The lobby/restaurant bar seems stocked well - and has the best ice cubes I ever had. Check it out and you will see what I mean.

In summary: I paid $50 per night (incl. tax and fees, through a lonely travel website), and I had safe and satisfactory accommodations in an excellent location. I had done extensive research on this and many other hotel websites and could not find a better value in the center of Mexico City. Should I return with my spouse/fiancee/secretary and want to "impress", I would go to the next level and select the Camino Real at Chapultepec Park for twice the money. But I am glad that I did not pick the lower priced options off Reforma, in Zona Rosa or in the historic districts. I walked by some of those and I was glad that I did not save the $10 or $20. The Imperial surprises nicely in some areas, disappoints in others.

The Hotel Imperial was a satisfactory choice that gave me my monies worth and then some. With a little investment and consistency by hotel management, this could be a prime selection for the financially conscious, yet amenity oriented traveller.

Room Tip: high floor and removed from the intersection Reforma/Morelos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Decent location, though busy and quite noisy. Standard room was a generous size, but the air conditioning didn't work and neither did half the lamps. Used both the restaurant (Gaudi) and Room Service, with very satisfactory food quality and service. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Booked the room one day in advance and benefitted from a low low rate on hotels.com. For the price, it was OK.
September, 2011

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be on the Paseo de la Reforma side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjcpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel has pleasant staff, and a great location. You can walk to the Zocalo in about 30 minutes. The rooms are large and well furnished.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We were looking for a hotel that was reasonable, and at the same time decent. This hotel satisfied those requirements. It's old, and the rooms do reflect that, but for the most part everything was very satisfactory. We got a great room on the first floor (in Mexico, the ground floor is the ground floor, and the next floor up which in the states would be the second floor is the first floor) and we even had a balcony. There was air conditioning and a nice shower. One negative: we were located right above the bar, so it smelled smokey. But keeping the door to the balcony open helped with that.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hop0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#40 of 312 in Mexico City
604 reviews
Ramada Reforma Mexico City
#161 of 312 in Mexico City
231 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exe Cities Reforma
#175 of 312 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fontan Reforma
Hotel Fontan Reforma
#96 of 312 in Mexico City
850 reviews
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
#93 of 312 in Mexico City
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Reforma

Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £54 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Imperial Reforma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Imperial Reforma offers a cozy and relaxing environment due to an strategic location and a personalized treatment. Located under 30 minutes to the city airport,5 minutes to the American Embassy, just a street far from the Expo Reforma and 10 minutes walk from the historical center. For this and much care, the Hotel Imperial Reforma has and always will be a legacy from Mexico to the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Imperial Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Reforma Hotel
Imperial Reforma Mexico City
Hotel Imperial Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing