We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Imperial Reforma
Ranked #188 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Oklahoma usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good mid-range hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is a classic old city hotel. The rooms are enormous. This was my first trip to Mexico
City and the location was excellent, walkable to the Centro Historico area and the sights of the
Paseo de la Reforma. The room was clean and the shower was hot with some wait time. I had a
3r floor room facing the main road. Traffic noise was not a problem for sleeping. Disappointed
with ancient tv, but I was not in town to watch tv. Mattress was hard as others have mentioned,
bu did not give me any trouble for sleeping. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially at
the price

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OkieViejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    80
    68
    26
    31
See reviews for
39
84
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The location is perfect in Reforma Av, within walking distance from downtown. The price is also very good, and free internet. Comfortable beds, and large enough rooms. Friendly staff and very clean. On the bad side, the furniture and decoration are a little bit old, could be renovated, and if your room faces reforma street can be a little noisy. It needs an update but the price is so right that you can forgive that. Good restaurant on premises, Gaudi, Spanish, nice brekafast. It has a Oxxo convenience store right next door.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel twice. In our first visit, we tried other budget hotels in the area and none of them compared to Imperial. We wished the price had included breakfast, too, because the hotel offers a very good breakfast. The rooms are quite large. It is true that the hotel is dated and needs renovation, but we would stay in this hotel again. What surprised us in our second visit was that booking web sites offered a cheaper price than the hotel itself. That means, one needs to book a room via web sites rather than asking at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Some rooms are noiser than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degirmencioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Situated in best part of city, elegant, fine hotel with superb reputation. Large, well furnished room. Clean with marble baths.
But on my stay this October,(my 4th stay here) 2 lamps not working, safe not working, nor clock.Very low wattage bulbs and cant read by them. Bath tubs are for 3-4 ft pe´rsons and for normal size people. Need CNN or Fox in English.(Told them this many times before)Management does not seem to pay attention to remarks or suggestions. Computer use $1,50 per day.

Room Tip: I get excellent rate from Expedia,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

My husband & I (both healthy in our young 50s & both lived in Mexico back in the late 1960s thru the late 1970s) recently stayed at the Hotel Imperial Reforma for 15 nights. We checked in on 9/22/12 & checked out on 10/7/12. We personally had no real "issues" with the hotel & thoroughly enjoyed its charm & character. The folks at the check-in desk were very curteous & took care of us quickly. Overall the hotel, albeit quite old, is maintained well, is kept very clean & the staff are all very pleasant. The location of the hotel can't be beat! It is centrally located in the midst of a HUGE & fantastic city! We stayed in room #212. It is well-appointed with a flatscreen TV (with 2 English speaking channels), has 2 comfortable chairs, a round table, a nice desk, and a nice large flattop surface that we were able to store each of our suitcases on, & it has a large king-size bed, a bit on the hard side, but still quite comfortable, with nightstands & lamps on each side. However, FYI - the refrigerator does not work but can be used more like to store snacks, sodas, & bottled water. They do provide two drinking glasses & an ice bucket in the room, however you have to get the ice from either the restaurant on the first floor in the mornings or from the bar at night located on the mezzanine. Our bathroom was very clean & the water pressure & temperature of the water in the shower was delightful! I was slightly disappointed that there was neither a window in the bathroom or a fan - so you may want to buy either some matches &/or air freshner spray. We did unfortunately experience a few disruptions in our internet accessibility. Our room faces the major & very busy street of Reforma, and therefore can become quite noisy due to all the city noises of traffic, honking cars, miscellaneous sirens, whislte blows, etc. We witnessed 4 separate days of peaceful, well-organized political marches right outside our window. FYI - people can get "fresh" air by opening the short brown section at the bottom of the window by pulling it into the room. Both of the blackout & sheer curtains closed nicely. Sunday mornings are the quietiest mornings - as the government does not allow car traffic on that section of Reforma, until about noon, but does allow & encourages families to walk, jog, roller-blade, skateboard, etc. with or without their pets. It was a delightful sight to see. The only reason I'm not giving this hotel a higher rating is due to the following observations I'd like to share. I do not feel that this hotel would be a very good choice for people who are handicapped & / or for elderly folks whom are unable to walk on their own. In order to get up to the mezzanine, where the check-in desk is, you must walk up approximately 24 beautiful wide marble steps, but there is only one banister on the left-hand side. There is no elevator to get up to the mezzanine. Fortunately the polite conceirge / doormen at the front door will kindly offer to lug your luggage up those stairs. FYI - we tipped them $25 pesos per bag. The elevator is located on the mezzanine in order to get up to the rooms. The second concern I'd offer to anyone who has difficulty walking is that getting in or out of the shower is rather difficult, as you have to step over a high bathtub stoop in order to get in. We can't comment on the the quality of the restaurant, as we didn't eat any of our meals there, as we ate with our family who live within walking distance of the hotel. We did however, notice that the prices were a bit pricey. We were generally impressed with the quality of the hotel & will probably consider staying there again if we have reason to return to Mexico City.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you ask for a room on the highest floor to potentially reduce the amount of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PITAPITADenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Booked a Junior suite (suite to them apparently means the standard single hotel room, unless the bathroom counts as a second room, thus making it a suite). Old furniture, low soft bed, wireless internet only accessible in hallway (code only provided if you demand it) and front desk staff had lots of attitude with no help. Failed to give the remote to the T.V. on check-in (apparently not enough remotes for every room, so they were hoping not everyone wants to watch T.V.). Low, soft bed with very thin pillows, asked for extra and was told there were none available, finally after complalning about the 160 USD / night price and general lack of service, they found two more. Shower was in a bathtub that had a three foot high one foot wide wall in front of it. Only way to get in was to jump or sit on the wall and swing around. In general avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSS1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Castroville, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Staff in am helpful, night shift was not helpful about getting something to eat, place smelled horrible very outdated beds were hard as cement. No one at front door of hotel when you arrive,dark streets around hotel. Breakfast was ok. Never again,no ac, no window for fresh air and nothing but bad smell. I usually stay at Hotel Geneve Zona Rosa great place. Dont go for 50%off rooms like Imperial.

Room Tip: I travel to Mexico 6 times a year, don't pick hotels offering 50% off this is a red flag telling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#33 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Sevilla Palace
#66 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fiesta Americana Reforma
#41 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#44 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Exe Cities Reforma
#205 of 307 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Imperial Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Imperial Reforma

Property: Hotel Imperial Reforma
Address: Avenida Paseo de La Reforma 64 | Colonia Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Imperial Reforma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Imperial Reforma offers a cozy and relaxing environment due to an strategic location and a personalized treatment. Located under 30 minutes to the city airport,5 minutes to the American Embassy, just a street far from the Expo Reforma and 10 minutes walk from the historical center. For this and much care, the Hotel Imperial Reforma has and always will be a legacy from Mexico to the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Imperial Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Reforma Hotel
Imperial Reforma Mexico City
Hotel Imperial Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing