We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap ok hotel”
Review of Mallorca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mallorca Hotel
Ranked #253 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms: clean, big enough, no hot water in the shower just warm which was bad for me, nice beds.

Staff: kinda rude but i guess i cant have high expectations in 3 stars hotels.

Food: terrible, eat somewhere else, really overpriced and really bad.

Location: awesome, 1 block away from insurgentes and reforma, close to everywhere

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatricioGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Mallorca as part of a tour group. My friend and I arrived a day earlier in Mexico city to undertake an extra day of sightseeing.

In total we stayed 3 nights. The room was adequate for 2 persons, we each had a double single bed. The bathroom was a good size and the shower had hot water. I had no issues with cleanliness.

The first night we had some difficulty with the air con which services the whole hotel, so cannot be controlled individually by each room, but soon found that there is a lever which can be opened or closed. It is noted that the air con does switch on and off throughout the day and appears to switch off during the night. Rooms can become stuffy and there are no fans, but there is a window that can be opened. During my stay I did not encounter any mosquitos.

The hotel has it's own resturant which I utilised a number of times for breakfast. Not especially cheap food (for Mexico) but had no complaints. There is a supermarket next door which has a bakery and chemist inside. There is also an ATM there.

The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and were happy to assist whenever possible. Though they spoke little English, they were very forgiving when practicing my Spanish on them.

The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the airport and close to most destinations of interest. Transport is easily accessible from the hotel. There is free wi- fi which was fairly efficient. The rooms are serviced daily and complimentary bottled water provided each day upon housekeeping.

All in all a sufficient hotel to stay in while in the big city.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kawm2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have been staying in this hotel since I stayed for the first time 4 years ago.
It is my usual hotel in Mexico City.
Its location is priviledged just a block from Insurgentes and two blocks from Reforma. You can leave the car in the parking lot of the hotel and move in public transportation if desired.
Rooms are ok, clean, not new, but comfortable beds.
I recommend to ask for rooms not facing the street, noise would be a problem sometimes.
Price is reasonable.
You can enjoy your stay.
It is better to book, usually it seems to be full.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mexwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

very basic but spacious rooms, comfortable beds, just a few minutes from the zocalo..friendly staff, cleaning fine..people ready to help you for anything you may need..what would you expect more for that price?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank begumgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

rooms are not so big but with all the necessary things (tv, AC, room service).
the location is very good, near the city center (on foot) and the staff is very friendly but not everybody speaks english.
the restaurant is good, with mexican and international food.
is a good hotel, also for its low price

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vasaio012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

This is a very basic, very clean hotel, with great service and extremely kind and helpful staff. I felt completely at home here. The men at the desk would always give me advise if I was going out alone as to whether or not the neighborhood I was traveling to was safe, how to get there, etc. I do speak Spanish, so it was lovely for me to be able to get to know those at work there. Everyday we were offered room service of very high quality--sparkling clean. it is close to the Zona Rosa and the Centro Hisorico, the Modern Art Mseum, Museum of Anthropology and many other sites. Within a bus ride of other sites if walking is a bit much. Located in Colonio San Rafael, a modest neighborhood, there are a lot of great little restaurants of good value, both Mexican style food, and food from other places. I liked the neighborhood feel rather than a touristy atmosphere. Cyber cafes within a block, big grocery store next door, park across the street. We paid about $22 American per day for a single. Great value. The only thing that could be a little difficult for some is that it is basic: no gym, no lounge, no kitchenette rooms, but there is a little restaurant downstairs. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ReinaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

The Mallorca Hotel is great. The price is excellent (about $25 USD a night), for a large clean room, cable TV, clean bathroom. The cafe/restaurant downstairs is good. It's a bit far from the very center of town, but you are near Ave. Insurgentes. I also stayed in a hostel for $20 a night in mexico city, to share a room with 3 other people, and it was awful. I should have stayed the rest of the trip at the Mallorca Hotel.

Most of the staff do not speak English too well, so I would keep a phrase book handy if you don't speak spanish.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank madisonannie53703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
New York Hotel
#208 of 312 in Mexico City
84 reviews
Hotel Sevilla
#197 of 312 in Mexico City
231 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Isabel
Hotel Isabel
#169 of 312 in Mexico City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Principal
Hotel Principal
#132 of 312 in Mexico City
263 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#60 of 312 in Mexico City
308 reviews
Hotel Astor
#83 of 312 in Mexico City
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallorca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallorca Hotel

Address: Calle Serapio Rendon 119, Mexico City 06470, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £17 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mallorca Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mallorca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mallorca Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing