We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, gay location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Valentina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #24 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
301 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great, gay location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The pros? It's right in the heart of Mexico City's gay neighborhood (La Zona Rosa). It's a nicely designed, modern hotel. Our room was comfortable, and had a big seating area. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was nice and strong. The staff is extremely friendly, especially Victor, who always greeted us with a smile and helped us make reservations. (Valentino, the young son of other staff members, was delightful.) The breakfast, included with the cost of the room, was a tasty mix of cereal, fruit and pastries, and included a daily hot special. The price was surprisingly reasonable, as was much of Mexico City.

The cons? The walls are extremely thin. We heard almost everything that went on in the room next to ours: talking, water running, the hair dryer, sex. (Granted the guys in the room got back late and stayed up late.) The noise woke me up several times; luckily I get back to sleep pretty easily. This could be a deal breaker for some people.

Also, the hotel is starting to show some wear and tear here and there, including frayed towels, matted carpet and chipped furniture.

Room Tip: The walls are shockingly thin. Corner rooms might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear NYCleveland!!!!!

Thank you very much for taking the time in sharing your thoughts of your stay at Room Mate Valentina.

We are so happy to know you really enjoyed the room.

I will transmit to all staff your kind words especially to Victor who will surely look forward to hearing from you.

Receive feedback like yours makes the work to become a pleasure.

I surprised when you say you could not sleep.
All the hotel provides soundproof windows to ensure that our guests can have a pleasant dream.
We will consider the rest of your comments as they are the best way to live up to your expectations.

When I read your comment regarding Valentino put a smile on our face, sadly not a child of any of us, is the son of one of our guests, the child was with us about 40 days and became part of our team.

Hopefully we will see you soon again, feel free to contact us for any additional needs in the future.

Regards,

Laura Cabral
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    282
    97
    32
    16
See reviews for
68
325
97
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Today. I am back in Canada from Mexico. A friend recommended this hotel under its previous name (Marco Polo) because of location within walking distance of almost everything I wanted to see. When I (a single 65 + woman) arrived and saw all the sex shops on Amberes, I thought I had made a terrible mistake. The new name, Room Mate Valentina, added to my unease. However, this was the perfect hotel for me. I loved the small scale, so unlike many of the surrounding hotels. The rooms are very clean and mostly well designed (I would have appreciated a bedside clock and a bedside reading lamp.) The included breakfast offers a selection of options. The staff is friendly, very helpful, well informed and, mostly, comfortable in English. Also, I (as someone who was never out after midnight), felt completely comfortable in the neighbourhood. I would love to spend more time in Mexico City - especially if this is my hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great location, good breakfast, great location, super friendly staff, super helpful staff, big modern room. I was impressed. Next time I'm back in the city, I'll be staying there. You could walk almost every in the central city and I felt very safe the entire time. Easy access to good restaurants and great street food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kg1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Second time in Valentina and I did not regret the decision, was even better, I stayed in a Atico suite and was just fantastic, incredible view, the bed was so confortable, every day the cleaning service was great, the man in charge of the room Fernando, so friendly and helpfull.
The rooms were very spacious, bright and had a very modern open design, also had a HUGE bathroom with enormous sheet towels!The breakfast and the wifi are a great addition free of charge.
At the desk every single time when I went for some help or info, the staff was so helpfull and nice, special thanks to Erika, Victor and the desk Manager Laura.
the Location is great right in middle of Zona Rosa a block from Reforma and Angel of Independencia, very close from Chapultepec and downtown. The area is nice to take a walk during the day or night.
The hotel has a staff car and driver who is equally helpful, knowledgeable and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: the higher the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelAngelUrda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great value for a big city hotel. Very modern design plus comfortable & clean.
I liked the location, just off the Reforma, 35min walk to Zocalo, but the city tour bus also stops just outside. On the other side is the park, Modern Art Museum and Museum of Anthropology etc. I like the location for evening, lots happening, many restaurants just outside plus not too far from the trendier Condessa with even a nicer range of eating establishments. Service was friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: This was a room that I actually enjoyed spending time in, not just a place to sleep and leave
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13oyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with low cost. Is not so close from good things to do in Mexico City, but if you are looking for good prices with good taxes, i really recomend this hotel....me and my wife liked a lot. You can find good restaurants near from the hotel. I Really recommend...

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leonardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Zona Rosa is a little far from the Zocalo in Mexico City. It's at least a 35 minute walk and even catching a taxi takes a long time (traffic on Reforma sucks). For the price, this is a great location. And walking around was always pleasant and we always felt safe. The rooms were very clean and the staff helpful. We had a little trouble communicating with the man on the front desk.. However, there are some other staff around that have truly great English skills (I don't know why they aren't on the desk!). We organised a tour to Teotihuacan with a driver/tour guide so that we could go early and beat the crowds. This was great!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#40 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#29 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Property: Room Mate Valentina
Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing