We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #26 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value - great staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I was very happy with my experience of this hotel and I thought it was good value for money..
I was on the 12th floor, the room was large and very comfortable, and even though the area had a thriving night life there was no problem with noise. The staff were very helpful, and the location is great - walking distance to stacks of great museums.
The breakfast was good, and I appreciated the free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Canberra!!!

What can we say? Wow! We really want to thank you for write a really good and detail review about your stay.
You recommend excelents museums very near of the hotel! :) so we are sure you have choosen the right place!

It will be really fantastic if we will see you soon!!!

Regards,

Laura Cabral
Fron Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    284
    98
    33
    17
See reviews for
69
331
98
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have stayed here 5 times now, and generally would recommend it for travelers on a budget. On my last trip, I decided to book a Junior Penthouse suite which costs about twice as much as a regular room.

The room itself was clean and spacious but not well maintained. There were problems with both faucets in the bathroom (one was very loose and the other squirts water into the air), the safe didn't work (although they did fix it the next day), the blinds won't go up or down, and even though the room has a terrace, there's no furniture so you can't sit outside. The last two points rather defeat the point of a penthouse room with a view.

I recommend guests pass on the penthouse and book a delux room instead. Room 1203 is a good option as its on a high floor and avoids the noise from the street.

One other point, cancellations through the website don't seem to be communicated to the reservation system at the hotel.

Room Tip: High floors facing Calle Amberes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest !!!!!!

Thank you so much for sending us your comments through tripadvisor.

Undoubtedly your kind contribution makes us better at those little details that make the difference.

Will improve constantly to bring you the best service.

It will be a pleasure to see you.

Regards,

Laura Cabral
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

It was a good stay in this part of the city which is close to many attractions. Staff are very friendly and will try to attend to your needs where possible. Rooms are large and comfortable and breakfast is very good also. One thing is that rooms can get cold at night and we asked for a portable heater on 4 separate occasions (over a period of 2 days) where the reply was always "we will bring one up right away"....needless to say, it never came. Overall good stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank al_ditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest!!!

It is a pleasure to know you have felt the real Room Mate experience.
Our staff always try to make your stay be pleasure and comfortable.

Hope to see you soon and with more time in Mexico City!

Kind Regards

Laura Cabral
Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
326 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was my first hotel in Mexico DF. I really liked the location, close to subway and museums. Zona rosa is also the gay district so there is some party and noise around. So ask for a room in the upper floors, it will be better. But no big deal with the noise. Rooms are excellent, beds are great and bathrooms too. Breakfast is a good value, even if you find coffee and pancakes all around for much cheaper. Staff is really nice and helpful. I'll go back there if I can - and if I find good promo fares on Internet.

Room Tip: the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest!!!

First, we would like to thank you for take a piece of your value time to write you opinion.

We really hope you have enjoyed your travel and it is a pleasure to know that Valentina was for you the best hotel!

We really hope to see you soon!

Laura Cabral
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I read the reviews after making the reservation and to be honest, I was a little bit scared, that feeling continued when we first arrived and the guy at the frontdesk couldn't find our reservation. This guy was not as friendly but not rude either which is fine by me but could be quite weird to some because one of Mexico City's great things is its friendly people. The bellboy "Paco" on the other hand was pretty smiley and friendly.

I had requested two beds and got a room with a queen bed, there was a woman at the frontdesk this time and was very willing to help us and accesible to make a change.
The room was nice and spacious, pretty much white all over it, I didn't think it was unclean, it was perfectly fine and being a hotwater lover myself didn't have trouble with that either.
While there was a lot of noise outside (it is in the middle of a lot of gay nightclubs) we couldn't hear the noise once in the room.

The hotel is well located, just a few blocks from the Metrobus and Metro, you really don't need to take a taxi, not even for the ride to the airport. We did use the taxi provided by the hotel and it wasn't expensive, just around $15 dlls to the airpot which I thought it was a pretty good deal since it is safe. You could also take the Metrobus and it's around $3dlls per person but you do need a little more time and directions.

Breakfast is a typical continental breakfast with coffee, tea, some "pan dulce" a little bit of fruit and cereal plus a daily dish such as scrambled eggs, oats or some simple mexican dish.

There are a little details they could work on to make the stay better, like bigger trashcans and additional wall sockets close to the bed.

Overall it was a good experience and I'd consider stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanniePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear DanniePop!!!!

I really appreciate your kindly words
Thank you for the opportunity to visit us.

I hope you come back many time after, to Valentina and all the staff going to be very pleasant to see you again.

Best regards,

Laura Cabral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

First off, the staff here were amazing. They were kind, friendly, and very helpful. Everyone spoke English and were able to accomodate our busy and hectic schedules. Whenever we needed directions, they were more than willing to help! The breakfast was great too; there was toast, fruit, pastries, specials of the day, juices, and more. Plus, the chef was so sweet too! The rooms were really cool and designed well. Only thing is that the basin for the sink was designed oddly, toilet was weak, and the glass for the shower was very revealing. Plus, there was no door to the bathroom and the towels were very frayed! But besides that, the hotel is great and we barely had to wait for the elevator. Yes, it is located in the gay district, so there are a lot of sex shops and bars around galore. But the area is VERY safe with police literally on every block. Plus, the metro is only three blocks away, making transportation very simple and easy. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floors and ask for a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicloverr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Musicloverr29 !!!!!!
Thank you so much for your kind words!

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay in Mexico City and you feel special in our hotel.
That is exactly our purpose!

We appreciate the comments made ​​in reference to your room to take them into account to improve

Hopefully we will see you soon!

Laura Cabral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on Easter weekend. It was a perfectly decent stay and we had no regrets choosing this hotel. We had read the reviews ahead of time and so were not surprised to see the wear and tear of a not-so-new hotel. But the rooms were clean and comfortable and were adequate for our purposes. In the end, the stay was not particularly special, but for the price we felt it was of decent value.

We ended up upgrading to a "deluxe" from the most basic "executive" for an extra $5/night as they no longer had any rooms available with a queen bed. It was a much bigger room, and we were happy we upgraded although the "executive" seemed fine enough. The room was clean, but nothing to write home about - mostly bare white walls with the occasional artsy graphic. We overlooked the street and was pleasantly surprised that we couldn't hear the street noise (on the 6th floor). There was a comfortable seating area and fridge.

Bathroom was fine, although we did have one evening where there was very minimal hot water. We didn't bother getting management though as it seemed it was likely just a high volume time of day. Towels were thin and just further emphasized that this wasn't really a "boutique" hotel from our perspective.

Breakfast was fine - toast, cereals, fresh fruit and one hot entree - one day an amazing Mexican specialty, the next day, boring scrambled eggs.

In the end, the best thing about the hotel was its location. We loved being in the heart of things in Zona Rosa with all the restaurants and bars. We understood how some people might be turned off by the more adult-nature (with the various sex shops) and at times more party atmosphere of the neighbourhood (lots of bars in the area), but we personally never found it threatening or sketchy. It was only a 5 minute walk to the metro which was great for exploring the city. We never took any taxis to or from the hotel so couldn't comment on the ease or expense of such a service.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at Room Mate. It wasn't the best hotel, but it wasn't bad by any stretch and we were happy enough with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Front Office Manager at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Cemmm!

On behalf of the entire team we thank Valentina share your experience through TripAdvisor.

That is gratifying to know that enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you consider us for future visits to the largest city in the world, the rest of the Room Mate hotels are at your fingertips in cities like New York, Miami, Florence, Spain, Argentina, and soon Amsterdam.

Best Regards,

Laura Cabral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#35 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#46 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#21 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#31 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Property: Room Mate Valentina
Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Mexico City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing