We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok option, decent stay but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Valentina
Ranked #29 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Ok option, decent stay but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Good: - Friendly staff, decent bed, plenty of space, free breakfast, super central location if you are good with Zona Rosa. Loved walking around the neighborhood and felt totally safe. Not a ton of good restaurants given the neighborhood is so loco, but still interesting and good.

Not So Good: The walls were THUMPING on Valentine Day's night; I am the deepest sleeper ever and was BLOWN AWAY by the noise from the clubs blasting through the walls all through the night. I heard Katy Perry in my dreams. The next night I called for ear plugs, which they don't have. They went to buy them for me but charged me. Should've been on hand. The front desk staff just shrugged and smiled and said sorry, no compensation or resolution. Breakfast is not too great. The plastic couches in the room are unusable and there is a general look of disrepair, and the plastic shapes on the walls look cheap.

Definitely wouldn't stay again but was fine with my time there and don't have any regrets.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Estimated Phillysil:

First we want to thank you for the time you have taken to write a review. It helps to know how it felt in your stay to improve every day. All staff of Valentina will be happy to meet them again if they decide to go back!

Regards,

Laura Cabral
Jefa de Recepcion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    284
    98
    33
    16
See reviews for
69
330
98
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My first trip to Mexico City. I was with my brother on a "birthday trip". Everything exceeded our expectations. Guide books steer you wrong when they write "don't walk at night" in Zona Rosa. This hotel was on a very safe and lively street with access to 24 hour stores and ATMs. The staff was exceedingly friendly and accommodating. Ericka and Cres met our every need. They made suggestions for sight seeing and for restaurants in the area. No need to leave the hotel for breakfast --it was wonderful. Also a Starbucks on the same block. The bed was comfortable with an excellent shower and clean bathroom. Rooms are large and well kept. I suggest a high floor 9-12 to avoid noise from the bars and clubs across the street. Great people watching! The owners are lucky to have employees like Ericka and Cres who make it a priority that everything is a smooth experience for the traveler. I would definitely return. Judy Gressel

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judygressel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Judy:


I was fascinated with your review

Our greatest desire is to convey to all our guests experience is staying in a ROOM MATE ... you know what we like you.

Stretch your comments to all the staff especially Valentina Cres .. Ericka and I'm sure that I feel happy to hear from you.

Come back soon ... guest as you make our job a pleasure.

Laura Cabral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We were a little worried about our 48 hours in this city but immediately felt at peace when we stepped into the lobby.

The staff greeted us, took our bags and gave us a map and information about what we could do in the area until check in. Perfect!

We have mostly been staying in hostels so the hotel was a luxury. The bedroom and bathroom didn't disappoint, the water pressure was particularly fabulous.

The walls are a little thin as others have suggested, and you can hear either people next door or above taking showers so bring ear plugs.

You are in a gay friendly area and this made me feel very safe.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if it is within your budget (it includes an awesome free breaky, although water should be providing along with top up of OJ).

If you are coming from the airport, we got a taxi for 200 pesos there (hotel offered one for 500 which we declined) then on the way back they offered 200 so we accepted, the driver tried to get 250 but I said the hotel had confirmed it was 200 so just be careful.

Follow our travels through Mexico, Central America, USA and Europe on www.thediaryentry.wordpress.com , we recently reviewed the city.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Madison B:


Thank you very much for sharing your experience with others through Tripadvisor
The opinions of our guests are always welcome, no doubt help us improve.

We note the taxi service and hope that your next visit again choose.
We will be waiting for them!

Regards,

Laura Cabral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Family trip in Mexico, we stayed at this funky little hotel. Good location, great service and very friendly staff. We got a great upgrade package to the penthouse suite after having stayed more than 2 days. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estefaniape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Estefania:

We agradeze much time taken to share your experience at our hotel. Your satisfaction is ours and makes us happy to read that the stay has fallen short of their expectations.

We look forward to looking you soon

Regards,

Laura Cabral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stylish space and friendly staff in fantastic location.
Despite the fact that the toilet seat was cracked and the in room stereo system did not work we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
First time with this brand and I would be interested in staying with them again, here or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with stereo system working
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
Thanks also for the suggestion and comments that you have made ​​us.

We hope you can visit other Roomies in countries like Holland, Buenos Aires, United States, Madrid, Italy and of course Spain.

Please contact us if you need any particular information.

It will be a pleasure to see you again in Valentina.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was a very nice hotel with great service. It is beautifully decorated and we found that the room that ended up with was quite large. The breakfast, served until noon, is tasty as well. This hotel is in a great area and it is very convenient to walk to nearby attractions and the metro station. It is important to note that this hotel is on the same block as about 4 night clubs. They were not terrible, but it was definitely loud on Saturday night.

Room Tip: The rooms are all on the front side of the building, you so cant get one facing away from the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valentina_direccion, Director de Recepción at Room Mate Valentina, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

Nos alegra mucho saber que disfruto su estancia en Valentina.
Esperamos verles pronto.

Un saludo de parte de todo el staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

It could do with a bit of paint and plaster in a few areas, but overall it's a funky design hotel, which we got at a great rate, and the location is perfect. Walking distance to a lot of the sights of Mexico City, from Downtown to Chupultepec Castle, into Roma Norte, and Zona Rosa.
The actual street it is on has a number of pumping gay bars, which is funny to walk down at any hour. But it made it safe and fine. We were on the fourth floor, and didn't find the noise disturbing.
We could hear our neighbours have sex, but we just took it as competition and went head to head. We won. If that doesn't reinvigorate your sex life, there's a few sex shops right outside for extra toys.
Good restaurants are also within walking distance.
On the down side- we weren't crazy about the breakfast at Valentina, a few cheap pastries, cereal and a heart attack inducing warm dish every day. And the rooms were cold, without heating (until especially requested) and only one thin blanket. So we ended up with horrible colds.
But the location, service at the front desk, and price get it four stars. Would go again (and ask for extra blankets on arrival).

Room Tip: We had a room away from the elevator, which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOSOTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#45 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Valentina

Property: Room Mate Valentina
Address: Calle Amberes 27 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#44 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Valentina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel in Mexico City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Valentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Valentina Hotel Mexico City
Marco Polo Mexico City
Hotel Marco Polo
Room Mate Valentina Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing