We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnifico.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #83 of 304 Hotels in Mexico City
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magnifico.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

From Jan,9 to Jan.12 I was a guest at the Metropol.I can say that this hotel is very good for the price,Room and bathroon were nice and very clean with plenty of towels and articles of toiletry,The room was big but I hated the color of one wall PectoBismol pink...The location is excellent only a block and a half from the Alameda park and Bellas Artes and close to Chinatown whith abundance of restaurants,I found the front desk personnel a bit cold but that is OK with me.Going to Mexico almost every year for the last 20 years and the first time at this hotel.I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    166
    115
    32
    14
See reviews for
72
108
41
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

I went to the Mexico City with my boyfriend for the New Year's Eve (which was btw. a lot of fun) and booked this hotel. I was very satisfied with the location and maintanance of the hotel. The room was spacious and clean, the bed very comfortable. Close to everything that we wanted to visit in the Mexico City.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
205 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We recently stayed there with a group pf 14 people for a week. Actually we had four days there and then went to Patzcuaro for Day of the Dead, returning for three more nights before leaving. The rooms were spacious. It was very well maintained. ALL of the staff were friendly and courteous. Saludos to Armando at the reception desk for being very attentive to any and all requests. Also to the manager of the bar who always remembered our drinks! Breakfast buffet each morning was great and besides they would do eggs and toast to order! Very accommodating. They even stored our extra luggage while we left for the 3 days without charge. We are taking another group of 14 people back in March 2013 and have already booked the hotel. Several great restaurants within walking distance...18 Portales, Romero's and Italianni's to name three. Several great coffee shops nearby as well. Yes, the Internet was iffy at first but we learned to use it in our rooms to get the best reception in the hotel! No problems.

Room Tip: Choose rooms along the back as the front is right on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegD1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I normally don't write reviews, but seemed it's necessary to share this info with travelers.
I read the reviews below and decided to give it a shot as I've been trying out different hotels in the area. And it was a total failure.
First, there was a blackout in the area and I had no electricity, no internet, whatsoever.
But, this isn't necessarily their fault. Ok.
The way they managed the situation, however, is horrible. It shows their service level. Or non-existing service.
Way before there even was a blackout, or before I realized it, when I tried to check-in, they said they cannot find my reservation. They said they will only be able to check it the next day and I will need to make a $45US deposit until they confirm. Ok. I was trying to be nice and gave them the money. And then as soon as I got up to my room, the whole blackout started....
In the morning, after waiting forever for the light to come back on, I went down to check out. No, they still don't know who to check with to confirm my reservation with Hotels.com. After waiting 30 mins, strongly asked for my money, and got it back.
And don't even think about getting any compensation for the whole night of blackout. Zero. Not even a restaurant coupon or anything.
And what's even worse? This tourist who also came down for another complaint told me that him and his wife got bug bites all over their body. Some kind of bed bug or something. He showed me one bite, and it was gross. and they got no compensation for it either. No hospital fee. No nothing. Just couple hours for the late check out. I don't think I would even want to stay there for even a minute more.
Hope this helps you make better decision.
(Just in case you are wondering then where did I move to, I went back to Hotel Marlowe I stayed couple days earlier. It's not amazing as a hotel itself, but compared to Metropol, heaven. Still very convenient location, and the rooms are clean. Quite small, but clean. Great value for money.)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Table View, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I found the location to be very good, just 3 blocks from Juarez metro and less than a 10 minute walk from the zocalo. Taxi were abundant and the traffic noise was only a factor for 1 row of rooms. The hotel itself was very clean and the room bigger than I expected. The bed were also very comfortable and the bathroom was big enough with a big shower. I did not use the restaurant so cannot comment on the food it serves. The one drawback was that the Internet desktops they have is not free to use but they do provide free internet.

There are a few restaurants around the corner but the best one was the Argentinian one (forgot the name) one corner opposite the 7-11.

All in all I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The single rooms facing Luis Moya have traffic noise while the rest of the rooms were quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had been traveling all over sothern Mexico. Our last two nights were in Mexico City at the Hotel Metropol. As we walked into the lobby with a shinny marble floor it was evident that this was a nice place. The desk was helpful and friendly, the lobby was impressive and the room was great. The room was large, clean and decorated well. The bathroom was large, clean and even had a tap with drinking water. It was quiet and nice. There is not air conditioning but Mexico city has warm dry days and cool dry nights so we didn't need air.

The hotel is located in the Central part of the city close to shopping and lots of things to see and do. It is also only a couple of blocks from the Metro. The metro is inexpensive and easy to use so the whole city was easily within reach.

When we return to Mexico City, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Father0f6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I recently stayed in Hotel Metropol with a couple of friends. We loved the location close to the zocalo, fine arts museum, etc. We were interested in going to Lagunilla open air antique market, so that was a fair walk, but otherwise it was centrally located to most of the places we wanted to see on our short visit. The staff was friendly and helpful, so that made it easier for us to get wherever we wanted to go. The value was there, and there were no untoward surprises. Highly recommended! No complaints at all.

Room Tip: There's going to be a bit of noise, and I don't know how to avoid it given the central locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#51 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#81 of 304 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#35 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#43 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#29 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Fleming
Hotel Fleming
#170 of 304 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Property: Hotel Metropol
Address: Luis Moya 39 | Zona Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropol 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In downtown Mexico City, one block from Alameda Central and Palacio de Bellas Artes, you’ll find Hotel Metropol here you can feel completely at home enjoying the contemporary installation an incomparable Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Metropol Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing