We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Segovia Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Segovia Regency
Ranked #91 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here during October 2012 for Corona Capital festival. I had never been to Mexico City before and didnt know my way around, so I picked this based on location and price, and I am glad I did.
The rooms in the hotel are pretty basic and no frills, but everything is comfortable and safe.
I was there to explore the city, not to hang out at the hotel, so I was just there to sleep.
The location is very good, with certain landmarks within walking distance , and with the subway just around the corner.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the Air conditioner since I went during October and didnt need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    110
    46
    12
    13
See reviews for
42
65
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahahual, Q. Roo Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Pros: The location is close to the city center and most of the city is accessible via the nearby metro. The price is excellent compared to other hotels in the vicinity. The hotel is very clean, the maid service and maintenance staff do a excellent job. It's safe due to the proximity of a police station. Room service. There's a bidet if your into that sort of thing.

Cons: The convenient location has a downside, it's on a very busy and noisy road which can be disturbing. We were asked at check in what side of the building we wanted, we chose the street view… our bad. This could fix this by installing a better window system. There is air conditioning, but you have to call to have it turned on. This also means you have to call to have it turned off (no controls in room). There are not many channels on the television. Towels are extremely small. It's all around old.

Overall, I feel like for the price it is a good option for the center of Mexico City.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

When in Mexico I have made it my practice to stay in hotels where Mexicans stay. I like the more personal service and smaller size of these places. This last trip I selected the Segovia Regency primarily because of its location. Right on the south edge of the Zona Rosa. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from dozens of restaurants and boutiques. Safe. Always well policed because this section of the Zona Rosa is a few blocks from the Federal Policia's headquarters.

My 6th floor room was comfortable though not large. It had a double bed, a bench, a desk and two night tables. The bathroom was quite spacious and equipped with shower and bidet. I was pleased to find that the housekeeping was of a high standard. The room smelled fresh and was spotless. It was quiet at night. Free wireless access and key card entry too.

The hotel has a small dining room with about 12 tables. I had my comida there after I arrived. The menu featured the standard Mexican dishes nicely presented, reasonably priced and tasting as though they had been freshly prepared by a chef who cared.

All the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful. I must single out the doormen who seemed to have an endless supply of wonderful taxi drivers at their beck and call. I rode up to the Santa Fe Mall - a 11 kilometre run - in a very comfortable SUV on one occasion. The morning of my departure I was treated to another spacious SUV which took me to the airport in grand style for half what I had paid to travel from the airport to the hotel when I arrived.

The one negative which didn't bother me but might put some folks off is the stretch of Chapultapec on which the hotel is located. The hotel is actually on the service road. Not much traffic. But the neighborhood looks like it is on the cusp of gentrification. A bit run down. Safe. But not very attractive.

Did I mention that you are a 5 minute walk to the Metro's Insurgentes stop? A little side bar here: I had heard lots of unkind comments about the Mexico City Metro and had avoided it for years. But I had a Mexican friend with me so we took the Metro down to El Templo Mayor on a Sunday morning. The Metro is spotless, well lit, well signed and at 3 pesos a true bargain. I felt as safe as I do in any great city.

The Hotel Segovia Regency offers a great location in the Zona Rosa without those high Zona Rosa prices.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south or back side of the building away from Chapultapec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRCOCHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This hotel is well situated just on the edge of the Zona Rosa where it is difficult to get affordable accomodation.It is 2 mins from the metro and was possible to walk to many attractions

It is not however a 4 star which it is advertised as. By European standards I would classify it as 2/3 star The rooms are a bit worn and the beds very hard. In saying that it is reasonable value and the staff were helpful. There is also separate supply of purified water to the room which is helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ActonStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Good prices, awesome staff. Rooms are okay not luxurious but they are decent the staff is totally awesome they were so kind and nice and the prices are good 700 pesos for a room with two beds and it was really clean

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

-bad shores experience: terrible toilet paper, hairdryer not working, low water pressure, smallest towels that i ever seen (at least there is 3, maybe i can make some origami to use them)
-price is ok, but its possible to find a better cost benefit option. definitively not 4 stars (as booking.com classifies it)
+have a good closet
+is good located (very close to metro station, but there's some leak of light in the path)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiago t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Good location and price, poor on the room quality and some floors smell a little bit smoky. I tried the breakfasts and they are tasty and filling for a good price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank RojasRamiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Condesa
Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Roosevelt
#102 of 305 in Mexico City
152 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Block Suites
Hotel Block Suites
#99 of 305 in Mexico City
135 reviews
Hotel Astor
#80 of 305 in Mexico City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hotel Castropol
Hotel Castropol
#69 of 305 in Mexico City
282 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#46 of 305 in Mexico City
416 reviews
Hotel Del Principado
#89 of 305 in Mexico City
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Segovia Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Segovia Regency

Property: Segovia Regency
Address: Avenida Chapultepec 328, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Condesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#58 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Segovia Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Segovia Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Segovia Regency Hotel Mexico City
Regency Mexico City
Regency Hotel Segovia
Segovia Regency Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing