We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”
Review of Posada Viena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Posada Viena Hotel
Ranked #104 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

In a good neighbourhood, convenient to the Insurgentes and Cuauhtemoc Metro station, close to Condesa and Roma areas. The place is clean, everything works, the staff is helpful and a lot of them speak English.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuanajuatoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    60
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
34
43
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Very Mexican hotel in a nice neighborhood, very quiet. MC was experiencing a cold spell & we froze at night! Our entire tour group asked for extra blankets! Staff was friendly & accommodating. Only 1 very thin bath towel per person, no hand towel. Very small bathroom & the only ventilation was a window & when the temperature is in the low 40's, that's not an option!
Good location, but don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casabear26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menorca
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel, with friendly service, comfortable rooms, attractive colouful mexican decor, no noise at night, in an area where you can eat cheaply but well at simple Mexican restaurants. The Argentinian restaurant downstairs was prohibitively expensive for us.

A few blocks away is the cross roads of Paseo de Reforma and Insurgentes and it was easy to bus it around the city.

I booked this hotel on the internet (Destinia) and got a room for three for little more than 40 $ US. If you turn up at the door the prices are quite a lot higher.

they have a couple of computers downstairs ( 40 pesos/hour, more expensive than I'd be using throughout Mexico, and they were a bit slow) and wifi.

I stayed here twice with my family and would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisMenorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I had problems with my phone and could not get a room at my preferred hotel in DF for a holiday weekend. Wound up here. The hotel was overpriced (700 pesos) for what you get. My room was dingy and needed a major cleaning. It had only been given only room change cleanings for a long time. I am not an overly picky traveler and have stayed in a lot of mid-priced hotels in Mexico that don't cater to American travelers. The sixties retro charm might be what people liked, beats me.

The real deal breaker was the stated policy by management to charge the maids for items taken by guests (see picture). This is deplorable. I can't have my money go to this and sleep well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunarTic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Hermosillo, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed at Posada Viena on November 4th and 5th with my wife on a business trip to busy Mexico City and we had everything we need. The hotel is basic not that fancy but also clean and that's all. Nothing outstanding to talk about... but we enjoyed only the room, everything decorated in very typical Mexican style colorful and bright athmosphere. A couple of small supermarket blocks away, and Reforma Avenue just a walking distance from this hotel. SAfe área where you can walk at night time with no worries.

Room Tip: Ask for your room with no window in front of the street , very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FEnriqueCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Zona Rosa is not the most beautiful neighborhood in Mexico City but it's definitely very convenient with a lot going on, close to the metro (which for me is the best way to move around in this huge city) and very safe. This hotel is a great value for the price. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is colorful and nicely decorated, without being luxury it's with no doubt a great choice. The only con was that the shower was very hard to regulate either with very warm water or cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

lovely staff
Due to personal circumstances I had to chance the reservation at the very last minute. The
staff were really good and helpful about this over the phone. When we arrived we were greeted very warmly by
each one of the people we dealt with. The room was spacious and clean. Very traditional Mexican
decor. At the restaurant the food was very good and the service 5 star. Lovely Mexican hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalclearLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Del Principado
#94 of 310 in Mexico City
495 reviews
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#97 of 310 in Mexico City
251 reviews
Juárez
Mision Express Zona Rosa
Mision Express Zona Rosa
#144 of 310 in Mexico City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Prix Hotel
#143 of 310 in Mexico City
248 reviews
Hotel Astor
#84 of 310 in Mexico City
144 reviews
Stella Maris
#113 of 310 in Mexico City
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Viena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Viena Hotel

Property: Posada Viena Hotel
Address: Calle Marsella Esq. Dinamarca 28 | Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Viena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Posada Viena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Viena Mexico City
Posada Viena Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing