We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Convenient, Charming and Safe!”
Review of Posada Viena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Viena Hotel
Ranked #99 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 4 August 2005

I was in Mexico City for more than 5 weeks (May-July, 2005) and Posada Viena was recommended to me by colleagues who stayed there in the past. I loved this little hotel, that quickly became a home away from home. The hotel is in an area of shops and small business colleges, about five blocks south of Paseo Reforma, and four block east of Insurgentes. I like its location much better than the more touristy (but nearby) Zona Rosa -- and the hotel's personnel are fabulous, including the front desk folks, the doorman, the local sitio taxi drivers, the waiters, and the cleaning staff. These friendly people helped me plan and execute a delightful pinata party on the hotel's rooftop for my group of visiting American students!

There is a substantial discount on published rates for people staying more than a week. I stayed in a large suite, but another colleague stayed in a smaller room and both of us were very satisfied. (One day I overheard a fussy American couple stomping out after previewing a reserved room -- huffing that there wasn't enough space in the bathroom for the lady's "toiletries." If you are that sort of person, I don't recommend straying far from the American chain hotels in Mexico City or any other country, for that matter.) I found the rooms simple, charming and well appointed. Ceiling fans were completely satisfactory, especially as the large windows open wide. Lots of folk art, including lovely Talavera pottery, scattered around the hotel.

In the neighborhood, there is the Benjamin Franklin Library, connected to the U.S. Trade Center, and if you are staying in Mexico City for a long period, the library is a wonderful place for catching up on home town newspapers and free short-term access to the internet. But we also became good friends with the operators of the small internet cafe (the closest one to the hotel, north on Dinamarca), with great computers for 12 pesos an hour. About three blocks away (just past the Wax Museum) is a supermarket, and there are lots of nearby small restaurants for mid-day meals. Within about a fifteen minute walk to the east is the Ciudadela, a huge folk arts & crafts market, that is very interesting, clean and safe during daylight hours. I also saw a top-notch production of Fiddler on the Roof, in Spanish of course, at a superb modern theater about two blocks from the hotel (ask at the front desk.)

I do recommend keeping the hotel's business card (or a helpful map the hotel offers) in hand while staying in Mexico City, as taxi drivers may not be familiar with the hotel's tucked away location without clear directions.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Summertyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Posada Viena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2005

It's not big, not fancy, and not loaded with amenities. But if you're looking for a clean, friendly, well-located basic hotel with loads of Mexican charm, you can't go wrong at the Posada Viena.

The hotel is on a fairly quiet street just two short blocks off the Reforma subway line. A 30-peso cab ride will get you almost anywhere within the Zona Rosa or Chapultapec Park. There's a pharmacy across the street for snacks and sundries (buy your bottled water here: it's a fraction of what they charge at the desk).

They've paid a lot of attention to the decor. The halls and rooms are loaded with Mexican character, due to the very detailed traditional decorative painting and typical local art. The rooms are furnished with basic amenities: TV, phone, mirrors, ample closets. You'll have to call downstairs for the iron. We stayed in a king suite, which included a small separate parlor area and a very comfortable new mattress. There's no AC, but the ceiling fan moved more than enough air even on hot July days.

Downstairs, there's an Argentine restaurant that has good-enough food and really fine service. It stays open until 11 most nights -- great if you arrive late and starving, as we did. The Internet and business center in the lobby offers the basics. (No wifi as of this writing.) The staff behind the desk is familial, friendly, efficient, and knows the city well. We were traveling as a mother-daughter team, and they were sweetly solicitous and protective of us throughout our stay. (The first evening, we got a 10 pm visit from one of the staff members, deeply apologizing in advance for the fact that they'd just checked several 10-year-old Little Leaguers into the room above ours. If we had any noise issues, they said, we were to let them know immediately. We didn't, but appreciated the thoughtful gesture.)

If you have the hotel call your cabs, they'll put you in a city-certified "sitio" taxi that charges about three times more than non-certified taxi. During the day, you may want to forego this luxury; but at night, -- especially if your party comprises women traveling alone or in pairs -- it's a worthwhile precaution. Sitio drivers pride themselves on their deep knowledge of the city, and often speak passable English. If you're looking for a tour guide or a little extra service, sitio cabs can be a worthwhile investment.

The prices listed here are rack rate; we negotiated much lower ones by calling ahead. You'll save even more if you can pay in cash.

It's a sweet little jewel of a tourist-class hotel that gives a lot for the low price.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Rooms
10  Thank RedAhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Director de Recepción at Posada Viena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank swaynero03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Director de Recepción at Posada Viena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Director de Recepción at Posada Viena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patricia_urquieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Gerente at Posada Viena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank joncarann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel V, Director de Recepción at Posada Viena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Del Principado
#103 of 312 in Mexico City
497 reviews
Condesa
Segovia Regency
Segovia Regency
#95 of 312 in Mexico City
254 reviews
Juárez
Mision Express Zona Rosa
Mision Express Zona Rosa
#144 of 312 in Mexico City
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Condesa
Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Roosevelt
#98 of 312 in Mexico City
158 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#62 of 312 in Mexico City
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Viena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Viena Hotel

Address: Calle Marsella | corner Dinamarca 28, Zona Rosa, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £31 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Viena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mexico City, is where posada vienna hotel, with a Mexican colonial style and very close to the most important avenues. We offer free wi-fi, parking, local telephone calls, national and some international free of charge, cafeteria service in "el rinconcito de la Juarez" and the restaurant "el asado argentino". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Viena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Viena Mexico City
Posada Viena Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing