We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #258 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good location”
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Hotel is well located, rooms clean but pretty basic. I had to unplug the tv to find a power point. There is free internet in the foyer and wifi in all the rooms for laptops.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    47
    48
    27
    23
See reviews for
31
31
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2007

This is a very nice place to stay for the price. It is an older hotel, but the room was clean every morning, the front desk staff went way out of their way to help me find things to do while I was there. The restaurant staff looked like they needed a break, because they looked like it was such a burden to serve you food. The front desk staff were polite, friendly, hilariously funny, and good people. The hotel is located about a block away from the Palacio de Bellas Artes, and maybe five blocks from the Zocalo. It is an excellent location. On many nights, I went walking downtown by myself, and nothing happened. I felt very safe. About a block away is the SEARS building, and if you go inside, and take the elevator to the 8th floor, there is a coffee shop with a balcony, and you can sip your latte and see the entire city. Overall, wonderfull experience at Hotel San Francisco.

  • Liked — Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff. Safe deposit boxes for valuables.
  • Disliked — Internet only worked in the lobby. Had to pay 60 pesos every night for internet after 5pm.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Hotel San Francisco is a good value in Mexico City, but you should be aware that it has some problems.

The main reason to choose Hotel San Francisco is cost. You can get a room with two full-size beds for just $40, by taking advantage of discounts that are perpetually available through Otel, Expedia, CheapTickets, and other sites. You cannot get this rate by showing up without a reservation -- the normal rate is about $70. If you can't get a room at a discount rate, don't bother -- there are better hotels in Mexico City.

The rooms seem to be in various states of remodeling -- I've had some nice rooms in this hotel, and some rooms where everything was stained and cracked. All of them were acceptable.

The hotel is on a side street, a five-minute walk from the metro, the Palacio of Bellas Artes, and the edge of the Centro Historico shopping area. The safety of the neighborhood is acceptable, but there are plenty of safer places to stay in Mexico City. (Go just a few blocks north of the hotel, and you'll be in the rough Col. Guerrero/La Laguanilla district -- not a safe place to be at night at all.)

The biggest problem with this hotel is all the construction in the neighborhood. The 1985 earthquake damaged or destroyed most of the buildings on the block where the hotel sits. The hotel was repaired and opened after about a year, but the building next door was razed and is only recently being reconstructed. Construction is loud, dusty, and begins early in the morning. At times, the street in front of the hotel is closed, and taxis must drop you a block away. Every once in a while, something happens to the sewer, and horrible-smelling sewer gas enters the rooms through the drains. The construction probably explains why this decent hotel in a safe neighborhood is so cheap.

The rooms in this hotel are constructed in a more "closed", carpted, sterile modern style, rather than in the traditional "open", tiled, ventilated Mexican style. This helps cut down on the construction noise, but you can still loudly hear it in the morning. You might ask for a room not facing the construction.

Beware that this hotel may have security and theft problems. The rooms do not have card-key locks like newer hotels have. On a recent stay, hundreds of dollars worth of silver was stolen from a friend's room. This wasn't enough to deter me from staying there again, because I carry nothing valuable, and every cheap hotel in Mexico City potentially has theft problems; however, be sure that you lock anything of value in the hotel safe.

Interestingly enough, Hotel Del Angel and Suites Del Angel are owned by the same management company as this hotel.

  • Liked — Price, met minimal standards of cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Construction in neighborhood, theft problems
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jcs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2005

We just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a vacation. The hotel is decent, although not overly impressive. The staff when we checked in were kind of rude, but the other staff in hotel were better for the remainder of our stay. The rooms were very clean and seem to have been recently painted. The bed was comfortable and we had a decent view, although the hotel is in the middle of a huge constuction project - it will be great in about 6 months when its done, but for now its kindof like living in an obstacle course as the streets are all dug up and detoured in neighborhood. Due to construction it was really noisy - clearly not the hotels fault. Also it was pretty hot in Mexico theis past week so the room was pretty hot at times and the first fan they gave us din't work well - they were nice abot replacing it with one that worked. Leaving the window open at night brought in uninvited guests - mosquitos so we learned to deal with the rom being kind of warm. Anyway, the place is decent - we got a great price for it through Hotwire and it is well located and provides a decent level of basic services.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2005

It was OK. Not very clean, but with exelent location. Most of the guests at the hotel are mexican, but the staff is frendly. And the price is very good.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krasiCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2004

We stayed at the SF hotel for 8 nights last week around Xmas. Our friend paid a little more than us and had a suite with sight over the City, whereas me and my fiancée had a crapy room overlooking a construction sight. My advice: ask for the 14th floor, not for the 11th!!! And above all, demand not to be in a room next to the elevator, it can be very annoying! We also had women cries (I let you imagine why...), children screams and construction noise early in the morning.
Appart from that, the hotel is a good value, considering its price (unbeatable), the service (very helpful staff, who found us an unforgettable last minute table for Xmas on the Zocalo and was always there to give us a hand) and the position in the center of everything.
I recommend it to students with little money like us, or first timers in Mexico City. We had a lot of fun in this hotel and in this amazing and wonderful city.

Helpful?
2 Thank benlerennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2004

All in all, it was an okay stay. Besides discovering a cockroach or two in the lobby of my floor, and the elevator malfunctioning, it was a good stay. The staff was friendly and ready to help 24 hours a day if I had a problem. The food was interesting-- I enjoyed it.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#79 of 305 in Mexico City
365 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#62 of 305 in Mexico City
378 reviews
Alameda
City Express Ciudad de Mexico Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
One Ciudad De Mexico Alameda
#30 of 305 in Mexico City
576 reviews
Alameda
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#92 of 305 in Mexico City
408 reviews
Alameda
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
Fiesta Inn Centro Historico
#26 of 305 in Mexico City
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel

Property: San Francisco Hotel
Address: Luis Moya No 11 | Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the heart of Historical Downtown, the most important cultural center in Mexico City, close to Bellas Artes subway station. Surrounded by Restaurants, Museums, Historical Monuments, Malls, Entertainment Centers, Night Clubs. Close to Juarez Avenue, one of the most important financial centers. To 30 minutes from international airport. If you want to know the Mexican Culture, you should start in this zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing