We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Francisco Hotel
Ranked #267 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I visit Mexico City several times a year on business, and have stayed here several times. The location couldn't be better, it is close to lots of public transportation, in a very safe area, near a large park/garden, with many reasonably priced restaurants nearby, as well as bookstores, coffee(!) drugstores, pretty much anything you need is within walking distance. The hotel is not fancy, but it clean and well-mantained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They maintain a couple of private taxi drivers who will come and pick you up anywhere at the time and place you specify and don't charge extra for picking you up no matter when or where. (Ask for Pepe or Jorge). There is a very nice restaurant downstairs with mid-range prices, good service. The only downside is that the TV's don't work that well, but I don't watch much TV so didn't really. The cost can't be beat for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2009

Like other reviewers of this hotel, you get what you pay for.

I really don't have any qualms with this hotel. It's quite basic, but for $40 it's what I would expect. The staff were quite helpful, though, in arranging cabs and informing us of what to do/see around the area. The Palace of Fine Arts is located only two blocks away. There is a park across the street.

Would I stay here again? Probably not since I enjoyed the neighbourhoods of Reforma much better. Nonetheless, if you're looking to save money, I would recommend the San Francisco Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

If I'd known that this hotel was full of tour parties and had whitewashed walls, I'd have paid a little extra and gone anywhere else. Reception is constantly busy, but its mainly because of large groups forever checking in and out. The rooms are particularly dull and staff seem to lack any kind of courteous behaviour. "Get them in, get them out" seems to be the attitude here. When I arrived back in Mexico City, I booked in elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cement2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Hotel is well located, rooms clean but pretty basic. I had to unplug the tv to find a power point. There is free internet in the foyer and wifi in all the rooms for laptops.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2007

This is a very nice place to stay for the price. It is an older hotel, but the room was clean every morning, the front desk staff went way out of their way to help me find things to do while I was there. The restaurant staff looked like they needed a break, because they looked like it was such a burden to serve you food. The front desk staff were polite, friendly, hilariously funny, and good people. The hotel is located about a block away from the Palacio de Bellas Artes, and maybe five blocks from the Zocalo. It is an excellent location. On many nights, I went walking downtown by myself, and nothing happened. I felt very safe. About a block away is the SEARS building, and if you go inside, and take the elevator to the 8th floor, there is a coffee shop with a balcony, and you can sip your latte and see the entire city. Overall, wonderfull experience at Hotel San Francisco.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Hotel San Francisco is a good value in Mexico City, but you should be aware that it has some problems.

The main reason to choose Hotel San Francisco is cost. You can get a room with two full-size beds for just $40, by taking advantage of discounts that are perpetually available through Otel, Expedia, CheapTickets, and other sites. You cannot get this rate by showing up without a reservation -- the normal rate is about $70. If you can't get a room at a discount rate, don't bother -- there are better hotels in Mexico City.

The rooms seem to be in various states of remodeling -- I've had some nice rooms in this hotel, and some rooms where everything was stained and cracked. All of them were acceptable.

The hotel is on a side street, a five-minute walk from the metro, the Palacio of Bellas Artes, and the edge of the Centro Historico shopping area. The safety of the neighborhood is acceptable, but there are plenty of safer places to stay in Mexico City. (Go just a few blocks north of the hotel, and you'll be in the rough Col. Guerrero/La Laguanilla district -- not a safe place to be at night at all.)

The biggest problem with this hotel is all the construction in the neighborhood. The 1985 earthquake damaged or destroyed most of the buildings on the block where the hotel sits. The hotel was repaired and opened after about a year, but the building next door was razed and is only recently being reconstructed. Construction is loud, dusty, and begins early in the morning. At times, the street in front of the hotel is closed, and taxis must drop you a block away. Every once in a while, something happens to the sewer, and horrible-smelling sewer gas enters the rooms through the drains. The construction probably explains why this decent hotel in a safe neighborhood is so cheap.

The rooms in this hotel are constructed in a more "closed", carpted, sterile modern style, rather than in the traditional "open", tiled, ventilated Mexican style. This helps cut down on the construction noise, but you can still loudly hear it in the morning. You might ask for a room not facing the construction.

Beware that this hotel may have security and theft problems. The rooms do not have card-key locks like newer hotels have. On a recent stay, hundreds of dollars worth of silver was stolen from a friend's room. This wasn't enough to deter me from staying there again, because I carry nothing valuable, and every cheap hotel in Mexico City potentially has theft problems; however, be sure that you lock anything of value in the hotel safe.

Interestingly enough, Hotel Del Angel and Suites Del Angel are owned by the same management company as this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jcs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2005

We just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a vacation. The hotel is decent, although not overly impressive. The staff when we checked in were kind of rude, but the other staff in hotel were better for the remainder of our stay. The rooms were very clean and seem to have been recently painted. The bed was comfortable and we had a decent view, although the hotel is in the middle of a huge constuction project - it will be great in about 6 months when its done, but for now its kindof like living in an obstacle course as the streets are all dug up and detoured in neighborhood. Due to construction it was really noisy - clearly not the hotels fault. Also it was pretty hot in Mexico theis past week so the room was pretty hot at times and the first fan they gave us din't work well - they were nice abot replacing it with one that worked. Leaving the window open at night brought in uninvited guests - mosquitos so we learned to deal with the rom being kind of warm. Anyway, the place is decent - we got a great price for it through Hotwire and it is well located and provides a decent level of basic services.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Alameda
Hotel Hidalgo
Hotel Hidalgo
#224 of 312 in Mexico City
28 reviews
Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
Ibis Mexico Alameda
#81 of 312 in Mexico City
436 reviews
Monaco Hotel
#164 of 312 in Mexico City
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alameda
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#80 of 312 in Mexico City
386 reviews
Centro Historico
Hotel Diligencias
Hotel Diligencias
#129 of 312 in Mexico City
114 reviews
New York Hotel
#211 of 312 in Mexico City
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francisco Hotel

Address: Luis Moya No 11 | Colonia Centro, Mexico City 06050, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Alameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range: £27 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Francisco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the heart of Historical Downtown, the most important cultural center in Mexico City, close to Bellas Artes subway station. Surrounded by Restaurants, Museums, Historical Monuments, Malls, Entertainment Centers, Night Clubs. Close to Juarez Avenue, one of the most important financial centers. To 30 minutes from international airport. If you want to know the Mexican Culture, you should start in this zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Francisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Mexico City
San Francisco Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing