We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay, stay on a low floor. There are better choices.”
Review of Hotel Del Prado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Prado
Ranked #259 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Altadena, California
1 review
“If you stay, stay on a low floor. There are better choices.”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

It takes about 20 minutes to get an elevator so stay on a low floor in case you need to walk. Internet service pretty much non existent. There is no gym, no minibar. This hotel is mainly for Pemex employees.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffer1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    16
    24
    18
    17
See reviews for
11
4
5
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Rooms and breakfast are good with many options.
There's no safe in rooms. There's no gym,

There's nothing close. The mall attached to the hotel has bad resturants and only fast foods are an option. Careful: most close at 8:30 or 9:00 pm. Prefer Polanco region.

There's no regular taxi available (they say it's dangerous in the street) and the touristic taxi avalilable costs twice as the regular price. For example, I went to Plaza Carso for 120 pesos and got a taxi there to come back, which cost only 65 pesos.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSC-SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

panama
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I don't have words to say "thank you" to all the staff of Del Prado Hotel, Great Value for an extraordinary service, Huge rooms with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdelpozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I made my reservation after seeing the internet home page for this hotel. The rooms seem nice, elegant and the lists of services also seem great. But it was a huge disappointment when I enter into my room... the room is big, but that's all! It's an empty space! There isn't any decoration, they are like prison cells. There aren't any lamps, so if you want to read before going to sleep, bring a light. The TVs don't have remote control, and they are small, ugly and very old. The internet description says that there are fast internet connection, iron, coffee maker and dryer in room every room, they are all lies. The personnel at the front desk are rude and they tend to pass the hot potato to the next one, just to see if you get tired on your complaint. The food is terrible in the restaurant. Tomorrow I'll go look for another hotel, maybe Marriot or Hilton. I will never return here. Don't ever come to this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KillerWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Liked the hotel for its large rooms with complete amenities, access to a shopping area right next to the hotel and also the good customer service from all staff at all times. Great city views from the top floors were a luxury too :)

One drawback was that Wifi was only from the lobby as I didnt hook up the signals from a top floor and also the lockers to be used guests were to keep a deposit, which was a bit absurd for me. The rates were ok I would say though could have been a bit lesser.

Otherwise it was right in the middle of taxi and public transportation areas and within close distance to city centre.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hishamlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Without exception, this was the worst hotel I have ever experienced in any price range.
The front desk staff was ignorant of the most basic particulars of the hotel, rude and incompetent. This was not just my experience but that of countless conference attendees who could be found in the lobby at any hour beseeching staff members to give them a room with running water, lights, a key that worked, internet service that they had paid for.
All of these things went wrong, constantly and consistently through the week, and we all learned the one response we could count on was "could you come back in five minutes."
Moreover with the "free" breakfast apparently reheated for days on end, and nearly inedible, dim lighting, rock hard pillows, air conditioning that stopped working midweek, elevators that broke down between floors, every aspect of staying there represented a challenge.
We all felt as if we had been released from jail when we checked out.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — The horrific rude incompetent front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkRamblinwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2008

I just moved in April 16 2008. Yes room is large and I am on 5th floor looking East.. Beds are a bit soft, A/C a bit noisy but adequate. There is only one 110 V power plug in the room, and you have to turn on the light on entering to make it work. Wi-Fi is available 2-5th floors but no higher for 80 pesos/24 hours.Food in El Cafe strictly Mexican but good, although lunch noisy with band playing guitar/bass. Testaurant open at 7AM, closes at 10PM, but some resurants in same mall open until 11PM. Water pressure irregular and spurts with air. Remarkably few English speakers on staff, but otherwise friendly. Tourist authority advised against the neighborhood but I walked around without trouble at 5PM. As a business hotel, only so-so!

Walter

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Grenoble-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel del Bosque
#157 of 305 in Mexico City
54 reviews
Hotel Park Villa
#194 of 305 in Mexico City
44 reviews
Laila Hotel CDMX
#92 of 305 in Mexico City
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#146 of 305 in Mexico City
170 reviews
Fiesta Americana Mexico Toreo
#22 of 305 in Mexico City
143 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Prado

Property: Hotel Del Prado
Address: Avenida Marina Nacional 399 | Col Veronica Anzures, Mexico City 11300, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Prado 3*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Del Prado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Prado Hotel
Hotel Del Prado Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing