We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #76 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too noisy”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel is 45 yrs old it's been moderately renovated. Rooms are okay but hallways look a bit old..
The biggest downside is that when inside your room you feel like you're outside in traffic. You can literally hear every car that passes by as if it were right beside you. Hopefully i'll be able to sleep..

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paolardzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    427
    273
    119
    85
See reviews for
104
151
65
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was in this hotel for a trade show and I have no experience in any other Mexican hotel to compare with, so I can only say that this hotel is better than average comparing to many standard American businessman hotels. There is a bit of similarity to a Caribbean type of resort hotel but with an atmosphere that the hotel is primarily for conventions and business affairs. The lobby is always busy with lots of ambience of noises because of low ceilings. The noise in the lobby is funneled to upper floors by an open shaft adjacent to the elevators. There is an air of spaciousness as the hall ways are wide. The rooms are huge by any international standard.

There are many restaurants in the hotel, including one by Morimoto the American Iron Chef. I only had the buffet breakfast and a quick supper in the ground floor restaurant though I have walked in to the fancier restaurants on the upper floors for quick peaks. The upper floor restaurant appear to be of more expensive and high end. The food in the ground floor restaurant is average at best. The breakfast consists of standard fare such as a limited choice of delicatesan and two types of eggs. Most of the buffet choices are of Mexican food variety of haricot basis which I avoided in fear of gas attack especially my stay in the hotel was for trade show participation. The spaghetti bolognesse for dinner is below expected grade for its price. The amenities in the room is very good. I avoided drinking any water so I only drank beer which was priced very reasonably at about $5.00.

The mattress is semi firm, a bit soft for those with weak backs especially after long hours of trade show attendance. The bath room is of medium size to big highlighted by a nice glass enclosed and red granite walled shower stall equipped with a wide rainfall shower head. I stayed under the shower for half an hour comfortably after the gruesome punishment of trade show standing daily.

My last night of hotel stay was spent in the hotel's dance club near the china grill restaurant after having noted so many beautiful and young well proportioned Hispanic ladies all dressed in black mini mini skirts and with spiky high heels, waking upstairs to some restaurants. If not because of the terrible back pain in my back arising from eight hours of standing in my trade show booth, I would have thought I was in a very chic London dance club that I once had visited. On the whole, the hotel is above average of a standard American businessman hotel.

Located just a block away from the Chapultepec park---the biggest city park in north America, the hotel is just 10minutes walk from the Castillo, museum of modern art, museum of anthropology and the rifino Tamayo museum. The anthropology museum is ranked very highly in the world and is well worth a visit if you have 2 hours to spare.

The back door of the front entrance opens to another busy boulevard, across this heavily traversed one way street, there is a tuck store similar to 7/11 where one can buy prepared sandwiches, pops and distilled water. I bought a 10.2 liter water bottle for my 5 day stay in the hotel so I could drink and brush my teeth with no fear of any expected stomach attack from local tap water.

The concierge and bell service personnel all speak English who have been very helpful to me during my stay. I was left with a good feeling when I checked out this hotel. No complaint at all.

Room Tip: There are four museums within 10minutes walk from the hotel, if you have two hours only, give the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Like Mexico City itself, this hotel is vast and a bit tiring to get around. Designed by Ricardo Legorreta in the brutalist style, its huge concrete walls, painted in traditional Mexican colours, make for an experience not unlike entering a railway station or large theatre. It is impressive in its scale, but rather charmless. The whole place lacks natural light and requires long walks between its many restaurants and bars (many of which are good). As for the facilities themselves: a well appointed (though gloomy) room. Room service worked well enough. Wifi broke down twice - not acceptable when this is a charged service here, though in fairness my charge was waived after I raised the issue. Late checkout til 1400 was no problem but we were charged half day for a 1700 departure. Fair enough i guess. Overall it was comfortable, but after 6 days here, I was happy enough to say goodbye. At least, unlike many other modern hotels, the cavernous CR is not quite so easily forgettable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been here for 8 nights now. several nights have had the bar playing thumping music until 5am. I have just been down and asked them to turn the bass down but nothing has been done. I have had the internet disappear until the next day 4 times and whenever I have reported it they just tell me they have called an engineer. The internet is slow when it works. The staff are not very helpful on the phone and just keep transferring you to other people without telling you what they are doing. Overall very poor!

Room Tip: Away from the bar!! My room was 2106
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Large bustling hotel with no real flow to the lobby or rooms. Spread out so distance to rooms can be an issue. Real problem here is tired fittings and fixtures. Aircon was like having a truck in the room, wifi was weak and small touches like no coffee maker, water in room.
Food okay, fortunately a quick walk to Polanco restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
668 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed for a week for business meetings. The location was in the business area so a lot of conventions and meetings happening all at once. Our whole group was booked in all smoking rooms so i got a lot of complaints from the team. Food in the hotel restaurants was average to poor though.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the ground floor are smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is very big, and thus not very cozy / romantic. OK as a business hotel but for a couples stay i found it very cold, not cozy and the staff lacking.

we had specifically ordered/requested gluten free food to accomodate a severe allergy. once we were there staff was unaware and not very helpful. their idea of a suitable diet is: eat fruit or yoghurt...
at check out we had a long argument over lunch from other guests that were charged to our room, again staff wasnt very helpful.

at the prices they charge you expect a very helpful, 4-5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weirdo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#15 of 305 in Mexico City
1,210 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 305 in Mexico City
1,070 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing