We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camino real Polanco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #74 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Camino real Polanco”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Beautiful display of modern mexican arquitecture, but the rooms need a little facelift.
Comfortable hotel with all the expected ammenities, and good location in polanco, but not as many restaurants within walking disctance as other hotels in the area. However, if you're traveling for business, you might just want to dine at the hotel, which has a lot of great choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    440
    276
    122
    85
See reviews for
107
156
65
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here on business, with a reservation on the Club Floor; was upgraded to a bi-level suite, which was very large. Decor of the hotel is spare, modern, and very Mexican. If one is looking for opulence like a Four Seasons or Ritz Carleton, this is not that sort of place. Instead it has modern take on Mexican motifs, and does that well. The restaurants in the hotel are excellent, and the location is very good, too. Staff in the 5th Floor executive lounge was very helpful, and the lounge itself was small, but offered snacks and drinks and a good, but not great, breakfast, and the service there was courteous and bilingual. Overall, a very fine stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Though business was my purpose, I did a considerable amount of exploring, and the Camino Real was excellent for that. It is located in the Polanco district, where there is an abundance of shops and restaurants, very comfortable walking.
The hotel, itself, is large, sparkling clean, well decorated and friendly. I was a little disappointed that there was no on-site shop, per se, but there are several 24 hour small stores within easy walking distance...as in several hundred yards.
Great gym/work out facilities, if you like.
Room was excellent, and maid service thorough and accommodating.

This hotel would also be excellent for family, and I found rates reasonable

Room Tip: All good, none that I saw with any particular view...though there at that location, none really exis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Firstly we arrived at about 1AM with young children after a 30 hour journey from the other side of the world. For about 1 hour the useless reception staff delayed and stalled and generally tried not to find our reservation... first impressions!
The room we stayed in was decorated in a very old and dark style. Illumination is terrible and its easy to lose things, however this is probably part of the plan. All sorts of characters will visit your room throughout the day, to check the mini-bar, to clean,(which was OK), but then there are the others ...to check the quality of the cleaning, to adjust the curtains and god knows what else. After we left the place we discovered that we no longer had my watch, and some of my wife's jewellery...consequently we've re-christened the place "The Criminal Real"...in short, don't leave anything lying around.
Tried a few times to eat at Bice Bistro and like other reviews I've read the quality of service was appalling.
Laundry was a joke. Rarely were the laundry bags and cards left in the room and some of the things went missing. This turned out to be our fault because we hadn't filled out the non-existent card.
Nothing that you'd get for free at similar hotels was free here: water in the room, and internet all cost extra (a lot extra)
You get the impression that the staff are so busy grovelling for tips to the greasy local high life that they haven't got time for ordingary people.

Good things are the buffet breakfast in the main restaurant downstairs, and the China Grill. That's it. Would we go back - never.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel is an old cement-block, maybe from the 1950-60's. My small room, with a view of slum, was $179 (w/tax). I didn't realize until after I had paid and asked for wifi password, that I had to pay another $20/day for internet. And I had to go back down to the lobby to pay - couldn't pay from web browser. I've never seen a hotel-airport charge so much for a room, and then provide absolutely no free internet anywhere - not even in lobby. I had to pay for internet just to find out my flight time for the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlettk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We checked in very late into the hotel and check out early so my experience is limited. The check in process and messy and slow but worked in the end. The hotel is huge and so are the rooms. The rooms were comfortable and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. I didn't use room service or housekeeping - given the language challenges, this could have been interesting.
Use one of the restaurants and it was good .
The check out again took some time but worked in the end. The pool looked nice and so did the other facilities. Again, has no time to try anything.

The hotel is expensive and value for money is not clear as this is the only hotel I have stayed in in Mexico City. Location seemed central .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been staying here a couple of times a year for the past 15 years. Clearly the hotel is deteriorating and is now overpriced. The hotel is very spacious, and occupies prime real estate near Reforma and Polanco. Room rate was US$175 plus an additional $10 per day for internet.

The room I occupied was in a different wing than I had stayed in previously and on the 4th floor. The room was shabby and showed it's age, especially the bathroom. Most rooms have walk in showers, this one had a tub with shower. Unless you like to take a bath, request a room with walk in shower.

There are many good restaurants at the hotel, but they too have become overpriced. We ate breakfast in the main restaurant on the first day and experienced very slow service. We were seated in what can only be described as the main thorofare into the restaurant, and we were generally ignored for at least 10 minutes. The experience at the buffet where you ordered eggs can only be descibed as chaotic.

On the second day we ate breakfast at Bice. This was a business meeting. The waiter can only be described as bungling and intrusive. Interrupting our conversation on several occasions, knocked my knife on to the floor and didn't bother to replace it until I had to ask for a new one. I ordered eggs florentine which was totally bland and tasteless.

As always at this hotel, the bellmen were excellent and very keen to assist. The attitude of the front desk staff at check in and checkout was quite unfriendly. No welcome, no appreciation for the business.

We also ate at the BeefBar and the China Grill, both were excellent, but expensive. Although I should add that the menu at the China Grill does not include many chinese dishes.

Sorry to say that we will be using one of the many newer hotels on future visits to Mexico City.

Room Tip: Ask a room that faces into the courtyard to avoid street noise. If you like a walk in shower request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJS0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,979 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#18 of 310 in Mexico City
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#9 of 310 in Mexico City
1,092 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 310 in Mexico City
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing