We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area for Mexico City - central to good resturants and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #77 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice area for Mexico City - central to good resturants and quiet”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Been here for the week and its been a good one thus far. No time for vacation all business, so breakfast service is important to me. Buffet service was good, fresh, and good turnover. Wait staff very attentive and timely. A great way to start the day. Rooms were nice size and comfortable. Of course being out late as such tends to clouds one's judgement; but the beds were to my liking with a bit of firmness and cushy. Slept well each night. Downside is parking, lack there of for a reasonable price. Garage parking was availalbe but it will cost you. What are you going to do, you're in Mexico City so you know all space is at a premium. This is a good hotel, and will stay here again on next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowthepathCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    425
    273
    119
    85
See reviews for
104
151
65
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a large, rambling hotel situated on the edges of the Polanco district. The hotel staff are nice, for such a large hotel, and the breakfast is excellent - the widest range of fresh fruit and vegetable juices that I have encountered anywhere! The location is not the best if you like to wander around the area, although Chapultepec and Polanco are not that far away. Watch if you arrive in the wee hours after a long flight, as there is an unexpected flight of stairs down to the lobby . . .easy to trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rothar-gorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have stayed here twice but will not go back. After arriving at one a.m. I found no bottled water in the room (the room bar was locked) and most of the bed's decorative cushions were on the floor. Obviously the staff didn't expect the room to be occupied.

There was nothing in the room listing the hotel restaurants or other amenities. I wandered around until forced to ask for help (sorry, I don't give tips just because they can't put up a few signs).

Breakfast buffet excellent, Morimoto's outstanding with the best service I have ever seen, Bice Bistro appalling in food and service.

Staff varied from friendly to grumpy to downright rude. The charge for Internet is ridiculous considering that it only worked occasionally in my room.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, bit expensive but great spaces, great services and good restaurants . The not so good thing its nothing near or walking distance but a lot of restaurants to choose from

The gym its a bit small but good for a road trip...............

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Checked into this hotel on a business trip but came on Friday evening to enjoy a weekend in the city. Very friendly service, all staff make a point of saying hello in the halls, and most speak enough English to help you get by. Booked a trip through the concierge to the pyramids on Saturday. Fair price and a nice day. Hotel was build in the 1960s but has been maintained. Not a cookie cutter typical business hotel. Six restaurants, a bit pricey for Mexico, but good food. Hotel is very clean, nice heated pool. I will come back to this hotel on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ppetrovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

For my 2nd business trip to Mexico, I had a chance to stay in this hotel as the other choices were fully booked. I wasn't mightily impressed with what I experienced over 6 nights.

1) When I checked in on the morning of 10th Feb 2014, the lady manning the reception probably wasn't in good mood. She didn't even bother to smile at me while pulling a long face throughout the check in. I told her that my name was wrong and I thought she would make amendments to it. I was wrong because when I checked out, I realised my name on the bill was still wrong. I told her to amend it but didn't expect her to throw the old piece of bill (with the wrong name) in front of me. Yes, it was the same lady attending to me during check in & check out. Customer service is non existent!

2) Next up, the dreaded walk to the hotel room. As many reviews on this webpage mentioned, the walk to the room can be quite long. I estimated mine to be about 150 meters from the elevator. So that's a walk of 300 meters everyday to & fro my hotel room.

3) The room wasn't in the best condition and you can see it's age. There were no complimentary water, no room slippers, no toiletries. And the room was very dark with inadequate lightings. I got a room that was facing the road and the honking from the vehicles starts at 7am and there is no chance you can get decent sleep.

After all the bashings, let's give it credit when it's due.

1) The breakfast is simply excellent! The service at the restaurant was good and so were the food. It had a generous spread every morning and I never once got tired of the selection of food throughout my 6 mornings.

2) Though the room was old but the bed and pillows were very comfortable. I rested well throughout my 6 nights of stay.

If you do not mind lousy service, long walk to a dark and gloomy room go for this hotel. But I probably will not stay here again if I was given a choice.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room facing the road unless you want "automated alarm" from honking cars a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinjalanjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have been at this hotel so many times I cannot count them. I always get a room in the upper floors looking over the interior garden (and pool) but far away from the elevators and pool to have privacy.
They have a little terrace to smoke a cigar, drink a cognac, have breakfast. The birds in the trees are so loud in the morning they will wake you up. Like if you were in the country side.....except that you are right in the middle of the city!
Service could be better but is good. The hotel's overall architecture by Legorreta is phenomenal with a museum quality mural by Tamayo that will leave you speechless. The restaurants in the hotel are very good and the taquerías within a few block (in particular Los Panchos) absolutely fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#14 of 305 in Mexico City
1,209 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 305 in Mexico City
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 305 in Mexico City
1,067 reviews
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 305 in Mexico City
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing