We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a terrible disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Ranked #76 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a terrible disappointment!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I have been staying at this hotel while on my business trip in the city; I have been more less satisfied with the service and even got a Circulo Real membership (free of charge)... I repeated my stay as the location is very convenient for my daily meetings in the area.

I have chosen this hotel again this year, in May, as I was going to meet a family member there and we'll be spending the week-end together. No! It was a nightmare since the day 1:
Terrible front desk attitude, smelly room, old mattress... I had to change room the next day as it hurt my back and got headache. The wifi is very expensive so I did not used it, they charged me a fee to print the boarding pass when the guest service staff confirmed over the phone there was no charge to get the document printed... and much more situations I had that made me decide I will no longer stay at that hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the ground level. Don't use internet nor room service, it is very expensive. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    434
    275
    119
    85
See reviews for
105
155
65
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay in Mexico City. In the Polanco neighborhood, close to some amazing restaurants however if you wanted to stay in, they had multiple restaurants at the hotel as well. I was not that impressed with their breakfast however their other meals were perfectly acceptable. The room was clean, comfortable and a good size though nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Last time I stayed at this hotel was around 12 years ago, and It looks the same! Can’t believe the old, cold and uncomfortable it is, well and not to talk about the expensive it is. A shame, I was expecting that this hotel as is part of the few Top Mexican born hotels it was going to be a nice experience. How about 10 steps to go down to the front desk with your suitcase and nobody to help? The restaurant was famous because of their breakfast buffet, well it is no longer a surprise and if you ask for a bottle of water they charge it to you for 355ml at almost 3 Euros!!! without advice!
Bad service, bad food, bad facilities, worst choice ever! There are a lot better hotels in this beautiful city than this.

Room Tip: Be careful the WIFI is over expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOSE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Longmont, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a horrible two day stay. Checked in and had issues with reservations. Then was booked on fifth floor and the ceiling in hallways had holes and the cement falling and chipping. Keep in mind this is a $200 plus US hotel a night. Had to pay for internet and it was spotty and kicked you off when utilizing.
Service in hotel eateries was slow.
Perhaps the most ridiculous aspect of my stay was the front desk staff including the front desk supervisors. They are not helpful, argumentative and don’t know anything about customer service. When checking out disputed different nightly rates for the stay and also over $1000 US in room charges billed to my room. They argued about the charges. About one hour later they finally took them off—I agreed to pay different nightly rate as I had to catch a flight. There are other hotels in the area that have better service and customer service. Terrible place to stay.

Room Tip: Watch the bill and nightly charges. Make sure you bring all documentation with you as you may ahve s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayF001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Camino Real Polanco for one week on business in July 2014.

It is a very large establishment, with a bit of a resort feel (three swimming pools and numerous high end dining options). The location is ideal, in between Polanco and Avenida de la Reforma business district, and walking distance to Ave. Presidente Masaryk. The room was very nice and well equipped, with a great shower in the bathroom. It is starting to show its age a little bit, however, the carpets in the hallways in particular in need of a refresh.

I very much enjoyed the decor (lots of electric colours and interesting artwork), and especially the Blue Lounge (see attached photo), with seating on a glass floor over a water feature.

Overall, great for a business trip, but maybe too much of a convention hotel feel if I were staying in the DF on vacation.

Room Tip: Try to get a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARTN413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

For someone on the go behind the hotel is Circle K, GNC, Subway, Mexican Cantina style restaurant. Not far from Cinema. The huge park across the street is nice. Great place if on business. Very helpfull staff. Nice pool and a great gym. Internet is very touch in go in the rooms but works in the lobby if you can't get a good signal in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great place to stay for business! Gardens, no noise from the traffic--self contained with multiple restaurant choices, pool and a fantastic gym! Room and bathroom are spacious, great amenities, including an iron! No complaints--highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms if you ask but I prefer the inside atrium--I could even hear birds chirping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FcvtptradingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#17 of 309 in Mexico City
1,215 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#11 of 309 in Mexico City
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
InterContinental Presidente Mexico City
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#8 of 309 in Mexico City
1,076 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 309 in Mexico City
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Polanco Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Polanco Mexico

Property: Camino Real Polanco Mexico
Address: Liebnitz 100 Col Anzures | Colonia Anzures, Mexico City 11590, Mexico (Formerly Camino Real Mexico City)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Polanco Mexico 4*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Polanco is unique architectural concept, created by highly-regarded architect Ricardo Legorreta. This space is considered a Hotel-Museum for its beauty and art collection. It opened its doors to the public on July 25, 1968, combining modern features with shapes clearly reminiscent of Prehispanic pyramids, the elements of which merge together to create a wonderful architectural work. Camino Real Polanco has hosted two soccer World Cups and the Olympic Games, as well as over 210 official visits from presidents and kings from all over the world. Category 5 Stars / 4 Diamonds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camino Real Polanco Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Camino Real
Camino Real Polanco Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing