We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful enclave in a bustling city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #19 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A peaceful enclave in a bustling city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

My partner and I just spent three very nice nights at the Casa Gonzalez. It was my second visit to Casa Gonzalez and I wouldn’t consider any other place in Mexico City.

The hotel is built from two or three classic homes. It seems absolutely secure and convenient to Chapultapec park and the Zona Rosa, but on a very quiet street in a residential, not a commercial street. There are lots of nice restaurants very nearby to choose from. It is also incredibly convenient to the British and US Embassies. The ten-minute walk to the Insurgentes Metro station is along the pedestrian only Calle Genova.

A light breakfast is included in the price; a very good full breakfast is available for 60 pesos (about $5 US). Lunch and dinner is also available in the hotel dining room. We had dinner there one night, and it was very good. Sharing breakfast with the other international travelers gives a good perspective on the city and the world.

Room Tip: street-facing rooms might be a bit noisy. There is a wide variety at different prices. Let Jorge hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gogotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    238
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
116
232
91
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I recently stayed for several nights after a family member helpfully recommended Casa Gonzalez as his favourite hotel in Mexico City. The hotel has a pleasant, home-like atmosphere and friendly staff. My room was bright, simple and clean. The one downside was the window facing the street. I was warned that this could be noisy . . . there wasn't heavy traffic at night, but a room with courtyard-facing window would probably be a more peaceful option if available. The hotel is in a nice location, within easy walking distance of the Angel, the Zona Rosa neighbourhood and the Metro. There was plenty of foot traffic and I always felt comfortable walking around during the day and evening. Chapultepec Park is about half an hour away on foot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street - if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaykay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My boss and me from Taiwan visit casa Gonzalez, Olivia and all the personal there did very good job with my boss who only speak Chinese and a bit English, I really like the attitude and if I have to go back again, we sill stay in the same place, excellent location, service and clean. Thanks

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sales G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Casa Gonzalez is a lovely place to stay in Mexico City. We stayed for 2 nights, and found the main staff to be very courteous, helpful and friendly.

The rooms were simple and clean, complete with in-room safe. The beds were on the small side, so be prepared to fight for space with your partner if you are tall/wide. The hotel has a lovely courtyard with a fountain, and beautiful ivy covering the walls. There is also free internet at reception.

The included continental breakfast was fantastic - served in a lovely dining room with stained glass windows, you get a plate of fruit, sliced fresh baguette with butter and jam, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. They also offer an additional menu for 60 pesos, and you can choose from different styles of eggs, granola and yoghurt, pancakes, and even mole eggs!

The location is excellent - a few hundred metres away from the Paseo de la Reforma and also all the great restaurants and shops of Zona Rosa. The energy of the area is really vibrant and good, is perfectly safe and contains many things that would interest a traveller - and we found it easy to get public transport down Reforma to the museums, etc. You can even walk to the Museo Antropologica, about 20-25 mins walk (depending on how acclimatised you are to the altitude at that stage). If I were to return to Mexico City, I would not stay anywhere else! Absolutely tops!

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading for a room away from the street for extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkonin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for your most kind review, we greatly appreciate your comments.
We are already in the process of replacing all the beds, and renewing furniture.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed at Casa Gonzalez in September in order to take the GRE at the Mexico City test location. It is in a great area, within walking distance of tons of shops, restaurants and bars. I felt very safe walking around at night, and I was even able to walk to the testing center (great for those going to the city for TOEFL, GRE, GMAT, etc.) . Just seconds away from the US and British Embassies, a few blocks from the famous statue of el Angel de la Independencia, I would absolutely recommend it to any traveler. It has great places to sit throughout the hotel, and many rooms have balconies with tables to relax and read, or just enjoy the atmosphere. They have beautiful courtyards filled with blooming flowers - you would never guess that you are in the middle of a huge city! The staff is very friendly, and they offer free internet access on three very new and fast computers in the reception. They are extremely helpful and speak English very well. The rooms are simple but comfortable. I would like to thank Jorge especially for his rapid and friendly emails in order to make the reservation

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMiddleton_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Casa Gonzalez is a very quiet place with a friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is located in a lively neighbourhood: the heart of the pink zone is at walking distance (5 mins); it was nice to spend the saturnday night there (lots of restaurants and bars)!
We stayed in room 106 (ground floor, facing the patio), that was good value for money.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mario C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

A friend recommended Casa Gonzalez. We were there for 3 nights and it was a great place to stay. We originally asked for a small double bedroom not facing the street but ended up getting a regular double room. The room we got was HUGE. It had an adjacent room with 3 beds and a bathroom. More than what we needed. We ended up arriving in Mexico City extremely early (8 am) so we asked if we could check in early. Jorge assured us that we could get access to our room at any time. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were very well maintained.

A continental breakfast of fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, bread, and tea or coffee was included with the room. For an additional 60 pesos, you could opt for a warm breakfast of eggs, chilaquiles, omelet or some other standard Mexican breakfast. They also offered lunch and dinner possibilities as long as you reserved in advance. I’m not sure if it’s necessarily worth getting the meals at the hotel since there are so many food stalls and markets just around the corner with great food (weird tacos like brain, lung and tongue as well as chicharrons) for less than a third of the price. However, you can meet a lot of interesting (and not so interesting) people eating at the breakfast table, which contributes to the Bed and Breakfast atmosphere.

In the evenings, you can lounge around in the vast courtyard and buy a beer from the front desk. There are three computers by the front desk where you can print your boarding passes or do any other type of computer related work. Internet access is reliable.

The location is perfect. It’s a few blocks from the subway (Insurgentes) which can get you to anywhere in the city. It’s also not too far from the National Museum of Anthropology which is definitely worth a visit. Since the Casa is close to the US Embassy and across the street from the British Embassy, you feel relatively safe with all the police walking around the area. I would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegHiroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#28 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#23 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing