We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely casa in Zona Rosa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #25 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane Australia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely casa in Zona Rosa”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We are v happy here though our room is beside the street -a bit noisy. There is internet wifi in the room though can only get it to work in reception. Hot water in shower seems to be on a timer - runs out fast. Walking distance to many restaurants. Safe in room is good. Breakfast good continental juice, bread, tea, bread and jam.
Laundry was done promptly and delivered to our room 25ps a kilo. Wifi worked well in lobby. It is also possible to order meals at night - menu del dia.130 ps a head incl soup, mains and glass of wine. Bus just a couple of blocks. Metro a few more.
Staff are helpful - booked our bus tickets to the next destination.

Room Tip: Request a room away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your most kind review, I apologize it was not answering immediately. I want to let you know that based on your opinion we have replaced our Wi-Fi equipment and the signal should be better in all rooms. Old houses have thick wall that are not good for WiFi.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    247
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
122
240
94
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We are blessed to have stayed at refined, genuine Casa Gonzalez. It is so near to everything - on foot or by the superb Metro. CG offers fine meals and accommodations that are spotless, comfortable, and tastefully furnished.
We cannot say enough about the concern and thoroughness of staff in answering diverse questions, providing maps, and even enabling us to obtain ballet tickets. Our locating Diego Rivera murals, the Art Deco-style National Post Office, the Arte Popular Museum etc. was vastly facilitated by CG staff.
We say "felicidades" and "hasta la proxima" to the wonderful Hotel Casa Gonzalez !

Room Tip: We recommend a room facing the inner court yard. Room 104 has a semi-private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia and Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your most kind review. It is guests like you that motivate us keep on improving.
We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A lovely a retreat from the cacophony of the city, Casa Gonzalez feels like home away from home. The interior patio is filled with plants and bubbling fountains. Each room is unique, often adorned with beautifully painted portraits and antique furnishings. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarrieByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is not a chain hotel. This is a funky, clean, b. and b. - ish establishment where you see all the guests in the morning for breakfast around big long tables where you are served Mexican hot chocolate and can order chilaquiles for breakfast. Many of the rooms do not have TV, which I think is a plus. If you came to Mexico City to watch TV, perhaps the Hilton would be more your style. Please tip the help.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street and was not bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tulippx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your most kind review.

I fully agreed with you, I do not like TV myself, that is why we did not have TVs in the rooms.

But we are changing that, many of our guests are requesting TVs. Because upstairs we are installing TVs in all the rooms; at this point about half of the rooms already have TV´s. So if you like watching TV, please let us know, and we will have a room with a TV for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Casa Gonzalez is our home away from home whenever we are in Mexico City.
It is located in Zona Rosa only a few blocks off one of the main streets, Reforma. It is only about 8 blocks from the Metro & it is in the area of several embassies & a huge police station. We always feel very safe in the neighborhood.
Pilar & Olivia at the desk are ever so helpful & both are fluent in English. They are a delight!
Casa Gonzalez is an old Colonial house that has been converted to guest rooms which are centered around numerous little courtyards. They also have a newer section that was an addition, but we prefer the original house rooms for their quaint charm.
It is an amazing bargain with included continental breakfast. They also offer full meals 3 times a day for a reasonable price. We ended up having Christmas dinner there because of a missed flight & it was very good, especially considering they prepared it for only 2 people!
We love Casa Gonzalez & would highly recommend it to any one wanting something different than the standard chain hotels. We will continue to return there as long as we visit Mecico City!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We want to thank you for posting such a nice review. Guests like you are what motivate us and try to keep on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puebla, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have stayed here twice and was in two different rooms.

The pluses: Great Location (5-10 minute walk to Zona Rosa), quaint courtyard, nice breakfast, charming staff, 3 computers for internet use in public area, reasonable price, English spoken by many staff members.

The minuses: Old small rooms, disorganized staff, lack of safes in many of the rooms (my room on my first stay did not have a safe), intermittent hot water (no hot water for my shower in the morning on my second visit), hard to find (this is truly a mystery. There is no sign of any sort. Each visitor goes through a process of discovery just locating the place), noisy (I had a room on my first stay facing the courtyard and at about 5AM began hearing the staff talking, and the gardener starts making a racket at about 6:30AM), lack of complete security for cars (The parking is inside the enclosed area. Cars are parked tandem, and you will almost certainly have to give your car key to hotel staff. In the morning when I left with my car I noticed that it was not locked. I had checked not once, but twice before going to bed the previous evening that the car was completely locked. Obviously hotel staff had moved my car to let out those behind me and neglected to re-lock the car. I had quite a bit of stuff in my car and had stressed upon check-in that vehicle security was my main concern.).

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the front door. It is very noisy there, since besides street noise the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SantaMonicaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comment.

Casa Gonzalez is unique, every room is different and as you remark some are smaller than others. In the last house we adapted to make Casa Gonzalez we emphasized in having larger rooms with better water pressure and hot water.

We are working towards improving services in all rooms. We have recently redone all the electric and water installation in most of the houses.

We still have regular household water heaters (all are outside) and sometimes the pilot is blown out by the wind. In the unlikely event you do not have hot water please let us know, you should have hot water within five minutes.

We have safes in 30 of the 33 rooms. We should have safes in all rooms soon.

I apologize that we did not lock your car. We will establish a procedure to make sure that does not happen again.

Thank you again for your comments.
Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The staff was very friendly. The courtyard was very nice. The room was stark, but clean. There is a full breakfast for purchase. The price was reasonable. Spanish and English is spoken. The shower had plenty of hot water. The staff was very helpful with taxis and plane arrangements.

We walked to the zocalo. It was a long walk, but we enjoyed the scenery along the way.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j_ortiz_moore, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 15 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a very precise review.

The walk to the downtown area (Zocalo) is 2.3 miles (about 45 minutes walking); at this altitude it might seem a little bit more. Based on your comment we will have staff at the front desk recommend public transportation over walking to get to the Zocalo.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#33 of 309 in Mexico City
569 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#43 of 309 in Mexico City
830 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 309 in Mexico City
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 309 in Mexico City
1,371 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#29 of 309 in Mexico City
833 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing