We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Nearby Hotels
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Emporio Reforma(Mexico City)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$393
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Zocalo Central(Mexico City)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
379
254
68
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
254
68
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish embassyother guestsguest houselovely courtyardhome away from homemain avenuesubway stationfew blockschapultepec parksafe neighborhoodpaseo de la reformaother travelershot waterstayed nightsstreet noiserooms are comfortablecommon areas
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Spent 4 nights at Casa Gonzalez over Easter week-end. Our stay was wonderful. The hotel is pretty quiet especially in the courtyard. It is welcome in a city as noisy as Mexico. The hotel is well located in Zona Rosa (one corner from Insurgentes), very close to Condesa and 10 minutes walking from the Metro.
Within 5 minutes walk you have access to lovely restaurants (Rio Lerma, Rio Panunco, Geneva, ...) and bars. It comes handy if you don't feel like walking too much.
The staff at the reception is exceptional. They answered all our questions and are very much customer service oriented. They speak Spanish, English and one person French.
Our room had two single beds and was big enough. It included a large wardrobe and a large bathroom. Our room was overlooking the street and it was a bit noisy at night. Earplugs are recommended.
If you have an early morning, I recommend their breakfast. It is plentiful (fruit, juice, tea or coffee and eggs or omelet) and it costs only 350 pesos. A real bargain.
The only complaint is that we had a hard time finding the place. Casa Gonzalez is not indicated anywhere on the street. There is a sign underneath the address that says to go to Crystal door (means the glass door!?) and ring up the reception. The doorbell (if you can call it that) is more than six feet in the air left of the door. It is a white square that looks like mosaic and there is a tiny Call button. But if like us you arrive after dark, you don't see it. Good thing someone let us in or else I think we would have slept on the sidewalk.
All in all, it is well worth it staying at Casa Gonzalez. And the city of Mexico is also worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyageuseterre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

I do want to point out that we offer two breakfast options:

-Continental breakfast that includes coffee, tea, hot chocolate, orange juice, fruit, bread, jam and butter.
The continental breakfast is $35.00 pesos per person (just under three USD).

-Full breakfast that also includes eggs any stile and other Mexican and international specialties.
The full breakfast is $70.00 pesos per person (just over five USD).

Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again soon,
Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was my 5th stay at Casa Gonzalez and I really love this very charming hotel in the middle of Mexico City. Easy and convenient to reach, only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants in Zona Rosa and despite its central location surprisingly calm and very silent during the night. Have had different rooms every visit and they have all been spotlessly clean and very charming and colourful just like the common areas. Free Wifi but a few computers are also available in the small reception. The personnel has always been very friendly and helpful and I have always felt really safe despite arriving and departing at odd hours. They wait in the door until you are safe in the taxi which for me shows that they really care about their customers. Can highly recommend this great little hotel if you want something nice, clean, central and safe without spending a fortune. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LACopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for your most kind review. As I've said previously, it is guests like you that motivate us to keep on improving.
Hope to have the pleasure to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have stayed at Casa Gonzalez 5 or 6 times in the last 10 years. The rooms are comfortable, the location is excellent and the opportunity to talk to other visitors from around the world at breakfast is an opportunity that we cherish. The ambience and charm is rare to find these days and every room is unique.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barryyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

We want to thank you for such a kind review. It is guests like you that motivate us to keep on improving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We know that DF hotel costs have gone through the roof so we didn't have great expectations from this hotel with such reasonable prices. Well, what a pleasant surprise! It is actually a number of converted homes, some of whom have quite interesting histories. The garden areas are lovely and one can access the wifi from the patios (it can be spotty from some rooms). The owner was charming and incredibly helpful. The location was excellent. It is near the Paseo de la Reforma, but in a quiet, safe neighborhood. Actually, it was hard to find the hotel's entry as it does not have a sign. We just asked a corner food stand and they pointed us to it. We stayed on the ground floor and the room was adequate, but not luxurious. However, for the price, we were completely satisfied. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review; It is very motivating to know you had a good stay.

Happy holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is a good place to kick back in a chair in the court yard right next to your room and rest a while before your next adventure of the day in Mexico City. And the price is right. OK so the place is a tad funky, a tad worn but it is well kept up and wears well its 20's or 30's architectural character. The office help is attentive and the communal breakfast is served on Mexican dinnerware (none of that generic buffet you are likely to get in your average Mexican hotel). Because of its reputation and tradition, you may find yourself sharing your table with a visiting professor, a French anthropologist, a Mexican on business or a young Australian world traveler. It is all part of the ambiance. For dinner, just hop across the Paseo de la Reforma and you are in the Zona Rosa. A pair of walking shoes will take you to Chapultapec Park or to the Zocolo by way of the Palacio de Bella Artes. One note of caution: Some of the upstairs rooms are to be avoided. They are bad conversions from whatever was upstairs once.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we always greatly value your opinion.

The two main houses were built in 1920 by my grandfather, and started as the original guest house in about 1930. The other two houses were built in the 30's and 40's.

The original lay out of the main house were four rooms that shared one bath room. When we started it was rented like that with just one bath... The rent was $4.00 USD per week including all meals, laundry and daily room service. Those were difficult times.

Over time we renovated the house adding bathrooms to every room. It was a challenge especially in the old house. I have to admit some of the rooms in the old houses are small.

We have continuous remodeling: all the plumbing, the wiring and most bath rooms have been entirely redone over the last few years.

Well that is perhaps more than you wanted to hear about Casa Gonzalez... But I believe it is important for me to share this with you.

Again thank you for your most kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews