We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #19 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed for ten days here in a triple room. Ten minute walk to insurgentes metro station- through an area which felt safe in the day and the evening.Very good value for money. Lovely courtyard and garden gave a feeling of space and calm-which we needed as the room was rather small for three of us. Bathroom looked a bit old fashioned but good powerful shower with masses of piping hot water. Only problem was that it remained damp and with wet weather outside the towels could not dry. That was a problem for the first few days but then I noticed the towels were changed daily (and we suddenly got three towels not two) so obviously the staff noticed without us saying anything which was very good.Our room had some chairs outside on a little terrace which would have been good had we had better weather. It was cold in our room some nights but the night staff were excellent and found extra blankets for us. Occasionally noisy at night-once inside the hotel you forget it is on a main street and we heard cars, fireworks etc but the hotel itself was quiet. Also a wall light shone rather brightly outside our room so it was never completely dark despite pulling the curtains fully. Breakfast was good, but there is also a brilliant juice bar stall and taco vendor just outside the hotel which was cheap and delicious(spinach and cheese recommended). Reception staff were friendly and helpful and mostly spoke excellent English . They ordered us taxis, helped us print boarding passes, served drinks, stored our bags when we went away, and answered lot of small queries. Altogether highly recommend this -friendly, personal, good value , good location. Would definitely go there again-would try and book a suite next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are changing curtains an all rooms, the new ones have black out to keep the light out when you have them closed.

Next time we will make sure we have better weather for you! (this year was crazy, it was supposed to be sunny and warmer when you were here, after all it's supposed to be the dry season).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    243
    59
    21
    8
See reviews for
119
237
93
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Casa Gonzalez is located on the edge of the Zona Rosa area with plenty of eateries and bars within a short walking distance. The street around the corner Rio Lamas was full of eateries (turn right) and tree lined and felt like another country. The entertainment strip with bars and fast food eateries is closeby across the main Avenue Reforma. The hotel is secluded and the staff are very helpful with any enquiry you might have. We did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on the food as there are so many other places to try around the area. From the hotel we walked to the Zocala - down back streets, but also along the main Avenue Reforma which was close to 1hr each way but if you like walking it was shady and more interesting. There is also the metro and metrobuses that run there. We would stay there again on future visits to Mexico City.

Room Tip: We had room 125 which was spacious and quite large with a couple of lounges in the room. The bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your most kind review.

We are working on the water pressure issue, but it has taken more time than we had anticipated. At this moment we have increased water pressure in one of the houses, we are working on the others and should soon have it solved.

Hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Casa Gonzales provides welcome relief from the busy, bustling retreat that is Mexico City. Your welcome to the accommodation by the staff is warm, friendly and in fluent english. The courtyard area does indeed have as advertised hummingbirds in its beautiful garden.

The rooms themselves are large and comfortable without having extravagant trimmings. Regardless, your value for money is assured.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient for browsing the nearby Chapluteque (do not try and visit on a Monday!) but visitors should be aware that the hotel is not situated near the historico centro.

The internal restaurant serves simple, affordable and tasty Mexican dishes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is located in Zona Rosa which is one of the nicer parts of Mexico City. it is about a 10 minute walk to the metro and a 5 minute walk to upscale restaurants. On the outside, you hardly know it is a hotel. Once you pass through the gate it is pleasant and personable. Very nice staff, only one speaks english but all were helpful.
They cook a great breakfast here that is eaten at a communal couple of tables. It was an excellent way to meet other guests and it is a very international crowd.
We were quoted $80 US per night but the final bill with all the taxes came to $120 US per night. Normally, this would be annoying but the stay was so nice it was still a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for such a kind review.
I do want to note that our most expensive room is $78.22 USD, including taxes $92.30 USD (at today’s exchange rate). This would be for the suite, which has a king size bed and is about 400 square feet.
I hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us once more in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbox Island, Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arriving in Mexico City,taking the 20 minute cab ride to this quaint little hotel, and spending the night was one that I could take or leave. The thought occurred to me that perhaps it might have been more prudent to just take an airport hotel.Casa Gonzalez is hardly recognizable from the street and after being "buzzed in" we were shown one room before choosing another with the bed size we had requested. It however was extremely small for the price and the bed was to say the least, rather uncomfortable.If you have fairly heavy bags try to get a ground floor unit.........the stairs to the second floor are not very accomodating when it comes to luggage. The following morning was bright and sunny with a breakfast in the dining area that was wonderful.The only issue there was, that we were going to be charged for the meal when we were under the understanding that "desayuno" was included in the price of the room. All in all, it wasn't a bad stay; it's just one that I could take it or leave it. Probably not waste the $P200 cab ride each way back to the airport. So if this is the type of old fashioned,clean hotel you might be looking for---go for it; next time in Mexico city I think I'll leave it alone. Cheers,B

Room Tip: Luggage....ground floor. Nice large room.....#127
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as you know we are always very grateful that you share your opinion.
The main house was built by my grandfather in 1920, and some of the furniture in the rooms belonged to my grandparents and great grandparents.This has been a big debate among the family since they might prefer to have it in their own private home, but I believe it ads a lot to the charm of the guest house.
I do want to note that you must have initially reserved our least expensive room (this is a small room that can be facing the street, $45.00 Canadian Dollars plus tax per night at today’s exchange rate) and perhaps requested a larger room when you got here. That is when you must have been assigned to room 127 (king size bed, private terrace, $59.00 Canadian Dollars plus tax per night).
The hotels near the airport are not in a good area, so I usually recommend that even if you are just staying overnight you come in to town.
Hope to have the pleasure of seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The title pretty well says it all. We stayed there 2 nights and arrived late the first night and knew that the night staff would not understand English well. I showed the booking confirmation and everything went smoothly. We did not want a sterile, modern hotel room and Casa Gonzalez gives you a lot of charm with a super location at a reasonable price.

Our room was reasonable but more of a 2 or 3 star quality. There was no air conditioning but the ceiling fan was plenty for the mid-Oct. time. I would be very concerned in the summer heat. Bed and pillows were good with large bathroom and shower. My wife made the mistake of leaving the cover off the floor drain in the shower and the room started to fill with the same sewage odor you encounter everywhere in the city. I put the cap back on and all was well again. Our window faced a busy street and it was definitely noisy in the morning. If I stayed again, I would ask for a interior room facing the courtyard. We were up early each morning so not a big deal. I could have had an interior room when I booked but was told the exterior rooms were larger. I'd go smaller and quieter.

Breakfast was a choice of bread, fruit dish, juice & coffee for 50 pesos or pay 85 and you add eggs or hotcakes (pancakes). It's in a very nice room but the dining room staff have limited English which is what we found in all of our nights in Mexico. This was not a problem as they have an English menu and you just point to the items.

You are given a room key plus an entrance key so you can come & go at any hour. You'll have to use the buzzer when you first arrive to get in though. A short 2 blocks and you are entering the Zona Rosa party zone on the other side of Reforma. Buses are plentiful along that stretch. A few blocks more and you can board a Metro and take the subway just about anywhere for 3 pesos. We felt safe on either but chose to take a taxi from the airport for 200 pesos and then a taxi (100 pesos) to Terminal Norte to board a bus to San Miguel. We took the Metro to Zocalo and it was very easy and fast, even with a change of lines. Just get a map of the system and watch the signs and count stops. Not all stops are well signed.

There's a few computers for free internet use and the wifi was working fine. The only issue was trying to find the @ key in Mexico which I figured out to be Ctrl+Shift+2.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone asking but I would request an inside room. We would not return to Mexico City but love Mexico elsewhere. Too much traffic chaos, pollution, sewage smell and riot police & army EVERYWHERE. There comes a point when so many police on the streets goes from reassuring to making you anxious.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room, smaller but much quieter and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelDougA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thank you for your most detailed review, we are very grateful you took the time to share your opinion.
I do need to point out you had our least expensive double room ($51.00 Canadian dollars). The price difference is not that much to get a room away from the street.
In Mexico City we only have two seasons: rainy season and dry season. Temperature does not change much. Most homes do not have air conditioning because it is not needed.
Mexico City is about as safe as New York or Los Angeles, we do have a lot of police presence during protests. Your stay coincided with teacher’s union protests.
I do need to point out that continental breakfast is $35.00 pesos (2.60 Canadian dollars), this includes fruit, orange juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, bread, jam and butter; or you also have the option of the full breakfast that is $70.00 pesos and this also includes eggs, hot cakes, waffles, and several Mexican specialties. If you order sausages or bacon it would be an extra $15.00 pesos for a portion of three pieces.
The exchange rate is solely informative and is calculated using the exchange rate of the day we received your review.
We do hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us once more to try and change your opinion about our city. It's a very cosmopolitan city that has a lot to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

After searching and searching thru TA reviews Casa Gonzalez caught my eye and I was so grateful that it did. We love to walk, so its location was perfect esp as we prefer quiet over busy. If you are not a walker then you have easy access to everything with either buses or the cheap taxis
Like everyone else says The Casa is clean ,comfortable and has a lovely old character. From the beginning with the email reservation thru to saying goodbye everybody was very nice and helpful too. We really enjoyed the home cooked breakfasts before heading out for a big day.
Muchas Gracias for making us welcome and comfortable.
PS Stay at least three days and more if possible as there is so much to see and do in MC

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy_NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. Hope to have the pleasure of having you again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#29 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing