We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis in a beautiful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #28 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful oasis in a beautiful city”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

for anyone with a love of Mexico, this is the place to stay. Sparkling clean with friendly, helpful staff. Casa Gonzalez is located in a central spot on tree-lined streets, close to Metro and Zona Rosa. We had one of the "bargain" rooms, great mattresses, brand new bathroom, very comfortable. Every room has antique furniture and artwork, in fact, art pervades the whole place. This hotel is obviously a labor of love for someone. If you are looking for something special and very warm and beautifully Mexican, this is your guest house. The breakfast room is in the vintage part of the hotel with lovely deco furniture, nice ceramic dishware, and smart service. Continental or hot breakfast, well prepared and tasty. Lunch and dinner also served, in the green and welcoming garden.

Room Tip: If you are frugal and don't mind a little noise now and then, the basic rooms are great. Spend a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    245
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
121
239
94
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had one of the less expensive rooms, on the street side. One wall appeared to have mold on it. Mattress was not very comfortable. Breakfast on site was unremarkable, and coffee was cold. Would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank l0vingretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are extremely sorry your stay was not as good as we would have liked it to be.

We will do our best to improve all the issues you mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Can't say enough nice things about Casa Gonzalez. The staff was incredibly friendly and spoke fantastic English. Rooms were clean, quiet, and had character to them through great works of art. Location is very centralized and a fantastic jump off spot to see the rest of the city. Most of all, the team worked with me on very short notice to both A. find a room for me, and B. get me the cheapest rates possible.

If/when I come back to Mexico City I will 100% stay at Casa Gonzalez again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is a prime place to stay. It was my second time here in the past few years. It is super convenient to other central parts of the city such as Zona Rosa and Roma. It is also immaculate in every sense of the word. They take painstaking care to ensure that everything, including the outside common areas for breakfast are sparkling. I will continue to use this place as my base when I am in the city in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner courtyard are quieter than the two rooms on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank w4michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naramata, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I really enjoyed my time at Casa Gonzalez. Felt very safe and well taken care of. I was in a single on the inside of the property so it was very quiet.January can be quite cool so I appreciated the space heater in my room. Hot water was not "always" available...Breakfast is a great time to meet up with other travellers and get tips on getting around.
The house is fascinating and I would have appreciated some material on the history of it. Portraits of women made my imagination run wild. Who are these people? What connection do they have with the hotel? How was this building used originally? I highly recommend this place to someone looking for a place with character.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind review.

I do want to apologize, we did have a temporary problem with the water supply and this affected the hot water. In Mexico City we are rationed water and sometimes water needs to be trucked...

I am very sorry I was not able to visit with you, I sometimes hide (I do need to do some bookkeeping and taxpaying once in a while). But if we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again I will make it a point to make time to talk to you about the house and portraits.

Most portraits were done by a guest (our longest staying guest) who first arrived in the 40's. Some or the subjects were guests, family or important people in town at that time.

Thank you again for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Reasons to stay here: Inexpensive, great neighborhood, terrific taquerias right around the corner, excellent bilingual customer service. We stayed in a triple the first night upstairs. Very quiet with a nice balcony. Last two nights stayed in a double, which were two twin beds together. Unfortunately it was by the front door and was a bit loud at times when people came and went, but as always when we travel, we are exhausted and slept pretty well despite it. We had poor water pressure the first night and terrific for the other two. I guess they are working on it. The interior patio/gardens are wonderful. The beds were fine. We cabbed it everywhere and it was never more than 60 pesos. To the airport was between 125-150 pesos. A very safe neighborhood. They also have breakfast, lunch and dinner. They could improve on the quality of the wine. It wasn't drinkable, but my husband liked the beer!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfox61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The other favorable reviewers said most of what I would say:
1. Friendly Bilingual English and Spanish staff that also double as a wait staff during the afternoon and evening hours (we had an evening coffee in their gardens)
2. Great Breakfast option in a very pretty room
3. Nice Gardens to sit outside and figure out the day's itinerary
4. Located near Zona Rosa, the Metro Insurgentes, and near the Angel statue so it's easy to find your way back

We heard a lot of stories of how unsafe the city is. We found the opposite and took the metro to all of our far destinations. We enjoy walking, and found a leisurely stroll from the Zocalo to the Bellas Artes to the Alameda, then down to the Casa G. took between 45-60 minutes. It can be tiring because of the city-walking-on-concrete, but we saw a great deal above ground and we took full advantage of popping in and out of tienditas and cafes.

The metro is perhaps a 7 minute walk from Casa G. Leave the Casa, turn right, and go straight. Pass the signal and onto a ped-only walk way with tienditas and cafes along the way. Cross another light and go under a short bridge into open air stalls mostly meant for locals. Pass the first stalls and look to the right. The entry for the Metro is hidden a bit, but easy to spot once you pass the first 3 stalls or so. When we took the Metro, the prices went up to 5 pesos for one way, or as long as it takes you to leave the Metro. 5 pesos includes all transfers.

Casa Gonzalez is a good place to stay. The rooms are clean, a bit tired, but when one is traveling on a budget, the Casa G is fantastic!

Room Tip: We stayed on the street side and did not have a problem with city noises. DF is simply noisy. But th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlagHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
568 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#35 of 305 in Mexico City
821 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#31 of 305 in Mexico City
810 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 305 in Mexico City
1,402 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing