We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm quiet Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #19 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SFBay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Calm quiet Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

I had booked this after seeing the pictures of the gardens and greenery .... it was the end of our 2 week trip so booked the king size bed ... and was so not disappointed. The room was gorgeous with windows of light along 2 walls, a huge desk for writing postcards, and a couch and other chairs to have friends come visit. Staff were amazingly accomodating even having a taxi service that took us to the Pyramids on our own timing (many tours go and one is gone ALL day) having us back by early PM .... for less than the tour prices!! They have a breakfast, which is ok ... but we found street juice freshly sqozen to be better/cheaper and lots of other places for food.

We were certain that there were not many guests here, but were told it was full ... there is ample room for everyone and we really did not run into many folks except during breakfast time. Quiet, comfortable, and beautiful.

The service was outstanding, and I would so go back again in a heartbeat ....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalgall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your most kind review!

We will work on having a breakfast that is not OK but outstanding.
I do want to point out that our breakfast is about $5.00 US and includes coffee, tea, hot chocolate, a plate of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, eggs any stile, french toast, waffles etc... We believe it is good value and safer than eating on the street.

The main issue with eating on the street is that they do not have a refrigerator, no running water, nor a health permit. This sometimes poses a health issue.

Again thank you for your most kind review, we hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us once more in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    238
    58
    21
    7
See reviews for
115
232
91
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have traveled to Mexico City annually for seven years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Location and value and good beds! It's a toss up as to whether our annual visit is because of the endless wonders of the city or the tranquility of Casa Gonzales. At first it was the owner, Jorge, whose guidance turned a visit made somewhat on a whim into a truly memorable event. Now there is very capable English speaking front desk staff that will help you with information about Mexico City, travel arrangements throughout Mexico or almost any other inquiry you have. And you can always share experiences with other guests around the breakfast table. This is really more of a guest house - not a multi star deluxe chain hotel - maybe not for everyone, but perfect for us.

Room Tip: We like a particular streetside room with a small balcony, but rooms facing the interior garden and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for your most kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A well run, quiet, very clean, older hotel complete with gardens and courtyard in the middle of this bustling city of 20 million.
The bilingual staff is attentive, helpful and friendly.
And within blocks are literally hundreds of restaurants, shops, museums, and some of the most beautiful parks in the city.
The only downside?...as previous reviews have noted, the bed(at least our bed) was rock hard. A new mattress or even a layer of memory foam would be much appreciated

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pabl044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are sorry the bed you had was not good.

We have a program to replace all mattresses and put foam mats. We should finish replacing all mattresses soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

When we arrived by taxi we looked up at a building with doors opening onto a balcony and thought 'that's nice!'. And when the welcoming receptionist led us through the patios, passed the rambling buildings and up some stairs we realised that we had the same room opening onto the balcony overlooking the quiet treelined street. The first morning we met Bill and Billy from Winnipeg at breakfast and that set the pattern for chatty breakfasts hereon. We had great conversations with the predominantly North American guests - very friendly, informed and interested people. We walked or caught the metro nearby to everything we wanted to do. We had eight days in MDF and this was a perfect place to return to from adverntures and relax. And if you are a quiet, shy type, don't worry about he sociability - there is lots of space to keep to yourself and no one will bother you.

Room Tip: ask for a private room opening onto a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review!

We are very lucky and grateful that we have outstanding guests. Next week we have a guest that has stayed with us since the early 1940's and has stayed at Casa Gonzalez more than 50 different times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We liked the neighborhood, which was pretty quiet but still near to the Metro. The Casa faces the British Embassy and is a just few blocks from the American Embassy, which means there is a visible police presence almost around the clock.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at Casa Gonzalez for 10 nights this January as part of our extended stay in Mexico. Since we've travelled extensively in Mexico for a number of years, we were really looking forward to our stay here ... it didn't disappoint. Great staff: Laura, Jose, Violetta and Maru. They were FABULOUSLY helpful, generous with their time and great with directions. We stayed in room 106, inner courtyard, ground floor. Yes, the room is small, but exceptionally clean and a wonderful shower. No problems with hot water. Huge closet was a bonus. It was chilly at night, so we used the heater to take the chill off before going to bed. Quiet, but we also travel with a white noise app that cancels out any early morning noises that might wake us. Breakfast 70 pesos for juice, coffee, fruit and lots of egg options, French toast, pancakes and yogurt. Coffee a tad weak, but that's the case often in Mexico.
Out the door, turn right and about 5 minutes walk is the Insurgentes subway station (and buses up top). So, very easy to get anywhere.
Tons of restaurants along Lerma ... and nice to enjoy a Panini at the hotel in the afternoon with a cold beer!
Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the inner courtyard, away from the street. Quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PowerPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your most kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

A perfect hotel for those that want the intimacy and charm of an older, small, convenient, clean and well run stay in the center of a huge city. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with lots of smiles and good wishes (or is that Mexico in general?), especially Maru at the front desk. She is bi-lingual so was very helpful in making arrangements and steering us in the right directions for busses, the metro, etc. The kitchen provided tasty food and could be enjoyed either in the nice courtyard or in the beautiful little dining room. The location is about halfway between the Historic center and Chapultepec Park (location of the GREAT Museo De Anthropologia) and in a nice neighborhood with lots of restaurants and street food but once you enter through the street door into the hotel courtyard, it becomes a quiet oasis. Unless you like the high-rise, all-inclusives, stay at this hotel- you'll love it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank liebster9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#29 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#4 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#27 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#24 of 305 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing