We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house, will be returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #21 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely guest house, will be returning”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A lovely stay at Casa Gonzalez. The beds were extremely comfortable, noise was minimal and the location next to Colonia Roma gave us a lot of options for food and drink. We are coming back to DF at the end of April and hope that we can get a room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street for a quieter night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeckticTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are working on making the street rooms quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    245
    63
    22
    8
See reviews for
120
239
94
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I spent three nights at Casa Gonzalez in March. I was in room 104 with a single bed. It shares the terrace with 103 that has a double bed. It's above the restaurant and very quiet. I really liked the room and the price (700 pesos). It's small but big enough for a single traveler. My only small complaint is that the bed has a plastic cover over the mattress. Yes, there is a cotton layer on top of the plastic but I woke up sweating two nights in a row and I could feel the plastic. It would cost the hotel about 5 dollars to put an all cotton mattress cover on the bed. This would make a world of difference. Otherwise, I can highly recommend the hotel. It felt very safe for a single traveler. I ate 2 nights dinner at the restaurant. I highly recommend the vegetarian lasagna. I cannot say the same for the quesadillas. Very dry and the "guacamole" was made with an unripe avocado. My favorite dish for breakfast was the oatmeal. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: 104 is quiet and good for a single.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltheworld0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review!

We appreciate you telling us about your bed, dry quesadillas and the bad guacamole. We will pay a lot of attention to fix this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel is not in the most exciting neighborhood nor is it the hippest spot, but it's well situated to walk all around the city, the area is safe, the rooms and courtyards are charming and the people who work there are kind, professional and helpful. We stayed 5 nights, had a few problems with a not-quite-working-right shower which was a little slow to get fixed but enjoyed the breakfast in the communal dining room. A good mid-priced option, we'd probably stay here again.

Room Tip: There's a great taco spot, Don Guero's, right down the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronDubrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I want to apologize for not getting an immediate response to the problem with your shower. We will work on acting faster on any maintenance issues.

Thank you again for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What can I say that hasn't been said?

Great neighborhood, beautiful property and rooms, fair price.

I'll say this: Casa Gonzalez is a great example of what happens when you really pay attention to detail.

They get too many of these right for it to be an accident.

Example 1: The breakfast eating area has two tables at angles to each other. It's an arrangement that encourages you to be sociable by sitting at the table with most of the other guests, but usually, since one table may be empty otherwise, you don't have to be. Breakfast is quite good, by the way. I highly recommend the omelet, and the chilaquiles if you're really hungry. Coffee average - but plentiful!

Example 2: The little tags you hang on your door to let the maids know whether to clean the room, or not disturb, are color-coded, red and green! Why doesn't everybody do this? It must make it so much easier for the maids to know at a distance!

Example 3: They encourage you to go to the office to let them fill the water bottles that the maids place in the rooms. This solves two problems very neatly: the problem of litter from these water bottles, and the problem of what to do when you run out of water.

By the way, it's a short walk across a pleasant courtyard to get from any of the rooms to the office.

We were very happy with our room. Actually, we ended up with a little better, and more pricey, room, than I would have gotten for two people otherwise - this was because I showed up the day before we planned to move in, to make the reservation, and it was difficult to find a room that was vacant for the whole stretch of 5 days that we wished to stay. However, the room turned out to be a very nice suite, and the price, at well under 1000 pesos, was quite reasonable for the quality of lodging and the location.

Another thing I liked was that if you wanted to eat there, you could sit at an outdoor table in the courtyard - very pleasant - and the food, while a bit basic, is very reasonably priced. Beer is quite reasonably priced as well, but you must have food accompanying it.

We never had a problem getting a cab from the hotel - there was always a taxi waiting right at the corner. The subway and Metrobus are pretty close as well.

Not too many problems to relate.

One shower did not work - not a problem with two bathrooms available! We never even asked about it.

There was something of a comedy with the room safe - for some reason, the PIN I picked never allowed me to open it again, and I'd need to go fetch the manager on duty to open it back up. I finally picked another PIN that worked fine. He thought I was insane, I'm sure.

Wi-fi was spotty within the room, but worked great outside. We think it was just a ploy to get us out into the fresh air and sunlight!

Room Tip: You might want to call well ahead, since in our own case, having showed up in person just the day be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitehFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for such a detailed and kind review.

We have very strong feeling about the water bottles, but you know most guests prefer water bottles. We used to have only water pitchers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We found this little place with very little time left in our agenda. They are located afew steps from the american embassy in a well connected area. Friendly and helpful staff, and excellent facilities. I would visit it again.

Room Tip: rooms in the second floor have better view and less people traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JLReyes1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saco, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Really great neighborhood. Very nice price and the staff was very welcoming and friendly to foreigners. A++++ I cannot believe that this review wants me to write more and will not accept what I have already written to wow. Ok there is my review. Your welcome. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TMCGpcebollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort of posting a very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynwood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Beautiful grounds and charmingly decorated rooms make this hotel a bargain. It is truly a great spot for the traveler who may feel overwhelmed by the intensity of Mexico City. The staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They were able to answer any questions regarding directions, restaurant recommendations, or finding business services in the neighborhood. They were also able to arrange a private taxi for touring outside the city with very short notice. The neighborhood offers a good selection of restaurants and is pretty quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your most kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#31 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#26 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#16 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing