We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful little hideaway in an enormous city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #33 of 313 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I recently traveled to Mexico City with a friend. We decided to book two rooms at Casa Gonzalez. They were both absolutely lovely! There was Mexican tile in the bathrooms and around the sink in the bedroom.

I felt very safe - there was a private door to the property that was always locked and then the regular bedroom lock.

The staff was enormously friendly and helpful, the place was very clean, and the breakfast was divine.

If I ever find myself back in Mexico City I will definitely spend a night or two here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PittsburghDmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for your most kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I really have to say i don't know what people are complaining about. I could not imagine a more wonderful place to stay. The location is great, very charming patios that you can relax from a wild day in the city and the staff is simply wonderful.

Lots of restaurants in the area, and perfect spot to explore from. I find the rooms very accommodating...I've made this my home for ten days before and I regret only being here one night this time.

If all places were like this, you'd never want to go home again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank manicmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your most kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed at Casa Gonzalez 3 or 4 times and happily it has stayed the same (except for a rise in price naturally). The hotel is two or three buildings formed around a courtyard, with a maximum height of two stories. Flowers, courtyard tables. Our room opened to the courtyard with a little patio and chairs outside. Our room had large windows to open plus a window in the bathroom. The breakfast is not included but it is reasonably priced and a pleasant experience, with omelets etc. made to order. Owner Jorge always responds to our emails and he has even given us recommendations of places to stay in other cities. It is about a 10 minute walk to the metro. The location is central and safe, near the American Embassy.

Room Tip: Each room is different, so state your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your most kind review.

We are sorry about the price increase. We do work hard to keep our prices as low as possible, but our dear government does not cooperate. We have had serious increases in most taxes (property taxes have gone up 500%, electricity has gone up about $300%, VAT 2%, Lodging tax etc...).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The courtyard is an oasis in the Capital. I recommend staying here as the staff are very attentive, the rooms are clean and the gardens are beautiful. I will gladly return the next time I am in town!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrStevenAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much doctor for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The service here is wonderful for a relaxing stay in Mexico City. A little oasis garden setting that is relaxing. Breakfast is only 35 Pesos (continental) and 70 Pesos for full breakfast. Laundry service is available for just under $1 US per pound (wash and dry folded) which is VERY convenient. Reception staff is multi-lingual (English, French that I observed) and extremely helpful in ways a
concierge in a much bigger hotel would assist your needs in planning almost anything you need regarding your schedule. Lunch, dinner or appetizers are available from 1PM to 9PM both in the dining room or in the patio/garden area outdoors. You can also get cold drinks, water, beer and fresh expresso coffee from the the front desk. If Sara is your cook, you could not ask for a sweeter person to serve you. At the front desk usually in the day time, Maru is fast and very efficient and a true professional as well as Laura being a very sweet professional as well. You feel like a part of an extended FAMILY here! My wife (recently retired) and I stayed here for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves with totally open and flexible plans (do what we felt like each day) as we have been to Mexico City before and visited many of the City's attractions in the past. When you are tired and do not feel like venturing out, the garden is relaxing with the very affordable Lunch/Appetizer menu available - we had their hamburgers and enchiladas several times and do not miss the guacamole. They served a different fruit each day at breakfast which was enjoyable and would substitute a different fruit on request as I cannot have Grapefruit with the Meds I am on. Breakfast is a great time to greet and meet other travelers and exchange our experiences. The only reservation I have with Casa Gonzalez is the beds are VERY FIRM. You can request foam padding from the front desk to alleviate the situation if need be. But overall our
last visit was thoroughly enjoyable and did not need a car as taxi service (authorized taxi ONLY)
is the only way to be stress free in this very busy city. The internet is free at the front desk area
as well, ( 3 computers ). And what ever you do DO NOT MISS the new Museo Soumaya that
Carlos Slim founded in a very Cosmopolitan part of the city that is 6 stories high and FREE to
everyone, it is spectacular!

Room Tip: Rooms with bigger beds have lots more room and space with large dressers and comfortable bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wellTravelledPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your most kind and detailed review.

We are working on the mattresses, they should all be replaced soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose this hotel out of our guide book because of its good location, and were delighted to discover an oasis of charm in a busy city. Our room was quiet and comfortable and the staff was helpful with directions, suggestions, and informative conversations. We loved that the metro was so near and that restaurants of all types lined the streets nearby. But most of all, we enjoyed the communal breakfasts in the lovely dining room where we met interesting fellow travelers every morning! We look forward to visiting DF again and staying at Casa Gonzalez.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for such a kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days in DF in March this year. It was our first visit and Casa Gonzalez was the perfect location to stay in. It is very close to Paseo Reforma, a main artery of the city and is across from the British Embassy. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a dining room where you could get continental breakfast for around $3. We looked forward to meeting guests from around the world in the dining room and exchange notes on things to do. It has a tranquil, old world courtyard and I would definitely stay here again if I am in DF.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor occasionally runs out of water. It happened to us one morning when we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your very kind review.

I am sorry you ran out of water. We will work so this does not happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#26 of 313 in Mexico City
1,011 reviews
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#37 of 313 in Mexico City
614 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#58 of 313 in Mexico City
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#30 of 313 in Mexico City
913 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#35 of 313 in Mexico City
972 reviews
Hotel Casa Blanca Mexico City
#92 of 313 in Mexico City
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £41 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing