We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #28 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location, helpful staff, we stayed there because in what was said on Trip Advisor, as we do not speak spanish, nice set up, breakfast was good, only problem we had was I emailed from LA to say our flight had been delayed, so instead of getting there at 1am we did not get there till 6am, where the room we had booked had been sold, and all other rooms full, we had booked for 4 nights, so got a room as soon as 1 was available, however we had to move rooms 3 times over the 4 nights, it would have been nice to stay in the same one.
The 1st night, I can understand, but the next 3 should have been in the same one, overall I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for a inner courtyard room, the last night we were right beside the front door, so unless you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dicaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

I do want to apologize for the fact you had to change rooms so many times, this should not have happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

The buildings and gardens are lovely and the staff uniformly helpful. The location is excellent, being two blocks from the Reforma and 5 blocks from Insurgentes subway station. The rooms are comfortable, however, the beds are quite firm bordering on hard. Breakfast, while not included, is reasonable and good.

Room Tip: We were in a quiet room off the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We couldn't be happier with our stay at Hotel Casa Gonzales where we appreciated the great location, excellent staff and service. We walked to many of the Mexico City highlights from this hotel. Our room was very large and comfortable and the breakfast each morning superb. Our only small comment would be that the bathroom was a little dated, but it was clean and functional. The staff were full of helpful hints and we had a bouquet of roses waiting for us on our arrival as we had let them know we were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary in coming to Mexico City. A very nice touch that was much appreciated. All in all a first class experience and great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dosTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your most kind review.

The room you had was my parents bedroom, we will be remodelling the bath room soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with very helpful staff. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and good food. The hotel is located within walking distance from many of the places we wanted to visit and the subway. It has very good value for the rates.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed three nights in a twin bed room (# 105) facing the courtyard. We requested a quiet room as some of the room face a road. The room was as quiet as can be expected being located in the middle of a big city.

Pros:
- Location; very close to everything. 5-10 minute walk to the nearest subway station. Neighborhood feels quite safe. Perhaps it doesn't hurt that the US embassy is just one block away.
- Staff is very nice, smiling and helpful.
- The hotel is very cozy with the courtyard, small fountain and pretty plants. We had a small terrace with two chairs in front of our room; very nice. An oasis in the middle of the city.
-

Cons:
- Wifi - wont necessarily hold it against the hotel as bandwidth seems to be an issue in Mexico. At least it was at all the hotel we stayed at.

Comments/Suggestions:
I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The rooms are quite basic and perhaps the addition of a fridge would be nice. Breakfast is pretty good considering it's included. But a little more than just the marmalade to go with the bread would be nice. And maybe some toast an yoghurt would be nice also. You get the hostel feel by sitting with the other guests.

Tip: The hotel does not have a sign and even with a business card some cab drivers have difficulty finding the hotel. In that case just tell them to take you to Marriot (150 m) or the US embassy (100 m).

Room Tip: 105 is a nice and quiet twin bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for your most kind and detailed review.

I would like to not that breakfast was included because you mentioned a promotion and reserved directly with us. It is usually not included.
Sometime we have guests that use a very large bandwidth when connecting to the WiFi and the service to the rest of the users is not that good.
I do want to mention that in the last year we replaced most of our WiFi equipment got an optic fiber connection. We will keep on working on the system until it preforms better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and happily called taxis for us when we wanted. Breakfast wasn't included but it was cheap anyway and it was In a lovely little dining room and the service was quick which was great as we had limited time. We really enjoyed the stay. Only thing was that the double bed was a little small for the 2 of us but were both quite tall, and again the toilet space area was a little small, but the rooms were neat and clean with large balcony and has a real homely atmosphere. Would def stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe if your taller/bigger let them know as they might have bigger beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your most kind review.

Some of our rooms do have a bed size that I think only exists in Mexico, it's "matrimonial" and it is slightly smaller than a queen. We are in the process of changing these beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I spent one night there in May and I must say I was so impressed with this hotel. There is no fuss about it. My Dad and I stayed in two consecutive rooms with a private balcony. Rooms were airy, fresh, light, clean and big. Despite the fact it is in a very busy area of Mexico city, the hotel is very quiet and full of plants, which makes you feel relaxed as soon as you walk in. Price is very good $700 MXN for a single room, staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter than those overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge O, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your most kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel PF
Hotel PF
#62 of 312 in Mexico City
540 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
961 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#41 of 312 in Mexico City
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#38 of 312 in Mexico City
597 reviews
Condesa
Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Roosevelt
#99 of 312 in Mexico City
162 reviews
Stella Maris
#116 of 312 in Mexico City
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#11 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing