We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key and loveable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Ranked #26 of 305 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Low-key and loveable”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My sister and I got a room on the second floor (after a bit of discussion after our reservation had not remembered this request) which had a big window that opened over the courtyard. The breakfast was excellent. Hotel has plenty of character: pretty tile in our bathroom; portraits hanging in all the rooms and hallways; nice places to sit outside; free pitchers of filtered water. Although in the center of the city, it was quiet and protected. Absolutely recommend it and plan to go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arleneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    245
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
121
239
94
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Casa Gonzales has been our place to stay in Mexico City - great hospitality, excellent value for the warm reception and service. It´s close to most attractions in town, and staff gives you the best advice on what´s going on. Recently, they also offer four beautiful apartments to rent in the enchanting town of Tepoztlan, around one hour away, a magical place. Their apartments are spacious, with a heated pool in a beautiful garden with the same friendly staff we got used to in Mexico City. Tepoztlan can´t be missed for its charm and spirituality, wonderful handicraft and colourful characters in a archeological site.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This hotel, which can only be described as one step up from a backpackers hostel, was shabby, dated, and somewhat unclean. The reception staff were disorganized and unfriendly from the moment of our arrival. The first room we were given was tiny, with a shower stall that needed to be replaced. The curtain rods were falling off the walls, and the entrance door stuck every time you entered or left. Large scratches marred the wooden floors and the tiled areas were cracked and broken. There was little room for luggage. The noise level made sleeping extremely difficult due to windows which either needed to be replaced or repaired, and the constant comings and goings of other travelers at all hours of the night.
The entrance to the "hotel" was grimy and unwelcoming, giving a very poor first impression.
Wake up calls were either late, or not made.
While the location was good, that is about the best which can be said about this worn down and worn out hotel.
A four star rating for this place is just a cruel joke. Zero stars would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexigal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlynewguy, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post this comment.

We are very sorry you did not have a good experience at Casa Gonzalez.

We are making important managing changes and part of the personnel is new.

We are working on changing the things you noted as being wrong, and hope to have the opportunity of having you stay with us once more so we can change your very bad impression of the hotel.

Happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My wife and I were traveling with another couple and they lost our reservations. They admitted that they remembered that we had reservations, but for some reason they'd deleted them. After a couple hours of dealing with people that just shrugged their shoulders at us we were given closet sized rooms next to the very loud kitchen.

Then my wife and I were woken up on 2 consecutive mornings, first at 7 am with breakfast we didn't order after we'd arrived late the night before. Then we got a 4 am wake up call that we didn't order. 4am.

No apology, no offer of a free night or reduced bill. Casa Gonzalez sucks. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidstonecrusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlynewguy, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
I am very sorry your experience at Casa Gonzalez was so disapointing.

I believe than at the time you were there the lady at the front desk had personal problems, she is no longer working wit us.

Please contact us at the e-mail you used to reserve so that we can compensate you in some way (I know that there is nothing that makes up for a disappointing experience but we will try).

Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

The Casa Gonzalez in Mexico City offers a variety of rooms in a lovely setting. The staff was extraordinarily helpful and we met many interesting people from Europe and New Zealand in our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlynewguy, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to poste such a nice note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I thought I'd found the right place for my last night in Mexico City, but I was really disappointed. Just goes to show that people can stay in the same hotel but have a completely different impression. The bed was not that comfortable and the room was featureless and uninviting, although large, situated off a drab lounge room. The front desk staff weren't particularly friendly, the hot water wasn't working in my room and it was the first place I'd been to in Mexico which charged for bottled water. All in all, so different from the reviews. Maybe if I'd looked at a few rooms I could have switched to a better one and if I'd stayed longer I'd have had a better experience. I had to leave very early the next morning for my flight, so missed out on breakfast and can't comment on that part. I stayed in an apartment in Condesa previously in Mexico City which I enjoyed a lot more.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailin_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendlynewguy, Owner at Hotel Casa Gonzalez, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Dear sailin_gal,

I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about Casa Gonzalez.
I am extremlly sorry you did not have a favorable experience and would appreciate if you could contact us by e-mail to let us know a little bit more of the details you did not like.
We are always eager to improve and are working very hard to make things better.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Very good experience! The atmosphere is very relaxing in the patio with the bar. You can rest closing outside the noise of the city. The room are very large as the double bed! Very recommended.
The breakfast is good even if only coffe/milk,jam and bread is included. If you want a cake,pancake or eggs you have to pay more.
If you want the also serve dinner.
Great for couples!
Good location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juras77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#31 of 305 in Mexico City
568 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#38 of 305 in Mexico City
821 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#12 of 305 in Mexico City
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#32 of 305 in Mexico City
808 reviews
Hotel El Ejecutivo
#52 of 305 in Mexico City
1,403 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 305 in Mexico City
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Gonzalez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Gonzalez

Property: Hotel Casa Gonzalez
Address: Calle Rio Sena 69, Mexico City 06500, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
#17 Green Hotel in Mexico City
#18 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Gonzalez 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most important is that we want to make this your home away from home, at an accessible price.Casa Gonzalez is four old homes surrounded by courtyards and gardens of different eras that have been adapted to make a home for travelers. The two original homes were built by the current owners grandfather in the mid 1920's.One of the houses belonged to a famous movie star, Lupe Velez (who married Johnny Weissmuller for a few years).The latest addition was built in the early 1940's by a relatively well know architect, Roberto Buenrostro, as his private residence. The guest house started operating in the early 30's by the grandmother and great grandmother of the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa Gonzalez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gonzalez Hotel Mexico City
Casa Gonzalez Mexico City
Hotel Casa Gonzalez Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing