We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The decor, ambience of the hotel is worth a visit but noisy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #33 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The decor, ambience of the hotel is worth a visit but noisy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel has a rich history with lots of artifacts, pictures etc. displayed around the foyer from it's past. Unfortunately all descriptions are in Spanish. The downstairs area is beautifully decorated. The breakfast room is filled with plants, light and birdcages - eating breakfast (which is very average) with birds singing was nice. It's a small area and sometimes you had to wait to be seated. We asked for a quiet room having read on Trip Advisor about how noisy the street can get. The male receptionist was civil but uninterested. We were given a room on the 3rd floor and by 1.00 a.m. the noise from the street/bars was so loud we demanded to be moved. We spent the next 4 nights in a much smaller room (for the same price) but it was quiet. It was also very stuffy. It had windows but also mosquitoes. The beds were comfy; the room clean. There was paid internet in the business centre - $5 USD for 30 mins. The location was in the centre of Zona Rosa and close to the metro. There were police on every street corner, police cars with flashing lights everywhere and nearly every shop, restaurant etc. had security guards. It felt safe walking around but also concerning about why was there such a high level of security in the area.
If you are young, gay, want to party Zona Rosa would suit you. We found it noisy, unattractive and uninteresting. Staying at the hotel was a sterile experience. The staff, in general, were civil but not warm or overly helpful. We felt they were annoyed they had to speak english and make an effort to understands us.

Room Tip: Definately request a quiet room away from the front of the hotel unless you like to stay up late and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
The Hotel Geneve appreciate the time for writing your experience, we really value all our guests comments

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    335
    124
    28
    17
See reviews for
156
257
78
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff was accommodating, helpful, and polite. We enjoyed eating breakfast in their restaurant with the birds chirping, and the wait staff is excellent. No problems with wifi. Clean, quiet rooms. One night the people next to us started a loud party. We called the desk; security immediately shut it down. The location is great, too. It is a party area at night, but the noise on the streets didn't bother us. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2TravelandEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them. We, at the Geneve Hotel do our best to satisfied our guests expectations

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

A decent hotel with a lot of history, well-located in Mexico City. The staff was nice, but it was much easier that we spoke some Spanish. The wifi did not work very well in the room, but the hotel was clean and definitely had its own character.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we value them. We at the Geneve Hotel grow with every comment or suggestion.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Bed was confortable, pillows terrible, some staff rude, some staff really nice, don't cater to English speakers very well,wi fi didn't work in room, air con didn't really work just made heaps of noise, very bad outlook from the windows from the room we had.
The spa staff told us gym was closed and we saw the random nice staff letting other ppl in haha not sure what the deal is with that. But overall I would say it was ok but I was a bit frustrated.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, be sure that we are going to solve the inconvenients that you encounter.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent 4 days in Mexico City at the Hotel Geneve and truly enjoyed the visit. The hotel was classic, the staff and service were wonderful, our room was very comfortable, and the Zona Rosa is a great location. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessendore_cary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you very much for the time taken for this comment, it is alway good to hear that our guests will take this Hotel on their next visit. we will be waiting for you

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I just stayed there for a few days last week based of the recommendation of a friend.

The first room they put me in was a nightmare, something was leaking and there was a bug. However, they QUICKLY put me in a much nicer room. Thank you guys :)

Check in was brief,, super warm and friendly staff - the only reasonthey get an average rating is because of the Room Service. They would completely forget to bring stuff like extra towels, or breakfast. You definitely have to call back after 15 minutes to make sure what you order is on its way and they still aren't really in a rush.

The bed in the room was super comfy, nice new, clean sheets. The A/C was killing it and was so welcomed after a day of adventure.

The spa gives GREAT and cheap massages - i recommend you get several throughout your stay :)

Great location, central to everything and thats that Mexico city is HUGE.

The food they offer is a little sad but get that Geneve Sandwich and stay away from the tacos and you will be fine.

Whats weird about the hotel is that it has all these amazing grand rooms where breakfast is supposed to be served but they are all closed off? Im assuming lack of staff maybe?

Anyway - it was super cute, clean and affordable so i I would absolutely return!

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms with the king size beds facing the street. I stayed in room #333 and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianelucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Than you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them. I'm sorry that thw first room that you occupied wasn't properly. As you promise we will wait for you on your next visit

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with my husband. It was our first time to Mexico City and we felt perfectly safe. Lots of good places to eat around the hotel. Room was small but nice. Bed was comfortable, and nicely decorated. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lalilove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we appreciate the time taken to make this review. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#29 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#45 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle Londres 130, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing