We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Museum Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #35 of 307 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“'Museum Hotel"”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice hotel with a splendid entrance & lobby filled with artefacts & the library & bar area is adorable.
Chose a larger suite room which was spacious enough, though nothing special & the view was horrible.
Comfortable bed & enjoyed breakfast in the room as the breakfast area seemed crowded.
Service was patchy at best, with a few errors noted & some reception staff could learn to smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieScott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we will sure keep on eye our colaborators that do not smile, this is something that we cannot accept as it is a standard of the hotel.
Thanks again for letting us know.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    344
    127
    28
    18
See reviews for
160
262
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at the hotel Geneve. Service was fantastic, check-in and check-out in seconds, concierge (Ariel and Giovanni) unbelievably helpful and knowledgeable, Rufina (housekeeping) is the cutest and nicest person in the world, all the personnel in the restaurant was amazing, lots of security, business center and spa staff were also helpful and very nice. The hotel is beautiful but needs some updates. The carpet in the hallways looks very old and gives a lack of maintenance impression; room furniture is also old and makes the small room space look even smaller and uncomfortable. Although rooms are small, with modern and more functional furniture they could be more pleasing to the eye and even more comfortable. Location is good, very central, close to the Angel de la Independencia, but if your room looks towards Londres street it could be very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbarrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Google Translation
EL hotel Geneve agradece el tiempo dedicado para realizar este comentario. Cada uno de los comentarios de nuestros huespedes son tomados con suma importancia y son indicadores de nuestro trabajo.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Wonderful stay!

It is in Zona Rosa, not far from the metro insurgentes (Line 1). Everything is within the 5 min walking distance (7-11, Circle-K, metro, KFC, McDonald's, Santander ATM) - this is very important for us. Actually, this is our second trip to Mexico City. We lived in Centro Historico when we arrived Mexico, and headed for SMA, Guadalajara for like two weeks, then we came back to Mexico City and flew back to US. At first, we thought living around Zócalo might be a good choice for it is near to many places - yeah, it might be true. However, it was about 11pm when we arrived at Mexico City. When we got to the hotel, we were starving (food on Delta sucks). When we went out tried to grab some food: all restaurants were closed. God bless, we found one convenience store and only bought some BIMBO bread...

However, this time, we lived in Zona Rosa, it was so cool. Those stores and restaurants open till late night (at least) - not like Centro Historico, nothing but policemen at 11pm. One more thing, the policeman told us the Zócalo metro station was closed during Christmas.

There are many fabulous restaurants around the hotel. Since it is so close to the metro, many nice restaurants is around 30min metro+walk distance, like Les Moustaches, Pujol, Anatol...

We arrived at Hotel Geneve in the morning, around 9am. They offered us a first floor room. I have to say that the first night is not as good as we expected. Since it is on the first floor, there is no outside views. I don't know if other rooms have the same issue, but the Room 149 have no power outlet in the room! Oh, yes, there is a one behind a cabinet, which is used by a coffee maker. We have to charge our iPad and iPhone in the bathroom...so bad.

So we let them change our room to a higher floor on the next day. This time, the room is wonderful - at least there are two power outlets beside the bed. The bed is comfortable and the room is clean. The window is facing the Londres street but quiet. The front desk is very helpful and the staffs speak flawless English. Considering the price, I highly recommend this hotel.

Oh, one thing to mention: I found that the cleaning stuff didn't vacuum the room. One night, I some potato chips fell on the floor, but the remaining is still on the floor after the room is cleaned.

Room Tip: If possible, not choose the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garfield_Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we apprecite the time for writting them. Be sure that everything that you point out is already addressed to the departments heads.
All our guest comments are very important.

Thank you very much

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Yucatan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location! Any necessity you could wish for is within less than a minutes walk from the hotel. Great architecture and history!

My room was spacious, sunny, clean, quiet and comfortable. Updated. Spacious bath with plenty of hot water. Flat screen with lots of cable channels. Comfortable beds with plump pillows, coffee service, safe, big closet, iron and board. The wifi was a tad weak but It was OK.

The front desk was helpful and always available. Friendly, uniformed 24-hour security at the front door of the hotel and non-intimidating police officers are obvious all over the area.

Breakfast buffet was included and it was surprisingly very, very good!

A great value, excellent location and home-away-from-home comfort! I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miguelsmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Google Translation
El Hotel Geneve por mi conducto le agradece sinceramente sus comentarios, siempre es un placer saber que hemos logrado satisfacer a nuestros huespedes.

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para hacer este comentario.

Sinceramente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well located in the Zona Rosa, and is a good alternative for a business trip or if it is important to be in central DF. The hotel is old and a bit run down along the edges, but is certainly well maintained. The staff are helpful enough. The wifi was essentially useless in the room, and at times ok in the lobby. Overall, I would say that this was a good experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments, all our guests comments are taken seriously.

We hope to see you again in a near future

sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Booked this Hotel on past reviews. Great location for sightseeing and very generous breakfast. Impressive lobby and entranceway as many reviewers have mentioned. Room was large and beds are very comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful, even though our Spanish was limited.
Would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to any visitors to Mexico City.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our room facing the street. 382
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
We really appreciate the time you took for writing this review. Our first concern is to exceed our guests expectations, we are glad that you encountered the service and facilities appropriate.

All our guest comments help us to improve and achive our goals.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The comunal places are stunning, just like on the website. Shame about the palm room not having palms any more. Breakfast terrace was a bit chilly in November, and breakfast was average, but rhe setting was beautiful.
The first room I was given was just above a row of AC units - imagine it would be like sleeping next to a busy runway. But on asking I was given a different room, much quieter - thank you! Both rooms could do with decorating/updating, but were clean.
Location is right for sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we regret that er did not exceed your expectations, we are truly sorry about that. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#29 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 307 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#46 of 307 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle Londres 130, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing