We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful comum areas,but rooms are a bit old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Ranked #34 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Lisboa
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful comum areas,but rooms are a bit old”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The comum areas are the most beautiful I have seen in a cozy hotel, styled like a gothic victorian entrance and a garden restaurant inspired in XIX decor you'll really enjoy spend time here.
The rooms are spacious on the upper floors but very small on the first floor.
The bathroom its small, specially the bathtub.
There is no mini bar in the rooms, but there is complementary coffee.
The internet in the lobby its ok, in the rooms its quite bad, but these is a very comum problem in the city, Starbucks (in front of the hotel has the best internet connection you can get).
The people its very friendly.
Breakfast its quite a big meal with an egg station, and a lot of mexican food (nachos, frijoles, meat) there is also yogurt, real fruit juice, fruit, cereals and bread.
There is no big assort of cakes/sweets.
If you want tea, cheese, ham or other stuff you have to ask its not in the buffet but its free also. (if you don't ask they won't bring it).
In front of the hotel there is Chili's restaurant and in the corner a street with several nice restaurants, its quite nice at day.
These are (zona rosa) has some clubs and prostitution by night it won't be safe walk in the streets after 8pm, just take a cab. Its a gay area also.
If you take an hotel taxi it would cost you 250pesos to get to the airport, and 100 pesos getting anywhere, if you pic it on a taxi lot it would cost about 15 pesos (they basically ad a 0 for hotel tourists). If you have a smartphone download the taxi ap and you'll get taxis easily and safely wherever you are.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarMourinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Google Translation
El Hotel Geneve agradece mucho sus comentarios pues éstos nos ayudan a satisfacer las expectativas de nuestros huespedes.
Solo como observacion respecto a los taxis, la diferencia en precio como usted menciona se debe a que los taxis que dan servicio al hotel (pero no son propiedad del hotel) son de sitio, esto quiere decir que estan estacionados a las afueras del hotel, los otros taxis que menciona, y cuya diferencia de precio es mucha, se debe a que son taxis que pasan por la calle.

Gracias nuevamente por el tiempo dedicado a este comentario, lo apreciamos mucho

Sinceramente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    349
    130
    28
    18
See reviews for
166
266
83
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This hotel, is in a great location, and is absolutely beautiful. The Lobby is stunning and I spent a lot of time just taking in all the beauty and memorbillia. the rooms are clean and comfortable, the staff friendly & helpful. A great experience. If staying over the weekend, ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: If staying at the weekend, ask for a room at the back, the front facing rooms are on the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlene h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
All our Geneve Hotel colaborators thanks you very much for your comments, we appreciate the time to write about your experience at the hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Located in an area great for walking, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are very comfortable, both ours and our friend's room faced a interior courtyard, no view but very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel is beautiful. We will stay there when we go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenteHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
All of our hotel colaborators thank you for the time taken to provide us with feed back about your experience at the Hotel. We are pleased that yours stay was a pleasent one. Our main concern is to achive the best guest satisfaction, your comments help us to improve our service level.

Thanks again

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMPA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I loved everything about this hotel! Staff was amazing and so accommodating! Always asking if we needed help and mKing sure we had everything we needed.. Hotel is beautiful and super clean! It's a museum! Lobby is gorgeous and rooms are nice, clean and a great size. Wifi is one of the fastest I've ever used! Location is great! Lots of places to eat, bars, convenience stores, you name it! Will definitely stay there again when in Mexico City!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aria50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
The Hotel Geneve really appreciate the time taken for your comments, we are pleased to hear that your stay was as you expected. All our guest comments are very important to us, as they show us how we are performing our guest satisfaction culture.

Thanks again

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The hotel still has it's old world charm but The Veranda Restaurant has made changes for the worst. They stopped serving butter; now, you are given a bowl with little yellow cubes of Grease!
It certainly isn't butter not even Oleo,just tasteless goo.
What used to be 3 strips of bacon is now 3 one half pieces which equals 1 1/2 strips. They may save a few Pesos on the front end but the lost my business at an average of $20 USD. "VIPS" restaurant down the street still offers the best value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Value Guest, on behalf of the Hotel Geneve I wolud like to offer my sincere apologie about what you encountered at breakfast, I'm deeply sorry that because of your veranda comment the grade that you gave to the entire hotel was poor. Be sure that our first goal is to exceed our guest expectations regarding all the hotel services. I will take proper actions to solve the Veranda situation.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Nice hotel with a splendid entrance & lobby filled with artefacts & the library & bar area is adorable.
Chose a larger suite room which was spacious enough, though nothing special & the view was horrible.
Comfortable bed & enjoyed breakfast in the room as the breakfast area seemed crowded.
Service was patchy at best, with a few errors noted & some reception staff could learn to smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieScott70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we will sure keep on eye our colaborators that do not smile, this is something that we cannot accept as it is a standard of the hotel.
Thanks again for letting us know.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had a wonderful time at the hotel Geneve. Service was fantastic, check-in and check-out in seconds, concierge (Ariel and Giovanni) unbelievably helpful and knowledgeable, Rufina (housekeeping) is the cutest and nicest person in the world, all the personnel in the restaurant was amazing, lots of security, business center and spa staff were also helpful and very nice. The hotel is beautiful but needs some updates. The carpet in the hallways looks very old and gives a lack of maintenance impression; room furniture is also old and makes the small room space look even smaller and uncomfortable. Although rooms are small, with modern and more functional furniture they could be more pleasing to the eye and even more comfortable. Location is good, very central, close to the Angel de la Independencia, but if your room looks towards Londres street it could be very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbarrag2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis Felipe B, General Manager at Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Google Translation
EL hotel Geneve agradece el tiempo dedicado para realizar este comentario. Cada uno de los comentarios de nuestros huespedes son tomados con suma importancia y son indicadores de nuestro trabajo.

Gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#43 of 310 in Mexico City
830 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#29 of 310 in Mexico City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Galeria Plaza Reforma
#33 of 310 in Mexico City
1,169 reviews
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,373 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
Ibis Styles Mexico Zona Rosa
#49 of 310 in Mexico City
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Property: Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Address: Calle Londres 130, Mexico City 06600, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#31 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#50 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most legendary hotel in Mexico. Avant-garde elegance and first class service are characteristics that the Hotel Geneve has maintained throughout the more than one hundred years since its inception. The architecture and decoration bring to mind a classical European style. The many antiques and pieces of art have become an integral facet of this museum hotel. Located in the heart of the famous Zona Rosa, the hotel is just a couple of blocks away from one of the most important avenues in the country, the well known Paseo de la Reforma. The Hotel is within walking distance of business and leisure areas which include many restaurants, bars, clubs, museums and the Centro Historico, or Historic City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geneve Hotel Mexico City
Geneve Mexico City
Hotel Geneve Ciudad De Mexico Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing