We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in DF, an authentic house and people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City
Ranked #2 of 151 Mexico City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B in DF, an authentic house and people”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are exhausted of being at hotels where everything is branded-set and the service and rooms are the same, you must come here! The house is an authentic piece of the area, the rooms are extremely well decorated and conceptualised with the mexican topic, the ecological tips and services are great but mostly the staff, Diego and Alan are the best hostess, they will let you know what to do nearby or in the city if you are staying a short or long period of time. I strongly recommend it: it's cheap, comfortable and authentic.

Room Tip: All rooms are different for each traveller, its best to go to the webpage and take a look of them. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JosueCalleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpatio77, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello,

We at El Patio 77 are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do appreciate your nice comments about the decoration an the ecological concept that we have, this means that we are on the right path.

Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again soo.

Tayron & El patio 77 staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    66
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
226
79
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best things in life always come unexpected! And Patio 77 was one of those surprises. Invited by a friend of mine to spend a night, it was love at the first sight from the moment I entered the place. Located in the heart of a popular neighborhood and only minutes away from all the important sights the city has to offer, Patio is an exquisitely decorated early 20th century casona with wooden floors and staircases, clean, spacious and comfortable rooms with great natural light and perfect acoustic isolation. The owners told us the story of time and effort it took to decorate the place and you can sense this immediately – like great wines, houses need time to become homes and Patio is a perfect example of that.

The thing I appreciated the most is the effort the owners are doing to go with the zeitgeist of the century and be eco-friendly. The water is heated by the sun and then reused and recycled for watering the lush gardens in the two inner patios, the furniture is all secondhand and selected with great taste (hence the time it took them to collect all of them, and there are some really astonishing pieces of furniture!) and even the tableware is made of recycled bottles! Personally I think that calling Patio 77 a B&B is actually an understatement.

Even though Mexico is a net producer of one of the best coffee beans in the world, good coffee is hard to find. Patio owners thought about that and I must admit that the coffee was delicious. You can even buy organically produced coffee from Chiapas directly in the hotel. A delicatessen, no doubt!

Being a frequent traveler and having stayed in a myriad of hotels, Patio 77 is, without doubt, a trend-setter in what the 21st century hotels should look like and how they should make you feel. A place where you are not a guest but a housemate.

Room Tip: The hotel is smoke-free, but the Oaxaca room has a beautiful street-facing balcony where you can smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank z3dnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diegomexicocity, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi!!!

The idea of being an unexpected pleasure for our guests is what keeps the "Patio 77" team working so hard in order to offer an "off the charts" experience to the travelers that arrives to our place.

We want to really thank you for your comments, it help us to keep improving.

We hope to see you again soon at El patio 77


El Patio 77 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I wasn't sure exactly where I was heading. But Patio 77 has been one of the most amazing surprises I've had in Mexico City. It was a pristine experience. One of the most beautiful houses around the area, decorated with exquisite taste and personality. It's catalogued as a Bed and Breakfast, but it has all the commodities you can need (plus is eco-friendly!!!). The whole house is finished with great vintage furniture, and little by little you can notice it's filled with gorgeous pieces, accessories and design. The mexican cuisine, is thought for foreigners. Ask for their special "Pico de Gallo" salsa and their delicious molletes (bread slices with cheese and beans) for breakfast! And you'll be ready to kick the city!
There's a lot going on in San Rafael neighborhood. There's a great liquor store around the corner, where you can find all kind of wine, tequila and mezcal selection to bring home. A few blocks away, you can find interesting galleries like Estudio Cordera, Casa Maauad or Hilario Galguera. Also, a great mexican design shop called Taller Luum.
The owners, Diego and Alan, really made me feel like home. I couldn't find a better place to stay in beautiful Mexico City!

Room Tip: There's a great liquor store around the corner, where you can find all kind of wine, tequila, me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justinolh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diegomexicocity, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello dear guest,

We at patio 77 are very happy that you enjoyed so much your stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy de delightful options that San Rafael neighborhood provides to it's visitors.

Thanks a lot for each of your kind comments, we sincerily hope to see you again soon at our place.

Kindest regards

El Patio 77 team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

beatiful colonial building newly renovated and decorated respecting traditional style but adding personal modern touches. there is a magical athmosphere, we felt like traslated in another time. colonia san raphael is a very authentic quartier, sometime a bit rough but this is the beauty in it. great staff and breakfast, thanks a lot, we loved it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zemlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diegomexicocity, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hello!!

Thanks a lot for your comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, the fine architechture of the building and our service is something we are proud of.

We hope to see you again soon at El Patio 77.

Tayron & El Patio 77 staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

With El Patio 77, we found the best place possible to stay in Mexico! This restaured old Colonial House is a marvellous place. We stayed one week in three different rooms (Veracruz, Chiapas & Oaxaca), all made in a brilliant & elegant design, spacious, perfectly clean. Even the Bathroom, - which is usually the main problem in Mexico Hotels - are perfectly designed and offering water with real pressure :). El patio is located in the nice barrio de la San Rafael (quiet, with a typical market), at 15 minutes walking from the Historical Center, or 2 Metro stations. The owner Diego welcomed us very kindly and took the time to give us a lot af good directions / advices for our trip. This B&B is really the best place we have found during our different trips in South America and Europe.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpatio77, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi

Thanks for your comment!!
We hope that you felt like home at El patio 77, the first eco-friendly Bed&Breakfast, your comment help us to improve and grow to serve you .

We hope to see you again soon at El patio 77.

El patio 77 staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

El Patio was fantastic, it's a little oasis in the middle of Mexico City. The place is beautiful, the staff very friendly, great breakfast and really nice and comfortable rooms. The shared bathroom is also clean. Location is good, near a metro station and about half an hour walk from the historical centre.

Room Tip: Shared bathroom is fine and a good price. Rooms that have windows on the inside courtyard are much q...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank le27488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpatio77, Customer Service Staff at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi

Thanks for your comment!!
We hope that you felt like home at El patio 77, the first eco-friendly Bed&Breakfast, your comment help us to improve and grow to serve you .

We hope to see you again soon at El patio 77.

El patio 77 staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Based on the wonderful reviews this B&B had received, we booked a two-night stay here at the end of our visit to Mexico City. Having stayed at B&B's throughout the world, I can only give El Patio 77 three stars and barely that. The location is convenient to many areas yet located in a drab depressing neighborhood. One good thing, there are many interesting local restaurants to eat in - most are very casual (and inexpensive).

The room decor is very minimalist with very view authentic artifacts or handiworks despite claims to the contrary on the hotel website. Rooms are a mix of modern and cheap, with Ikea-like furniture and wood slabs for floors secured by screws. The only traditional Mexican pieces displayed were those few items for sale! Lighting is good. Rooms have neither air conditioning nor ceiling fans although a small table fan was available upon request. Rooms were quite warm, even in March, so I can only imagine the discomfort in the warmer, more humid summer months. Rooms were clean and neat, and a small safe was provided.

The bathroom in the Suite Chihuahua was strange at the least. Two small closets for the toilet and shower separated by a sink area - facing the living space. Basically no privacy from anyone else in the room as the "closets" are open on the top and not built up to the ceiling. I understand this is an "eco hotel" but have they never heard of biodegradable toilet paper? One cannot flush the dirty, used toilet paper but must store it in an open plastic container next to the toilet. Having been suffering from food poisoning during my stay (not contracted from the hotel) this was pretty disgusting. At the very least they should supply a plastic bag that can be tied up between cleanings and a cover for the container. This alone would prevent me from ever staying here again.

The breakfasts that they make a big deal over are nothing special. One day it was scrambled eggs and another a toasted baguette with some cheese on it. Yogurt and some fruit and fresh squeezed OJ and organic coffee are also offered. It is certainly adequate but nothing special. Filtered water is provided in a pitcher in the room but it is room temperature and not very refreshing.

Staff is around and helpful and friendly when asked. Ownership was friendly when approached but generally aloof and "hands off". No real presence like many other small properties I have stayed at.

If management wants to see how a truly amazing B&B is run and presented, they should pay a visit to Casa del Maya in Merida, Mexico. This property exemplifies how to run a small eco-friendly and beautiful B&B in Mexico for two-thirds the price. Disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elpatio77, General Manager at El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear guest,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as most of our guests do but I am happy you have seen lots of positive points too.

I just wanted to clarify some of your comments.

Point 1: Trash can. We suggest to put to toilet paper in the trash can NOT because we are an eco-friendly place but to avoid clogging the toilets as the pipes in the city are smaller than in several cities and countries. So it is just to prevent bigger problems.

Point 2: Decoration and interior design. El patio 77 has been selected by lots of photographers to make photo shoots. Besides, several interior design and decoration Magazine (Elle Decor , Arquitectural Digest & Bleu&Blanc to mention a few ones) have chosen us to make shootings and have written articles about el patio 77. However, I can understand you did not like the decoration. We all have our own taste.

Point 3: Presence. We try to help and to be here for our guests but we do not want to be intrusive. We are happy you have noticed we were here when needed and asked but we were not intrusive. It is not easy to find the balance. Lots of our guests become friends.

Point 4: Mexico city is 2300 meters high and no air conditioning is needed as it is fresh at night. However, as you mentioned, during a few weeks a year (could be in march or may), it can be a little bit hot and that is why we DO provide fan for this exceptional hot days. Summer is Humid but not really hot in Mexico City.

Point 5: the “toasted baguette with cheese” is called Molletes and it is one of my favorite Mexican breakfasts. A mollete is a baguette spread with fresh cooked beans, and topped with chihuahua cheese. It is then grilled in an oven until the cheese melts. It is served with pico de gallo which is a fresh, uncooked salad made from chopped tomato, white onion, chili and avocado. DELICIOUS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#13 of 310 in Mexico City
1,372 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
743 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Mexico City
Four Seasons Mexico City
#10 of 310 in Mexico City
1,306 reviews
Roma
Casa Goliana La Roma
Casa Goliana La Roma
#3 of 151 in Mexico City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City

Property: El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City
Address: Calle Joaquin Garcia Icazbalceta 77 | San Rafael District, Mexico City, Mexico City 06470, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El patio 77 is the first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City and the best boutique B&B in the center part of the city. More than a hotel, come and enjoy our house of the XIX Century with only 8 unique suites and a great service in the middle of this great city. San Rafael is a safe and central neighborhood near from the city center, roma, condesa and Polanco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El patio 77, first eco-friendly B&B in Mexico City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio 77, First Eco-Friendly B&B In Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing