We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but not in Room 37”
Review of Las Alcobas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Alcobas
Ranked #2 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here twice in the last month. On the first occasion I have nothing but praise for the six nights we stayed in a room which was not 37. The hotel staff are all courteous and go out of their way to help. The attention to detail was clear in the room, and the service from door staff to waiters was excellent. Early morning tea is a great bonus, and the continental breakfast was very good. The pastries match those in the top French hotels, and the fruit salad is refreshing and freshly prepared.

However, on our return for one night en route to the airport, we were placed in room 37. Not only is this a much less nice room, it is also incredibly noisy as a previous contributor has said. There was permanent noise and I was awoken abruptly before 5 am by very loud banging on a door. The room also had several faults, which we mentioned on leaving, and no doubt will have been rectified. If this had been my only experience of this hotel it would undoubtedly have had a poor rating.

Room Tip: Not room 37!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear CED,
Thank you for writing your review. We are already looking to find a solution for room 37.
I hope that your journey back home went well and that you are feeling better. Mexico is an amazing country and there is a lot to discover and still more to see.
I hope you will be able to come again to visit us soon.
Yours sincerely,
Herve F. Blondel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is located in Polanco which is a very nice area to stay in with lots of restaurants, cafes and boutiques. Being a small hotel it does not offer a pool, a sun deck or a bar. It is a stylish, contemporary hotel with excellent service overall. The spa consits of only 2 massage rooms but the professionals were very good. The area that needs urgent improvement is their breakfast. Their continental breakfast doesn't include bread, butter or jam. You have to keep asking the waiters to serve you each piece of bread. The waiters are very badly trained and have a bad attitude!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear sandra h,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments are really important to our team and we have been immediately working on this issue. I hope you will be able to come to Mexico and Las Alcobas sometime soon. Please feel free to contact me directly
h.blondel@lasalcobas.com

Herve Blondel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just had our breakfast earlier and the service was terribly disappointing and unprofessional! No smile and rude is answering my questions and I had to even serve my coffee! I have two more days here in this hotel and I hope the services improves!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Chao-Kuang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Mr. Chen,
I appreciate your writing your comments, as you are still inhouse I would love to speak with you about your experience.
Once I apreciate you and your family staying with us.
Herve Blondel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This review will be difficult to write.

Everyone we interacted with at las Alcobas was terrific. The hotel is in a great location in Polanco. The shower was wonderful. We paid $343 for a night that included breakfast--not bad and the breakfast was excellent.

Unfortunately our room was located above a kitchen, and there was activity in the kitchen all night long. We heard things being scraped, moved and banged throughout the night. The hotel had obviously taken steps to keep outside noise from getting in, but noise from inside negated all that. This was especially disappointing because my one request on the reservation was that we receive a quiet room. For me a quiet place to sleep is so fundamental to a hotel's function, that if that element is not attained then little else matters.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LSBurdett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Mrs. LSBurdett,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comment. We learn from comments and can only get better.
I spoke to my engineer and we are working into finding an immediate solution. I hope that we didn't deter you from using our property. Pleasse contact me directly as I would love to be able to speak with you.
Yours sincerely,

Herve Blondel - General Manager
hblondel@lasalcobas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Outstanding boutique hotel in the center of the Polanco district. Exquisite accommodations, impeccable service. Expensive but worth it. There's no pool, and we didn't have time to have spa service; but the bathtub with jets and temperature settings was great!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear ChuckandJane,
Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you will have to come back for a massage soon.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Mexico and the team is looking forward to see you again.
Herve Blondel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here over NYE and was the first hotel we visited in Mexico, well in Central/South America, so we have no benchmark and will be comparing to hotels we have stayed in the US and SE Asia. The staff were very courteous and professional, all very willing to help and knowledgable about the area. Helped in booking trips, arranging taxi's etc. with guides that were also very good. Upon arrival we were upgraded two levels above what we had booked which was great! The rooms were very modern if a little small but lots of technology including electric blinds. Room service was very efficient and the food tasty. I really cannot complain about anything. The only minor quibble was the breakfast, we had room service each day and each something was missing e.g. bread without butter, butter with bread, coffee no milk, etc. but I'm probably being picky

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR_RACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear MR_RACE,
Thank you for your feedback about las Alcobas. I am glad you were able to start your trip by Mexico city. Thanks to comments like yours we are able to refine our services. We already made some changes and i can garanty you a great breakfast when you come back to visit us.

Herve F. Blondel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Well, I have to start from the point, that I don't have a benchamark in hotels' world in Mexico City. This is my first visit to this country and "Las Alcobas" was the first hotel I have visited in this city. Positives are:
- good location - prestigeous street with all famous World's brand shops
- clean and quiet rooms
- nice and professional service at all functions
- personal everyday supervision of a General Manager
- very good food in a hotel' restaurant
So it looks that all what you want to find in the hotel is there. And thismis true, but reading that Las Alcobas has been voted as the best hotel in Mexico City, I was simply expecting more. For example:
- bigger rooms
- quicker service
- hotel's bar, where I would be able to sip my margarita
- swimming pool
But none of the above is available at Las Alcobas. So in case you don't expect spectatular hotel, but just a good quality hotel, book your room in this hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasGerente, General Manager at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear XXXPol ,
Thank you for review . As you kow we are a boutique Hotel located downtown Mexico city and in the Polanco district. What makes the charm of our property is its size and the attention we can bring to each one of our guests. We don`t have a pool and the restaurant attached to the hotel doesn't have a full bar area but we have a space where we can serve drinks. The hotel is surrounded by one of the most vibrant restaurant, bar and cultural scene. We hope that you will enjoy the remainder of your stay in our great country.

Herve F. Blondel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
The St. Regis Mexico City
#10 of 312 in Mexico City
997 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
196 reviews
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#14 of 312 in Mexico City
2,125 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alcobas

Address: Ave. Presidente Masaryk 390 | Col. Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £249 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Las Alcobas 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to resemble a private residence, Las Alcobas, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mexico City has unique features that lavishly exude warmth and comfort, hand-selected details to enhance and enliven your senses, and the calm serenity of being at ease in your environment. These are the ingredients for a refined experience at a hotel in Mexico City. For business and leisure travelers, our hotel's 35 guestrooms and suites reflect our commitment to quality and the highest level of attentive service imbued with unparalleled comfort with luxurious accommodations that await you in Mexico City in state of the arts guestrooms and exceptional bathrooms. Las Alcobas, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mexico City is composed of both architectural as well as aesthetic exquisiteness, while simultaneously offering the utmost service with its symphonic melding of personalized amenities, including two restaurants, and complete attentiveness to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Alcobas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alcobas Mexico Df Hotel Mexico City
Las Alcobas Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing