We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style and service in Polanco”
Review of Las Alcobas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Alcobas
Ranked #2 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Really nicely appointed and spacious suite (Las Alcobas Suite). Excellent service, perfect neighborhood to wander out on foot and enjoy Mexico City. The beautiful and not to be missed Museo Soumaya is within walking distance. If you appreciate Art, don't miss it. Would love to return. Starbucks is 300 ft away ... perfect for a morning coffee and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: Only know the Las Alcobas Suite and it provides value for money. If you are traveling with teenagers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0rtelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our team will be proud to hear that you found our service to be excellent. We are happy that you were able to explore the surrounding cultural highlights and found us to be a great location!

Kindly,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I just got back from four nights at Las Alcobas. It was my first visit to Mexico City and I spent a while figuring out the best hotel that would provide the best combination of a safe, convenient neighborhood, while also being fun and luxurious. Las Alcobas almost met all of that criteria, and provided an excellent base for a first visit to Mexico City.

The Polanco neighborhood, and in particular the section that Las Alcobas is in, is filled with boutiques and cafes and is really pleasant to walk around, not to mention exteremely safe feeling. There is a small park down the street, and the larger Chapultec (spelling?) city park is a short distance away, perfect for a run from the hotel. Many of the best restaurants in the city are in this neighborhood, so it was nice to be able to walk to and from dinner as well. That being said, we spent the afternoon walking around Roma and Condesa one day, and those areas definitely have a hipper younger feel.

Las Alcobas itself is a beautiful property. The quality of design and construciton is very high. The first floor lobby is a little dark and confined, and feels more like an upscale waiting room than a hotel lobby, but once you pass that point to the beautiful spiral staircase, and guest rooms everything is really stunning. The guestroom, while not large, was one of the most comfortable and well designed rooms I had been in recently. The bed faced floor to cieling glass windows, that have automatic curtains that can be controlled from the phone next to the bed. The bedding was all of the highest quality, and all of the furnishings were well thought out. Everything in the mini bar (aside from alcohol) is complimentary, and the complimentary continental breakfast and 'wake up' coffee and tea that were delivered daily were amazing touches. Windows are beyond double paned, and as such the guest rooms that faced the main street (currently a construciton zone) were virtually silent aside from a little noise from housekeeping in the morning. Our room was located accross from the fitness center which was decently equipped, but small and dark. I wish boutqiue hotels would put a little more effort into their gyms rather than jamming them into what would otherwise probably be a service room, but then again every time I was in the gym I was the only person using it...

Service was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to help us make reservations (change reservations), and plan excursions through the city. They will let you charge any cab ride to the room as well which is helpful, and none of the excursions or cars we booked through the hotel were exhorbitantly priced (we got a car service to take us around one day to sight see for about the equivalent of $15/ hour). The breakfast food was well presented, but just okay. Baked goods and yogurts were great, but every cooked egg dish seemed to be just a little off/ too cold, not enough seasoning, etc. The breakfast room, if you choose not to have breakfast served in room is very nice.

So, why only four stars? For a young couple, looking to take advantage of the exciting dining and nightlife of Mexico City, Las Alcobas fell a little flat. We would have loved to enjoy a great bar before and/or after dinner, or a great rooftop lounge that some of the Grupo Habita hotels (Condesa DF, Down Town hotel) have. With choosing Las Alcobas, you are certainly choosing one of the more luxurious (if not the most luxurious) hotel options in town, but it would be really great to have a fun common area, indoors and/or outdoors to hang out at the hotel if you didn't want to be in the room. Even the on site restaurant (Anatol) is not visibly connected from the lobby, it is accessed from the street, or via a small back entrance from behind the elevators. Even opening this up to the lobby and creating more of a lounge, bar atmosphere in the lobby would be an imporvement.

Room Tip: Our executive king room facing Mazaryk avenue was really nice and quiet. I know some of the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvanSK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your visit with us! It is a pleasure to hear that you were happy with our service, our team will be pleased to know that. Additionally, that you found our excursions to be reasonably priced.
We are glad that you enjoyed our guest amenities in the rooms and as that you found the rooms to be quiet - as we strive to create a calm atmosphere as a respite from the city. Thank you again for sharing all your constructive comments. We hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kindly,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The pool area was lovely. They had a card they gave kids on arrival that allowed them to get a snack, an ice cream treat at the Ben and Jerry's nearby,etc. Our kids just love these added touches.this hotel is very conveniently located to a variety of tourist attractions,restaurants,etc.

Room Tip: nice rooms view !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johana_alfaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate talking the time to write a review but I think there is a mistake as Las Alcobas does not have a swimming pool and we also don`t have a cupons for icecream.

Hopefully you can visit Las Alcobas in your next trip to Mexico City!

Kindest Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is truly a wonderful small, Mexican owned and operated hotel. Sure, you could stay at the Four Seasons or The St. Regis and replicate the experience that you would have at those hotels anywhere in the world...or...you could stay at a luxurious Mexican hotel with a warm, attentive staff, lovely rooms and excellent food. I'll take Las Alcobas!
The area is safe and interesting with great places to shop and eat. (However, the restaurant at the hotel is excellent.)
You are about a $7 US cab ride from the central historic area, but, it is well worth it. This is a wonderful, peaceful vacation from a busy, crowded city.

Room Tip: Book it through whatahotel.com for a great rate and an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stelmosfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We so glad that you were truly able to appreciate all the we have to offer. Thank you for making Las Alcobas your “home away from home”. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip.

Kindly,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This small hotel exceeds all expectations. We have stayed in great hotels around the world and Las Alcobas has been the best. No detail has been overlooked and the service is impeccable. The location is in a safe area for walking the neighborhood and close to several great restaurants. Breakfast in the hotel was one of our favorite experiences during our stay - don't miss it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued comments! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy and appreciate the surrounding neighborhood of Polanco, it is a lovely neighbor to enjoy. As well, it is great to hear that you were impressed by the service, especially that your breakfast was one of your favorites! Our team will be most happy to hear those comments! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kindly,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at Las Alcobas for 3 nights back in February and wished we could have stayed there longer. The hotel is located in an upscale neighborhood, Polanco, and there are so many great cafes, restaurants, and shops within walking distance. The hotel provided us impeccable service throughout the hotel, fresh and tasty breakfast, comfortable bed, and free wi-fi. Everything about this hotel was wonderful though the best part was definitely the shower. A nice shower head plus water attacking from all directions with a perfect water pressure, that was something we looked forward to every morning and night. Mexico City was such an inspirational place itself, and Las Alcobas definitely made our visit even more special. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambinovano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially the shower!
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is hotel has been simply perfect. I highly recommend it to anyone/everyone who is heading to Mexico City. It is actually so wonderful that is worth planning a trip simply to stay here. It hits all of my high notes: welcoming to children without being kitschy or demeaning of said children; excellent design both aesthetically and functionally; delicious (understatement) restaurants with organic and locally-sourced eggs, vegetables, and meats; killer margaritas (salted foam!); beautiful bath products crafted locally with indigenous ingredients; top-notch service (really top notch - from early email correspondence to handling requests onsite, they were amazing) and a great, walkable neighborhood with parks and restaurants galore. My husband and I agreed tonight that it definitely makes our short list of favorite hotels of all time, and honestly it might be my very favorite.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francescacooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasAlcobasDF, Director of Sales at Las Alcobas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your detailed comments! We are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and were able to appreciate all that we have to offer. We look forward to your to return!

Kindly,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Four Seasons Hotel Mexico City
The St. Regis Mexico City
#7 of 312 in Mexico City
975 reviews
Polanco
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
JW Marriott Hotel Mexico City
#11 of 312 in Mexico City
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polanco
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
Hyatt Regency Mexico City
#13 of 312 in Mexico City
2,056 reviews
Polanco
W Mexico City
W Mexico City
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
944 reviews
Lomas de Chapultepec 5
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
Isaaya Hotel Boutique
#1 of 312 in Mexico City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Alcobas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Alcobas

Address: Ave. Presidente Masaryk 390 | Col. Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Polanco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#1 Spa Hotel in Mexico City
#4 Business Hotel in Mexico City
#12 Family Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £252 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Las Alcobas 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to resemble a private residence, Las Alcobas, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mexico City has unique features that lavishly exude warmth and comfort, hand-selected details to enhance and enliven your senses, and the calm serenity of being at ease in your environment. These are the ingredients for a refined experience at a hotel in Mexico City. For business and leisure travelers, our hotel's 35 guestrooms and suites reflect our commitment to quality and the highest level of attentive service imbued with unparalleled comfort with luxurious accommodations that await you in Mexico City in state of the arts guestrooms and exceptional bathrooms. Las Alcobas, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Mexico City is composed of both architectural as well as aesthetic exquisiteness, while simultaneously offering the utmost service with its symphonic melding of personalized amenities, including two restaurants, and complete attentiveness to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Alcobas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Alcobas Mexico Df Hotel Mexico City
Las Alcobas Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing