We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Grand Prix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Prix Hotel
Ranked #140 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Just average”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotels directly connected to the Mexico city airport can be pricey. I am traveling in Mexico for a month and needed to wait for a friend near the airport for a two day period. Of the hotels close to the airport, the Gran Prix is one of the most reasonably priced, about $150 (US) for two nights. Here are things I liked, the room was a good size, had a TV with cable, and was modernly decorated, there was a gym with a functioning treadmill and a good restaurant. Here are the things that were not great: the rooms are dark, the linens were stained, the beds are extremely firm and the female staff behind the counter is not helpful. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and have a decent meal this place will do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    92
    77
    20
    22
See reviews for
34
79
35
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had a nice stay at this hotel, the restaurant is really good!
I had one problem only, is that I lost my bill after I left the hotel. and I sent them 5 E-mails to ask them to send me a soft copy or a scanned copy of it. but nobody answers :(
This made me unsatisfied

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amr Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I love this hotel. Great location. one of the best looking builings in the city. we had a good time sitting in our room looking out the window towards zocalo and people watch. i would highly recommend this hotel and also would stay here next time.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the zocalo are great but noise until late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pancho660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This hotel was ok for a stopover but there were a couple of negatives - The shuttle bus had to be called so you have to wait for half an hour or so, although the driver was friendly and helpful. Reception was adequate but not particularly friendly, and as the previous poster says, room service has to be paid in cash and the person who brought it looked clearly disappointed with the tip I gave. I stayed at the Doubletree Hilton on my return leg and would recommend that over Grand Prix.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Communication with hotel is iffy at best. E-mails not answered. Airport shuttle has to be called, You can't e-mail them with your arrival time. Day reception speaks some English, the rest, not.
Room service has to be paid cash, you can't put it on your bill. It took over 25 minutes from airport. Return shuttle, booked for 3:30 A.M. for 6 A.M. flight did not show. Try finding a cab on the street! Reception estimated 120 Pesos for cab to airport, cab driver asked for 100. Ended up meter was just over 60. Paid 30+ in excess. It was a 10minute ride. I have no idea where the shuttle had taken us. No big deal but...
My daughter wanted to stay hear with a baby and they didn't know if they had a crib. She chose Double Tree by Hilton for $20US more and received impeccable service. Shuttle waiting at airport with her name on card. Shuttle to shopping area and shuttle back. Staff speaks English.

Room Tip: Street front is facing expressway and busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacre_Bleu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mexico City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nixa, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I needed a hotel located close to the airport and the US Embassy while stranded in Mexico City for 2 days due to passport complications. This establishment worked out very well being 10 minutes from airport and 30-60 minutes to and from embassy depending upon rush hour traffic. The hotel was very modern and clean in appearance in stark contrast to the surrounding neighborhood which was a rather run down appearing section of town. Hotel was very secure and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful, although very little English spoken here. Shuttle from airport was tricky to arrange with front desk staff using my broken Spanish (use 800# to arrange this from airport ). Purple is the color scheme throughout (see pics below). Spacious, clean, comfortable room. Hot water for shower took a while to start but worked fine after. Quiet room on 4th floor. Really friendly shuttle driver. Would stay here again in future.

Room Tip: 4th floor was quiet. Nothing to see outside windows in any direction from any floor. Run down appear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a stopover, checking in late afternoon leaving early the next morning.

Location - relatively close to the airport, maybe 10 minute drive. Airport transfer was good, we didn't use it the first time as we had no phone to call (our fault). Nothing around the hotel so don't expect to pop out and feel safe/find restaurants in the area.

Room - it was clean. Bed was average, we had a massive hole in our blankets which looked like a cigarette burn perhaps. Noisy! Both street and air conditioner, nothing some ear plugs won't fix.

Bathroom - to get hot water, don't turn cold tap on and leave running for at least 5 minutes before you get anything warm.

Staff - don't speak fabulous English, and didn't do much to help other than take our bags to our room and wait for a tip.

Wifi - again wasn't given this on check in, and it only worked for an hour then we couldn't login again.

Restaurant - best thing about this hotel, within the hotel this is your option for food. We were pleasantly surprised with the man who served us, he was lovely and the food was really nice. You pay for the convenience.

If you have the time, try searching another nearby hotel as I'm sure you can get better for a similar price.





Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mexico City
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aeropuerto
Holiday Inn Express Mexico Aerop...
#109 of 309 in Mexico City
51 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fiesta Inn Plaza Central
Fiesta Inn Plaza Central
#57 of 309 in Mexico City
359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Krystal Urban Aeropuerto Cd de Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riazor
Riazor
#83 of 309 in Mexico City
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Marcos
Hotel San Marcos
#25 of 72 in San Cristobal de las Casas
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Plaza Dali Mexico City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prix Hotel

Property: Grand Prix Hotel
Address: Av. Rio Churubusco No. 200 | Colonia Granjas, Mexico City 08400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 309 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Prix Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Prix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Prix Hotel Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing