We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and stirring church” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana)

Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
The Colors of Mexico Private Walking Tour: Zocalo, National Palace and Art
Ranked #9 of 482 things to do in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of the largest churches in Latin America, this famous cathedral dominates the Zócalo.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Beautiful and stirring church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is always so calming to get out of the bustle of the streets and just breath in and relax with the beauty of the history of this (and other) beautiful cathedral.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pierre1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,150
    1,023
    233
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The church was beautiful and I loved looking at all the items in the church. I was there to purchase some crosses for my grandmother who had passed away and I wanted to get her some of the crosses and to have them blessed. She had always wantes to visit mexico city and was never able to. I was satisfied with the purchase and the priest blessed them with holy water. Now one of the 7 I bought rests with my grandmother and the other six went to my aunt, father and my grandmother's 3 sisters and one for myself. I recommend making this a stop, historic and beautiful.

Helpful?
1 Thank lizziwizzi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
194 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Of you dont mind Crowds and traffic, the metropolitan cathedral and the next by temple mayor excavations are a must see while in Mexico City .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank salomon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“View from my balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Metropolitan Cathedral was the view from my balcony. I absolutely loved the carillons, the sounds of the bells were heavenly and they sounded day and night. The inside of the cathedral is very large with many of side altars. Outside there is lots of activity, native dances, indigenous people selling handmade goods, music, cleansings, food, and beverages. During December they project light shows on the Cathedral facade.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank anacaro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Important icon in Mexico City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Metropolitan Cathedral is by all means an iconic building in Mexico City, which took several years to complete. This is probably one of the reasons its style isn't very well defined from the architectural point of view. It's massive, but lacks the grace of most cathedrals in the main capital cities. It's strange that, although you'll usually find nice stained glass windows in most churches in Mexico City, this temple lacks them. While the high altar and the chapels are good examples of churrigueresque art, its environment doesn't even match that of neighboring churches, such as that of Santo Domingo, which is just a few blocks away. There's an interesting detail few people know: The bodies of the heroes of the Mexican war of independence were kept for several years in the Metropolitan Cathedral, and were later moved to the Column of Independence during the 20th Century. However, the remains of Agustín de Iturbide, who actually brought the independence to fruition, but who is considered an opportunist and a traitor by official history, were left behind. They can be seen at the chapel on the left side of the high altar, along with the throne he used when he proclaimed himself Emperor of Mexico.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jjeherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana) also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Metropolitan Cathedral (Catedral Metropolitana)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing