We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Ranked #31 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stayed here on business, the property is a little dated and could use a renovation, you get all the usual amenities such as minibar, toiletries and complimentary wi-fi although I don't know if this is the general norm or a deal gotten through my company.

I was awoken at 2:00am by a gentleman that claimed to be from security so I called the main desk and they confirmed his identity, when I opened the door he said that front desk had gotten a noise complaint and he was there to investigate!! I mean he was in front of my door for a good 2-3 min before I opened and clearly could hear no noise coming from my room, why would they do this?

I also forgot the charger of my tablet and when I phoned the hotel from the office to see if I could pick it up before leaving town they didn't even check for it because they never asked for my room number before saying that they had not gotten any reports about a charger left behind.

I wouldn't stay here, there are much better options along paseo de la reforma

Room Tip: You can find better options for the same price on paseo de la reforma
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfoxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Front Office Manager at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guests first of all I'm really sorry of the terrible situation you experienced during your last stay, second of all I already do the proper investigation of it and it was a failure from our security team, who were not able to detect the proper person who caused the noises, I am deeply sorry and it will not happen again, please aloud my property and my staff a second chance to take care and pamper you in all the best actions a good and standarized service demands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is in a great location for the bars and restaurants in the Zona Rosa area. The lobby area is well laid out and spacious, with two bars and restaurant. The staff upon arrival were welcoming and friendly and spoke good English. The room was well laid out, very comfortable and very clean - my only criticism would be that it was maybe a little dark. We had upgraded to the Executive floor, which included continental breakfast, late checkout (5pm) and complimentary local wines (which were excellent) and nibbles, between 6.30 & 8pm each evening. The sun deck and pool areas is nicely laid out and there is a small fitness room up on the roof too. The nearest Metro is Insurgentes which is about 10 mins walk away, which is on a direct line into the main city and has good interchanges with other lines. Taxi to the airport was about $250MEX. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the European Executive Suites - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Gerente at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hello dear guest¡
Thank you for choosing us as a hosting option.
I will be more than happy to share your comments with the staff.
I am really glad you enjoyed our wine of the house, Santo Tomas.
The management has approved a project of enhancing the light on the hallways; we have already started working, two different floors are already illuminated by a more efficient light.
I hope to see you soon again.
Best regards ¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel doesnt look as gorgeous as the picture for its exteria. But the location, staff are excellent and room is freat for its price. It's close to turibus stop, bars, restaurants (casa de toño) and there is a convenience store right across from it. On the day of arrive we are too hungry so we went rightt in for a lunch buffet at the hotel restaurant. Its pricy (compared to more local offerings), selection is limited but food quality is great. Not bad if you are in a rush. Internet is pricy if u didnt buy it when u book it. But otherwise the commection is fast and reliable. I would stay here again

2  Thank Dominic L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manuel A, Gerente at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest:
I am very grateful for your visit and for sharing your opinion.
I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast at Plaza Restaurant. I will be more than happy to share your comments with the staff. This will encourage us to bring our best effort.
You are right; there are plenty of things to do around within walking distance.
Of course, I am looking forward to see you soon in this, your house.
Best regards¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Bed extremely hard, the room was not too clean. The food at restaurant ok, but the service in the buffet was excellent. The only thing I like is the location. Not going again. I expect that this hotel was a four star, but it is like 3.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotellller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Gerente at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for staying with Us, I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant.
I am very sorry you have not found a clean facility.
Our Executive housekeeper is already aware.
I sincerely hope you visit us again and visit our gym and swimming pool. It is a very nice area to rest and relax, with a magnificent view of the city.
Hope to see you very soon¡
Best regards¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at the Galeria Plaza for 3 nights and it was alright.

The location was good, right in the middle of Zona Rosa, a block away from Reforma which was great, 10 mins away from Polanco by taxi, 15 from Chapultepec... from the top of the hotel you can see the Angel of Independence and the south of the city!

The service was welcoming and good, professional and courteous. We dealt with the concierge a couple of times and he was very helpful, they even helped us organise a private tour to Teotihuacan.

The facilities were alright - spacious marble lobby, nice restaurant, a very shallow but refreshing swimming pool at the top of the hotel with a sun deck, a well equipped gym.

The food was just OK. We had breakfast included so we ate there every morning and it was just OK, not freshly squeezed juice and not a massive selection but good enough for something to eat before heading out. No culinary eye-opening experience.

The room was alright. The beds were comfortable but there wasn't loads of space in the room with a huge table they have next to a bed. You can't open the windows and the view wasn't great, plus the room is quite dark with very dark furniture. The bathroom was a standard 80s/90s hotel but it was all clean.

All in all, we paid very little for it and it served its purpose, however it didn't have a luxurious feel but we weren't expecting that.For the price, I'd stay there again but for a cooler experience I'd go elsewhere to try.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Manager at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Very good day dear Guest ¡
We are very grateful that you have chosen us as a hosting option.
Our only goal is guest satisfaction and creating unique experiences.
I'm so glad you liked our executive floor, I hope you enjoyed the snacks we serve in the evenings.
I will gladly share your comments with our concierges; le clef d'or
I would love to see you again soon and say hello in person.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

On paper, and indeed, the internet, the GP is everything you need. Clean, close to amentities, nice rooms, helpful staff. But to scratch the surface is to see things a little more closely.

The GP is very close to amenities, particlarly Zona Rosa, Condesa and the Avenue/Galeria de la Reforma. No qualms there.

The first thing you notice is that from the outside, the GP certainly looks like a modern, luxurious, allegedly 5-star hotel. Even the lobby is quite nice. But then you step into your room and BAM - hello 1980's!! Quite old school furnishings, lots of chocolate brown wood panelling, a mini-bar you have to ask staff to 'unlock', a substandard bed (seriously, mattress technology has come a long way), and a pretty dowdy bathroom with 30 year old fittings. Don't get me wrong - everything did what it was supposed to do. Toilet flushed (although ours was faulty and kept running unless you pressed it twice), water came out of the shower-head (note the horrendous shower curtains), and the sink drained. Airconditioner worked but was very loud - again, old old old. Made it quite difficult to sleep. The bath is very small. Pillows were awful (personal taste).

The GP is indeed clean. Well, mostly clean. We stayed for 4 nights and in that time the bin in our room wasn't emptied, and on at least 1 night, our base sheet wasn't changed - i know this because a scratch on my foot accidentally bled on the sheet and left a small stain - which was still there the next day after housekeeping had made up the room. Like I say, mostly clean.

The staff were (mostly) lovely. We took our valuables downstairs to put in the reception safe (as advised by the in-room information) only to be greeted with a couple of surly grunts by the 20-something girl behind the reception counter (blue contact lenses - really??) who told us to use the room safe. Huh? Concierge and bell-boys were easily the most helpful and approachable staff, as were the housekeepers. Always smiling, always said hello. And we always gave them a tip (apologies, blue contacts girl). 'Free wifi' is only available by requesting a code from the business centre and is for use in the lobby only (hot tip - it will work in your room).

Gym and pool are on the upper floor and are reasonably well equipped (gym was great). Note though that the main pool is only about 4ft deep and if you want to swim in more than 4 feet of water, you had to use the "wave" pool - one of those deeper pools designed so the swimmer can swim constantly with water flowing towards them - as though they're training for the olympics (which I'm not).

We didn't buy breakfast (plenty of options nearby) or eat in the restaurant (ditto). One really disappointing thing was that there was no drinking water supplied in our room.

It's hard to explain our stay at the GP. It wasn't overly expensive so that's a plus. Certainly not a horrible hotel - but I certainly won't be back. I would say this is a 3 and a half star hotel at best. With a refit of furnishings and beds, this would have been a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Manager at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Customer:
Your review is very valuable. It gives us the opportunity to improve our service.
You can be sure that the board is well aware and a very important investment has been aproved to improve our facilities.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had to wait over an hour to check-in, lack of communication between hôtels.com and the front desk. Everything went smoothly afterwards. We booked a Brisas club room (10th-11th fl), reasonably priced, and you get complimentary breakfast and wine-hors d'œuvres in the evening, and Wi-Fi in the room (wich is really slow, but you manage to read your emails)

The hotel is well located near shops, restaurants, pharmacies, convenience stores, all within walking distance (safe area).

The Staff is amazing. Professional and Friendly. They all try to help you out. The room was a bit dated, but well kept and clean. The noise from the street below can be a down point for some, bring earplugs. The rooftop pool-terrasse is nicely appointed, but it's dead most of the time.

A downpoint for our entire stay was the card-keys wich were always demagnetized, and we had to go to the concierge desk (wich is on the 11th fl for brisas club) to have them fixed or changed. this procedure had to be done everyday we came back to the room!..

Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Brisas club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel A, Manager at Galeria Plaza Reforma, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are doing our best to provide an excellent service.
I hope you have enjoyed the Santo Tomas wine.
We work everyday in staff training, because our goal is your satisfaction.
A TIP: avoid placing key card close to cell phones.
I would love to see you soon again to show you how we have improved the key card issues.
Best Regards ¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#32 of 312 in Mexico City
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barcelo Mexico Reforma
#30 of 312 in Mexico City
975 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#41 of 312 in Mexico City
884 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galeria Plaza Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeria Plaza Reforma

Address: Calle Hamburgo 195 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico (Formerly Galeria Plaza)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#62 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £64 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galeria Plaza Reforma 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galeria Plaza Reforma offers a variety of 433 rooms and suites. For our corporate travelers we provide three Executive Floors with direct access to our exclusive Executive lounge. The hotel's central location in the Reforma Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galeria Plaza Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeria Plaza Hotel Mexico City
Galeria Plaza Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing