We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galeria Plaza Reforma
Ranked #34 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Reviewed 4 March 2014

If you want a hotel that looks beautiful but nothing works, this is the one for you! This should be a first class hotel, but it suffers from lack of maintenance and poor management. First they lost our reservation, the front desk was not very accommodating (actually couldn't care less about our situation),our air conditioner didn't work well, the electricity shorted out when I plugged in the hair dryer, what few outlets were in the room were falling out of the wall. Food, like the room, was very expensive but very average in quality. The room was very clean, the maids very competent , but not enough of them. Our room wasn't made up til 5:30 pm.The concierge was very good. They should have him running the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 253Lindab253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,271)
There are newer reviews for Galeria Plaza Reforma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

This ex-Westin hotel has seen better days!room maintenance needs some attention. We arrived late, were given a room without a key for the safe box, changed to a digital safe room but overlooked a very noisy disco, changed again around midnight but LED light over desk flashed every 90 seconds ALL NIGHT! Changed room again to a junior suite, which was OK for the next four nights. The bar drinks and food menus were limited but generally good for our late arrival on our first night, and the breakfast buffet was fine, for its type. The staff were generally helpful and the concierge staff good for booking restaurant and theatre facilities, but they did seem to have their personal taxi preferences at differing prices. Front desk was helpful in getting the right room eventually with a safe box that worked, but it seems half the safe keys are missing! The Wi-Fi worked intermittently but required constant repeat of password. The hotel's location in the Zona Rosa is a good feature, much in walking distance and adequate supply of taxis for further afield. In general, an OK experience in a major capital city.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not overlook the all-night disco and are as high as possible to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Seems like a safer area in the city, walking distance to restaurants. Really amazing small coffee shop on same side of street 2 or 3 blocks back.

Room was nice, didn't feel like a 4 star hotel but overall decent. Breakfast buffet was decent, nothing great. Staff spoke english so that was nice.

wi-fi on phone didn't work, but did work on laptop. Somewhat small room, but maybe not good dea to compare to rooms in United States.

Overall good for the price and location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank KamAli06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Coming every year for business and staying at Galeria Plaza for couple of days last 10 years I am overall still satisfied but have to say that hotel is slowly getting dated and that it needs some facelift. Location is excellent, at the edge of Zona Rosa and two minues from Paseo de Reforma. Rooms are large and clean, however, furniture is dated. Safe in the room is still operated by the key which was not available as the last guest forgot to return it - so I was told and they did not bother to do anything about it. Breakfast wa sincluded in my rate and was good but for Mexican standards it was only 3 out of 5. Wi-fi was also included and it functioned pretty good throughout the hotel and in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEEJAY061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I visit Mexico City almost every year. I have stayed at the Sheraton the past two years. Their price went up this year, so I went on Priceline and named my price and location. I knew nothing about the Galeria Plaza, but when I arrived I was pleasantly surprised. It was in a great location, the Zona Rosa, and it is a lovely hotel. The only problems I encountered were with the information about upgrading and the air conditioning. When I telephoned the hotel, I was told a specific amount that it would cost to upgrade to the executive floor. When I arrived I was given a price that was much higher. When I spoke to the manager, he took care of everything and even paid for my dinner that night in the hotel. The air conditioning was not working properly, but they kept sending people to work on it. Eventually the corrected it. They were very persistent. The room was nice and comfortable, the pool was lovely, and the personnel were very accommodating. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to business floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

WAY TOO EXPENSIVE FOR AN OLD BUILDING AND UNCOMFORTABLE BED. Also t is impossible to sleep at some rooms during the weekend.

Our experience:
We arrived on a Friday, at noon... When we came back at midnight there was a huge concert in a bar nearby. We got into our room and it was like we where IN the bar. We waited 40 minutes in case it finishes, unfortunately it didn´t. We asked for another room at the other side of the building and we got it. The staff who helped us to move to the new room told us that on weekends it is always the same: too much loud until 3 or 4 am.
SO, if you are not partying in Mexico City, I would not recommend this hotel. It is too old and too expensive. You may try NH ;)

Room Tip: When booking (If you dare) ask the front desk person to give you a room at the other side of the bui...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinkyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am an American living in Mexico. Had a wonderful stay. Check in was smooth and quick. I had seen some negative comments re WIFI fees. Made sure they were included for free (they are/were applicable to the De Lujo (Deluxe) rooms. I called the hotel direct and made notes on who I talked to. Then confirmed the following day and got another name. We found that we needed a code to access and Recepciòn said it was not Free per our reservation. So I called the Reservations extension, the gal I first spoke to admitted it was her oversight and it was corrected immediately. This was the only issue we had, other than some loud music in the area on a Friday night. We heard it but it stopped at midnight. Our rate was $1,090, $87, plus 19% in taxes.

We had two beautiful rooms, with a connecting door. Comfortable, roomy, great bathrooms, huge bath towels and great housekeeping service.

On the morning of our departure we asked for a late check out of 1;30 pm from the normal 1:00 pm. No problem.

The Concierge staff was helpful and we used them daily for one thing or another. The hotel is perfectly located, a block south of Reforma, at the statue of Diana and an easy walk to Chapultepec Park/Zoo/Castle (closed on Mondays) and about a 5 minute walk from the Insurgentes Metro station (subway) You can get most anywhere on the trains for $5 pesos, about $.40 USD. Same quality equipment as the NYC subway system. Close to airport, 30 minutes and $310 pesos in a big van leaving and $250 for the return in a roomy taxi at the front door of the Galeria Plaza. Tons of great places to eat within easy walking distance. Located in the famous Zona Rosa where you will see all kinds of things, some of which may not appeal to you. But we never felt unsafe, day or night. A Scotiabank almost dead across the street with 24 hr ATM access. In room safes.

There were a couple of previous comments about a veggie restaurant and we went there for breakfast the first morning. I believe we left the hotel, turned right, then right at the first corner and it was a block up this street and across the street. BUT they were not truly vegetarian, having several meat items on the breakfast menu. There was this great Chinese place we found, about 3 short blocks away. CHANG WON, 19 Florencia. It seats about 50 and we knew we had a winner when the place was full (we got the last table) and we were the only non-Asians in the restaurant.

We loved it. I only selected this hotel because my "go to" Mexico City hotel was booked solid.

Cannot say enough about it.

Room Tip: Suggest the Brisas package, if available and floors 9 &10 are the most desirable floors. We were...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Sheraton Mexico City Maria Isabel Hotel
Marquis Reforma Hotel & Spa
#16 of 312 in Mexico City
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#35 of 312 in Mexico City
932 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Room Mate Valentina
Room Mate Valentina
#43 of 312 in Mexico City
854 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
City Express Plus Reforma El Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galeria Plaza Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeria Plaza Reforma

Address: Hamburgo 195 | Col. Juarez, Mexico City 06600, Mexico (Formerly Galeria Plaza)
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Reforma / Zona Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#62 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £64 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galeria Plaza Reforma 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galeria Plaza Reforma offers a variety of 433 rooms and suites. For our corporate travelers we provide three Executive Floors with direct access to our exclusive Executive lounge. The hotel's central location in the Reforma Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Galeria Plaza Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeria Plaza Hotel Mexico City
Galeria Plaza Reforma Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing