We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional and at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Greco
Ranked #240 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Functional and at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have stayed at Hotel El Greco 3 times over the past few years. I like it because the people are friendly, the cost is reasonable (680 pesos in June 2013), and I feel like my belongings and I are very safe there. The hotel has one slow elevator and a nearly-spiral staircase. The elevator is worth waiting for because the steps can be treacherous with your luggage. A bellboy is available and will cheerfully offer to take your bags up on his cart. The front desk staff are very friendly, speak English well, and there has never been a problem with communication or billing in the three times I have stayed there. The rooms are functional, but nothing exceptional. There is bottled water in the room, soap, shampoo, a good shower with hot water. The beds are not particularly comfortable, but are not soft and saggy. A television remote is available for a 200 peso deposit, which you get back when you return it, otherwise no TV. An internet router is on each floor with pretty good speed and at no charge. Just ask for the password at the desk ("clave" in Spanish if you ask the bellboy). There is a business center next to the lobby, although I didn't use it. There is an internet cafe around the corner to the right and across the street.

This hotel is on a main road close to an intersection where you can catch busses. Out the door to the right and around the corner are sidewalk kiosks where you can get sodas and snacks for good prices. Katty-corner across the intersection is a department store with a Sanborn's restaurant in the back. They have very good food and good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjarnBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
8
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times. The rooms are nice: big, clean, with simple decorations. A double has two big beds, cable TV, a desk, a couple of chairs and a table. There is no AC, though I never felt I needed it. The staff is very friendly. There is room service every day.

It's in a nice neighborhood, with plenty of restaurants, banks, shops and coffee shops. It's a couple of blocks from Estadio Azul (where Cruz Azul plays soccer) and the Mexico City Bullfighting Stadium. It's half a block from Insurgentes, where you can take the City buses. To take the Metro (linea 7, orange), you need a 15' walk along San Antonio. From there, you can go anywhere in Mexico City.

Room Tip: Change your currency at the Airport. That's the best exchange you'll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rauli-tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pantagenet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2007

My wife and I stayed at Hotel El Greco during our most recent visit to Mexico City. This hotel is everything that a 2.5 star hotel should be. It is conveniently located at Eje 5, right in between Coyoacan and La Condesa and not too far from El Zocalo. You can walk to restaurants, movie theaters, and shops. The rooms are simple, clean, and have very comfortable beds. The bathrooms have been renovated recently. The hotel also has free internet wireless service throughout. The small café downstairs serves great coffee and pastries. Finally, the staff is very friendly, knowledgeable, and quick to find any information regarding travels through Mexico as well as very safe taxi service, something you want to have access to while staying in Mexico City. The only drawback of this hotel is the street noise, which can be avoided by requesting a room away from the street. For about $50 a night, this hotel is a bargain. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Rom cleanliness, staff service, location
  • Disliked — street noise
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pantagenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2007

We stayed at the Hotel El Greco in June 2007 and were surprised how clean the rooms were, the beds were comfortable, the linen was changed every day and the staff were very friendly. However, hardly any english is spoken here. We paid 54.00 CDN for a large room with 2
beds, sitting area with table and chairs, a big bathroom, big windows
to the street. A bit noisy at times but better than the rooms to the back, there is nothing but walls to look at. A few steps to the Metrobus at Insurgentes Sur. Made several long distance calls to Canada and was only charged 10 dollars for all of them. No hidden fees here. A great place for the budget minded traveler.

Helpful?
3 Thank JaimeVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2003

When travelling I don't plan to spend much time in my hotel room. But the time I spend there has to be restful and meet my needs. Plain and simple with a few amenities is enough. However, for a hotel in its price range, the El Greco offers more. It may have some years on it, but as I understand it is much improved due to the influence of the World Trade Mart and other upscal properties in the general vicinity.
And the new owners continue in their improvement efforts. The whole week I was a guest, there were workers busy everyday. It goes without saying the location is ideal for so many things and it is the only economical alternative towards the southern side of Mexico City (San Angel, Coyoacan, University City). Staff are friendly and helpful, although hardly any English is spoken. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2003

This hotel is a good choice if you are looking for simple and inexpensive accomodations. Is is a few block south of the World Trade Center and one block from the central avenue of Insurgentes- a relative safe location. This old hotel, with it's single 4-people elevator resembles a Motel-6.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Diplomatico
Hotel El Diplomatico
#176 of 306 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beverly Hotel
Beverly Hotel
#241 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Atlante
Hotel Atlante
#267 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#227 of 306 in Mexico City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pennsylvania Suites
Pennsylvania Suites
#60 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Mexico City World Trade Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Greco

Property: Hotel El Greco
Address: Avenida San Antonio, 22 | Colonia Napoleas, Mexico City 03810, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Greco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the World Trade Center and Avenida Insurgentes Sur, Hotel El Greco has all the amenities for business trip, convention, holiday and making it a memorable stay. We provide the advantage of enjoying the great dynamism of one of the fun, safe and cosmopolitan areas of Mexico City, where you can easily navigate to different centers and shopping malls, banks, convention centers, government agencies, universities, restaurants and everything offered him the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Greco Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing