We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zocalo Central
Ranked #11 of 306 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

This hotel is about a 3*, it is basic, clean and comfortable. It is located right near the zocalo (Mexico city's main square). The National Palace is also very close by opposite the square and so is the Metropolitan Cathedral. The street on which this hotel is located is quite busy and there are many interesting shops but even so it is quiet at night and I didn't find any noise. Staff was very helpful.

The only downside is that the restaurants around the area are not to my liking. If you want to go to the clubs/nightlife this is not the area, for that you need to go to the heart of Zona Rosa.

The metro station is a short 10 min walk across the square on the other side. The metro goes EVERYWHERE and is pretty damn good, it costs only 2 pesos so before using a taxi check it out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurants in the hotel as well as around the area leaves a bit to be desired
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank k374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    479
    102
    41
    14
See reviews for
243
479
147
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2008

The Holiday Inn is located PERFECTLY directly at the breathtaking Zocalo in the center of historic Mexico City, steps away from the old temple and the cathedral. It looks like it used to be a grand hotel and maybe one day, an investor will conduct a major makeover of this place and reopen it as a five star hotel for well off tourists. In the meantime, anyone who is interested in the culture and sights of this fascinating city can stay at the best possible location in the D.F. for a bargain price. Having said that, the rooms are clearly substandard (compared to other Holiday Inns) and the service is extremely disorganized (even by Mexican standards). I would still recommend this place because of the triple A location and the good value (which is so great because of the location).

  • Liked — Location which is ridiculously good, views from rooftop bar
  • Disliked — Service, Rooms
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cf778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2008

I recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, I choose it primarily for its location as it is very central and as a single woman traveller I wanted to avoid public transport and visit the town centre by foot as much as possible. I had initial concerns about noise, especially once I saw that my room window faced a fairly congested road however I felt better once I saw the windows were double-glazed and the rooms have thick curtains. I had sound sleep all 3 nights though no sleeping till late morning, by 8 -9 am you hear car honks and traffic. If you plan on sleeping till late I would not recommend a room which faces the street. I found that the computers in the lobby are really good for internet and e-mails however it is shame they only have 2 and at times you need to wait for your turn, they could do with adding another 2 or 3 computers for guests. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and pleasant, the only area I was not too impressed with was breakfast, they could do better and offer a better presentation & selection of fruit. I recommend this hotel if it is for a few days and your priority is location and cleanliness.

  • Liked — clean and complete
  • Disliked — IT and breakfast
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip while filming a commercial for my client.

The location was fantastic, being a single female traveler I was a little concerned but I felt safe walking around Zocalo alone. Cute street vendors, book markets, and live shows speckle the large Square. I had no issues with the drummers in the Square but I did not stay over a weekend. I would say this is probably the safest area in Mexico City to stay if it is your first time visiting.

I agree the rooftop view is awesome and that the staff is very friendly. My room was tiny but extremely clean and well kept. Room service was nice and prompt, beautiful presentation as well.

The hotel arranged for a cab driver to take me to the pyramids, saving me from the "drivers" that station themselves outside the hotel trying to get tourists as a fare.

Overall a great place to stay and would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank julwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2007

The Holiday Inn Zocalo is located in the historic center of Mexico City across the street from the Square (Zocalo) and the National Cathedral. It is a fantastic location for visiting the Aztec Ruins (Templo Mayor) and the Govenor's Palace (Diego Reviera's murals). There are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean and comfortable. The rooftop restaurant offers a fantastic view of the Zocalo and the city.

There are a few things that one should consider if choosing this hotel.

First, if you get a room close to the Zocalo, the Aztecs will anoy you with their very loud drumming until 10:00 or 11:00 PM. The drum is so loud that you not only hear it, but feel it as well. I took ear plugs and I couldn't shut it out.

Second, don't get in a rush at the rooftop restaurant. Service is extraordinarily slow. I'm not talking about normal "Mexico slow," I'm talking slower.

Third, we ordered room service each of our seven mornings there. The service was friendly, courteous, and fast. That is, until Lydia came on duty. That day we were treated rudely and we were served day old fruit (we didn't order fruit) and stale toast (we ordered Pan Dulce [Mexican Pastry]). When questioned about the order, Lydia became very argumentative. Language had nothing to do with it since my wife is fluent in Spanish. We complained to the Capitan about the treatment and received an apology and a complementary breakfast our last morning there.

Fourth, the hotel will get you a fixed price taxi. The cars are clean and the drivers are courteous. The only problem is that every one of them will work you to take you somewhere else so they can line their pockets. We had one that wanted to take us shopping at a "special market" that ended up being just an oversized curio shop (only 100 pesos additional). Another one wanted to stop by a "special museum" and another that wanted to come by and take us to the airport for 200 pesos (the standard fare to the airport is 100 pesos).

Fifth, leave specific instructions for water, towels, linens, etc. for the maids. A tip of 10 or 20 pesos will work wonders also. Since you can't drink the water in the hotel, you will use bottled water to brush your teeth. Ask for a couple of extra bottles.

Sixth, don't bother exchanging dollars for pesos at the hotel. They were giving 10 pesos for 1 dollar and that is the rate vendors use if you pay for goods and services on the street. The exhange rate 12/12/07-12/18/07 was about 1 dollar for 10.65 pesos and about 10.90 pesos for 1 dollar.

Seventh, most of us don't travel to watch TV. If you stay here, they have a limited selection of channels. 3 channels offer English programming: HBO Family, CNN International, and AXN (shows American reruns; some from the current season).

Bottom line is that when we go to Mexico City again, we will likely stay in Colonia Polanco or Colonia Condessa in a hotel that offers a higher level of amenities and a broader selection of restaurants and lounges.

If you want to stay in the Historic Center, try this hotel. Armed with knowledge of the seven cautions above, you will have a pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and size
  • Disliked — Only 1 chair, no table, no luggage stands, 1 desk that doubles as TV table
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank texmacge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2007

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Zocalo in early December, 2007 for 5 nights. I agree completely with those who praised the location, cleanliness and the friendly staff. The hotel has been renovated and is kept in excellent condition. We will definitely stay here when we return to Mexico City. I cannot comment on the breakfast buffet as we liked the Café El Popular just down the street. The view of the Zocalo from the large restaurant terrace is impressive (see the candid photos posted by pocson—it looks just like this) and we found the serving staff at dinner to be very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RhondaWhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2007

Just spent 5 nights at the Holiday Inn Zocalo and have no complaints. We booked a "Jr. Suite", which is a larger room with a window on the Zocalo. Only down side is that the Conchero dancers in the Zocalo go all night on Saturday. We found by turning the air con or heat on it created a "white noise" that helped block the non-stop drumming. Hotel has free wireless internet, so if you travel with laptop with is a great feature. Desktops available for guest use in lobby. Staff was great. Breakfast on roof is very nice, but a bit pricey. Hotel Majestic does the same thing as does the Gran Hotel. For a cheaper real Mexican breakfast go down Cinco de Mayo to Casa de la Blanca. Don't be put off by the formica. Also Cafe Bertico around the corner on Madero has hearty breakfast lunch dinner and stays open late. We have been visting Mex DF since the 70's and have to say we found it cleaner and safer than ever. Traffic control measures makes it much easier to walk around and there is a traffic cop on almost every corner.
Would stay at this hotel again as the location can not be beat and compared to Gran Hotel (just down the square) the price is much better.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank KenTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#5 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#2 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reforma / Zona Rosa
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico
#33 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#19 of 306 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#34 of 306 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Property: Zocalo Central
Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing