We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location , next to the walking street & national palace , very safe in Mexico .”
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zocalo Central
Ranked #13 of 310 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Madikeri, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location , next to the walking street & national palace , very safe in Mexico .”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Centrally located & safest area in Mexico . City tour open roof buses start from zocalo next to the hotel , a one time ride will make u bit familiar with Mexico City . The only walking street of Mexico City is on the next lane of the hotel . The vicinity of the hotel has got national palace ex presidential house , historical church & good restaurant sanburns .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    494
    103
    42
    15
See reviews for
255
510
152
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the holiday inn zocalo for 4 nights. We chose this hotel for it's great location, right on the zocalu square. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The stuff speaks good english, which is very uncommon in mexico city. The only negitive thing I can say is that the room was quite small, but it wasn't a big deal for us. Overall I can safly say that this hotel gives great value for your money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent two nights here on arrival in Mexico, and as stepping stone for our two week tour thereafter.Very nice hotel, up to expected Holiday Inn standard. Incredibly convenient for the Cathedral and Presidential Palace, as well as the pedestrianised shopping thoroughfares around the Zocalo. Breakfast - then later sundowners! - on the roof terrace were so relaxing, and a key part of our enjoyment of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 844 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Great place to stay if you want to be in the central historic district - right next to the main square, cathedral and many local bars and restaurants. With so many police around, also very safe. The room was a little small but very clean, hot shower, excellent free wi-fi that worked, plus a tea/coffee making machine for that first cuppa in the morning. Good that the hotel provided free bottles of water and were very willing to give us more when we asked for them. There is an ice making machine on the 3rd floor. One of the charms of the hotel is the restaurant on the 6th floor which offers panoramic views of the square and on a clear day the mountains beyond. Eat breakfast on the out side terrace to fully enjoy this view. The food was very fresh and the waiters were happy to meet every request including cooking the eggs "our way" & providing hot milk. Generally the staff were polite, knowledgeable and helpful. Get your own city map - the standard one issued by Reception seemed to have been generated by Budget Cars and was terrible. For a big city stay, this hotel should be recommended for its location and price

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

In looking at options for this part of the city, I found the price and value high. While the room was small, it was well appointed and comfortable. Quite new and sparkling. I loved the rooftop restaurant and view of the cathedral right across the street. If you want to spend a day or two exploring the city, this is a great place to start.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Holiday Inn-Zocalo was a very nice experience for me in March, 2013. This hotel thought about the little things. Some examples include...1.) the "desk chair" was more like a tall ottoman but very functional as both and nice looking; 2.) the air conditioning worked!!; 3.) the Internet was adequate enough that I could make voice calls on Skype; 4.) very stylishly designed and in very good repair.

Around the restaurant are many things to see including The Cathedral which was a stone's throw away. Many eating place in easy walking distance includine coffee places.

I am returning to this hotel by choice in 2 weeks because of the great value and the relaxing stay it gives me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSVerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is located just half a block from Mexico's Centro Historico Zocalo. The hotel is clean and it combines a modern style in the lobby with a traditional decor in the bedrooms. The staff goes out of their way to help guests although that is something you find in most touristic destinations in Mexico. You get free wi-fi throughout the hotel and in the bedrooms and it is surprisingly fast enough, considering wifi at most HIExpress Hotels leaves a little to be desired. The lobby has a "business center" consisting of about five pc's connected to a very basic printer. The PC's are slow and freeze constantly, making it imposible to rely on them for business. The rooms are very small but hey you're not going to Mexico City to stay in your room so if you can make do with the limited space, you'll be fine.

My key was also an issue as it got deactivated about 4 times on a 4 day stay!!! The receptionist apologized, fixed it but the key would stop working after a few hours. The cleaning staff missed my room the last day I was there, undid the bed, left everything on the floor, opened the windows of the room on an 85 weather day and believed I was gone, despite that my belongings were still in the room.

However, if you can overlook the operational failures of this hotel, you will be very satisfied at being right in the center of the Mexican Capital. The Turibus (Hop-On and Off bus) stops just one block from the hotel. Also, the subway station Zocalo is just a block away. It is noisy during the day as you can hear the "shamanes" at the Zocalo square dancing to perform soul cleansing rites. But during the night, this hotel is very peaceful. There is so much vigilance from Mexico's police around the Zocalo area that I felt perfectly safe walking alone either during the day or at night. There are several places to eat around the hotel including street taco stands and restaurants. I would recommend Sanborn's which is a Mexican diner located just three blocks from the hotel towards the Museo de las Bellas Artes. For breakfast, walk 2 blocks to Avenida Madero and eat at VIP's which is another Mexican diner known for their breakfast options. Their food is good and most importantly, clean.

The hotel has a terrace restaurant whose food is ok. The plus of this restaurant is its terrace as it has a perfect view of the entire zocalo square. Don't miss every morning at 8 am the raising of the flag and then at 6 pm the lowering of the flag by the Mexican Army at the Zocalo square. As you probably know by now the Palacio Nacional which is the Executive office of the president of Mexico is next to El Zocalo. Every day at the times described above, the army will perform a very pompous ceremony to raise and lower the flag involving about 200 soldiers. Tourists and Mexicans alike stand around the flagstaff to watch the ceremony take place. Moreover, you as a guest at the Holiday Inn Zocalo can watch the entire ceremony from the restaurant balcony.

This is a nice and clean hotel that is perfectly located. They have to work on some operational issues that definitely would not detract me from returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahame7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#6 of 310 in Mexico City
748 reviews
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#5 of 310 in Mexico City
2,612 reviews
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#40 of 310 in Mexico City
880 reviews
Hotel Casa Gonzalez
#27 of 310 in Mexico City
687 reviews
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#29 of 310 in Mexico City
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Property: Zocalo Central
Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing