We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel nice sleep”
Review of Zocalo Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zocalo Central
Ranked #15 of 312 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spend a wonderful weekend a this hotel it have nice bed, no nose, great hot tube, the restaurant on the 6th floor is really great and they view is fantastic beside the location is awesome you can go to many places just waking or go the "metro" and move almost everywhere in just minutes.

Room Tip: the best room have view to the Zocalo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for you review, it is very important to us know the experience of our guests, because we can to identify opportunities of improvement. The hotel is in a privileged location that allows our guests to cross the streets and to admire the beauty of our historical center; in addition from our terrace of the restaurant at the 6th floor is possible to admire a wonderful view of the zocalo.
We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms are well equipped with coffee percolator, ironing board, hairdryer, bedside radio alarm etc. Oddly there is no English channel on the TV and the usual notices about the laundering of towels and saving the environment are absent. Similarly absent was any guide to the hotel its services or opening times for the restaurant. The room we had was relatively small and although there were twin beds there was only one chair and no usable table surface. The breakfast is available on time from 7.00am at the top of the hotel with a roof terrace and as the sun rises the cross on top of the neighbouring Cathedral makes a perfect shadow on the inside back wall The breakfast itself has a wide choice for everyone. Their Atole tasted like warm blancmange but that was OK for me.
The staff are friendly and helpful and our room was cleaned promptly we left each day. The automatic lights sometimes left you momentarily in the dark in the corridors and I found the lighting around the ice machine very dull
The lifts always seemed to be available and unlike the rooms their level guide told you of the facilities available on each floor.
Ideally positioned next to the Zocalo there is a ten minute loading and unloading restriction in front of the hotel. We found that even when there is little traffic using this one way street and nobody else wishing to stop outside the hotel the traffic police are insistent that you go around the block or receive a ticket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st8sman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we feel proud the attention that received on behalf of our collaborators has been of your total pleasure. We can assure you that in Holiday inn zocalo we are compromised in offering to each of our guests personalized attention and unique experiences for each of our collaborators will have always to provide the best attention.

We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel location is great. Rooms are small but clean. We enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant at the hotel is has a nice view and the food was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torreswedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we feel proud of your stay with us has been fulfilled, expectations and the attention that received on behalf of our collaborators has been of your total pleasure. We can assure you that in Holiday inn zocalo we are compromised in offering to each of our guests personalized attention and unique experiences for each of our collaborators will have always to provide the best attention.

We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location and while I would give four stars to the front desk staff and the breakfast waiters, the evening restaurant service was appalling.

We were there three nights and choose to eat in the restaurant on the third.......................I now know what it feels like to be invisible. We had to ask for everything , including the menus, and at one point actually had to get up and leave the table to get some dessert service.

Very . very poor

The rooms are more than adequate for a city location.....drainage could do with a little attention.

Room Tip: Not opposite the steam room ........................
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, General Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We are grateful that you have taken the time to write your comment, we really sorry about the issue you had during your stay; we will send this information to the corresponding department to take the action to avoid this type of issues, because is very important to us that our clients feel satisfied.

Best Regards

Julian Cotera
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Holiday Inn Zocalo is a nice hotel with super nice staff. Isack and Charles are very friendly. This hotel has everything a traveller is looking for, great breakfast, nice common area but also enough privacy. Great value for money!! Best Wishes all the way to Df

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JoseGarzaGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we feel proud of your stay with us has been fulfilled, expectations and the attention that received on behalf of our collaborators has been of your total pleasure. We can assure you that in Holiday inn zocalo we are compromised in offering to each of our guests personalized attention and unique experiences for each of our collaborators will have always to provide the best attention.

We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent three nights at this hotel on my way back from a vacation to Panama, Cartagena and Quito.

If your looking for a large, luxurious room. This is not the place for you. The rooms are small, and minimalist. Having said that, I had everything I needed -- cleanliness, a good bed, a modern bathroom, strong wifi signal, and good service. I only used the restaurant for breakfast, so I can only report that the buffet had a good selection and the service was good. Why anyone would eat dinner at a Holiday Inn while in Mexico City is incomprehensible to me. Having said that, the rooftop restaurant has the best views of the Zocalo that I found during this trip, and even if you don't eat here, go up late in the day when the Zocalo is properly illuminated and take your photos.

Mexico City's centro area is a walker's dream, and I am a walker. Girabaldi Square is a 20 minute walk, and is perfectly safe, if you walk west on Cinco de Mayo, and north on Cardenas. The last few blocks should probably only be made during the day.

I actually walked the almost five miles to Chapultepec Castle -- a wonderful Saturday morning stroll down beautiful, up-scale Reforma. By the way, the Castle is a must see for any visitor. Try to understand how many different ways this site played important roles in Mexican history. For visitors from the US, as you look down the hill from the fortress, realize that during the Mexican American War, Captain Robert E. Lee, and Lieutenant US Grant served together with the attacking forces. Pretty amazing.

The Zocalo, itself, with its presidential palace, fantastic cathedral, etc.is only 1/2 block from the hotel.

I live in Puerto Vallarta, am retired, and travel extensively and frequently throughout Latin America. I often pass through Mexico City's airport, but this was my first time at this wonderful hotel. It will be the only place that I stay in Mexico City in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PV F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment, we feel proud of your stay with us has been fulfilled, expectations and the attention that received on behalf of our collaborators has been of your total pleasure. We can assure you that in Holiday inn zocalo we are compromised in offering to each of our guests personalized attention and unique experiences for each of our collaborators will have always to provide the best attention.

We would be happy to see you on your next visit to Mexico City.

Best Regards
Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This Holiday Inn is located in 5 de Mayo on the edge of the main squre in downtown Mexico City. It is not luxurious but the location is perfect. It has a roof terrace for drinks and meals which overlooks the Cathedral and National Palace. The views both night and day are beautiful.
The rooms are small and the double beds very small (4feet) so a tight squeeze for the larger traveller. The service is good and the staff are friendly and helpful except when our aircon broke down. Took more than 12 hours to get somebody to fix it. The area is safe to walk ariund at night and there is good choice of restaurants but the food tends to be very 'samee' in all of them.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem the same but if you want more bed space ask for a room with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hizocalomex, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for your nice comment, We can assure you that in Holiday inn zocalo we are compromised in offering to each of our guests personalized attention and unique experiences for each of our collaborators will have always to provide the best attention.
We hope to see you again

Vania Cabal
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
Centro Historico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#4 of 312 in Mexico City
2,811 reviews
Centro Historico
Historico Central
Historico Central
#3 of 312 in Mexico City
854 reviews
Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
#33 of 312 in Mexico City
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Historico
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Juárez
Emporio Reforma
Emporio Reforma
#25 of 312 in Mexico City
944 reviews
Reforma / Zona Rosa
NH Collection Mexico City Reforma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zocalo Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zocalo Central

Address: Avenida Cinco De Mayo 61, Mexico City 06000, Mexico (Formerly Holiday Inn Mexico Zocalo)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City > Centro Historico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#15 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#32 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range: £74 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zocalo Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a peaceful oasis in the heart of Mexico City's celebrated Plaza de la Constitucion (or the Zocalo, as it's often called).Zocalo Central Hotel expertly blends traditional splendor with modern comfort and unforgettable city vistas, creating a hotel experience that will delight and inspire both business and leisure travelers. Housed within a charming1890's-era building, our hotel offers 105 lovingly refurbished rooms and suites, some of which provide wonderful views of the plaza. Allow our caring hotel staff to pamper you with a range of fabulous services, and take advantage of excellent amenities. Of course, no visit to our hotel is complete without a trip to ourroof top restaurant, Restaurante Balcon del Zocalo. Our elegant restaurant terrace overlooks the world-famous Zocalo; it's a popular spot for both hotel visitors and city residents. Last but not least, our central location in the heart of MexicoCity's most important square makes it easy for you to discover all of the wonderful attractions that the city has to offer. Our hotel is eight miles to the Mexico City International Airport, and we're within walking distance of many shops and restaurants such as The "Casa Churra". Our hotel Concierge is available any time, day or night, to answer your questions or to provide suggestions for things to do and see. Treat yourself to a hotel stay that you won't soon forget, in a city that will capture your imagination. We look forward to welcoming you to Zocalo Central Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Zocalo Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mexico City Zocalo Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Zocalo Central Mexico City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing